Buhari Orders 2-Week Ceasefire In Niger Delta As FG Inaugurates Dialogue Commmittee

Date: 07-06-2016 7:35 am (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 7-06-2016 07:35 AM (7 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the military to suspend operations in the Niger Delta for two weeks to create a window for dialogue with militants.

Minister of State for Petroleum, Dr. Ibe Kachikwu, disclosed this in Abuja, yesterday, just as he said that a committee to negotiate with the militant group, Niger Delta Avengers, that has been involved in the destruction of oil installations in the Niger Delta region has been inaugurated.

The Minister of State for Petroleum Resources and Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Dr. Ibe Kachikwu, who said this in Abuja, explained that the move was aimed at halting the deadly attacks which had made Nigeria’s oil production plummet to 1.5 million barrels per day.

According to him, the team that will engage the militants will be coordinated by the Office of the National Security Adviser.

He said other members of the team included himself, the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Usani Uguru as well as selected leaders, kings and influential individuals from the Niger Delta.

Kachikwu said, “The President has appointed a team led by the NSA and I serve in one of those, to begin the process of a very intensive dialogue with those caught in the middle of this. I am sure that in the ensuing one week the intensity of that dialogue will wrap up.

“The NSA is going to be working with the various arms of the armed forces to descale the intensity of military intervention in the area within a week or two so that dialogue can take place. We are making contacts with everybody who is involved, the ones that we can identify, through them, the ones that we can’t identify so that there is a lot more inclusiveness in this dialogue. Our prayer is that this works so that we resort to dialogue rather than use of force.”

On the loss recorded as a result of the attacks by the Niger Delta Avengers, Kachikwu said, “Over the last two months, we have probably lost about 600,000 barrels from various attacks of militants in the area. In terms of production, we are roughly at about 1.5 million to 1.6 million barrels a day, down from 2.2mbd which is the basis of this year’s budget and if peace reigns, obviously between now and August we will be able to recover substantial portion of this production so that the budget doesn’t suffer.”

Posted: at 7-06-2016 07:35 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- uduehi at 7-06-2016 07:59 AM (7 years ago)
No going back on the republic of Niger Deltta as we can't live with hausa anymore let split the con3
Posted: at 7-06-2016 07:59 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- XTnote at 7-06-2016 08:07 AM (7 years ago)
These bunch of idiots are concerned because their source of looting is tampered. I wonder if they would have taken such measures if its about the common nigerian
Posted: at 7-06-2016 08:07 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- albionalex at 7-06-2016 08:12 AM (7 years ago)
Una don dey craze well well, which stupid dialogue. NDA make una no dialogue ooh
Posted: at 7-06-2016 08:12 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Novic at 7-06-2016 09:09 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmm.... Don't just knw what to say...
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:09 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 7-06-2016 09:11 AM (7 years ago)
I wanna be among the delegate pls
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:11 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- willyking at 7-06-2016 09:14 AM (7 years ago)
Huh! So buhari no be god of war.
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:14 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 7-06-2016 09:21 AM (7 years ago)
WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BLAME THIS ON BUHARI... Be careful, be very very careful,CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:21 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 7-06-2016 09:26 AM (7 years ago)
BUHARI BELIEVE HE CAN DO ALL THINGS BY FORCE, WHY DIALOGUE NOW?
CONFUSED MAN,,,
WHERE IS THAT OSHOMOLE?
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:26 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- leonardi at 7-06-2016 09:40 AM (7 years ago)
Waiting for the people saying they should clear Niger Delta like what OBJ did. My people if unu presido try am Nigeria go burn even Daura no go dey safe
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:40 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- zezprincess at 7-06-2016 09:46 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmmm,akuko!,story story!!
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:46 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 7-06-2016 09:47 AM (7 years ago)
NA NOW UNA WAN DIALOGUE,, THIS FG IS SO STUPID I SWEAR.
Posted: at 7-06-2016 09:47 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- joelzco at 7-06-2016 10:13 AM (7 years ago)
lets all fold our hands nd see what will cum out of this
Posted: at 7-06-2016 10:13 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 7-06-2016 10:17 AM (7 years ago)
all dis yeye group na money dem want!!! ......... all na for chop
Posted: at 7-06-2016 10:17 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- royalsam450 at 7-06-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago)
As hum don ear say them go lunch missile go abuja today night ses fear fear man why now i tink u say u ne millitry man
Posted: at 7-06-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 7-06-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago)
No!!!. U for continue with your military offensive against them and see what u have done for yourself. U don't even know how many world's power that are behind these boys. Anu ofia
Posted: at 7-06-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- michaelc80 at 7-06-2016 01:07 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: even on  7-06-2016 07:59 AM
No going back on the republic of Niger Deltta as we can't live with hausa anymore let split the con3
Think before talking, do you think it's easy to make a country (not a day job)
Posted: at 7-06-2016 01:07 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 7-06-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago)
OK,,,,
Posted: at 7-06-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- pitav at 7-06-2016 03:27 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Nash Festus on  7-06-2016 01:07 PM
Think before talking, do you think it's easy to make a country (not a day job)

But those who had made it started it in a day. So many countries of the world are not even up to some small states in Nigeria and are yet doing far better than Nigeria. What is the togetherness for, when it is not beneficial to all parties but to some unscrupulous elements. You as an individual can never know your full potentials until you venture into the field of practical. Why the fear of breaking up if there are no hidden interests by some nefarious individuals.
Posted: at 7-06-2016 03:27 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- sandra78 at 7-06-2016 03:32 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: John kennedy on  7-06-2016 09:26 AM
BUHARI BELIEVE HE CAN DO ALL THINGS BY FORCE, WHY DIALOGUE NOW?
CONFUSED MAN,,,
WHERE IS THAT OSHOMOLE?

OSHOMOLE IS HIDING
Posted: at 7-06-2016 03:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac