People Are Accusing Me Of Marrying My American Wife For Green Card - Mr. Patrick

Date: 26-06-2016 9:41 am (7 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 26-06-2016 09:41 AM (7 years ago)
Comedian, Patrick Onyeke, who is popularly known as Mr Patrick and his wife, Tammy, an American accountant, share their love story

How did you meet your husband?

Tammy: We met in South Africa. I was there to attend a convention. While I was there, a colleague asked me to accompany her to a comedy show. At the time, I had no idea who the comedians billed to perform were. Patrick came on stage soon after we arrived the venue. I loved his performance and I began to scream out of excitement. I was glad to see him and told my friend that I had always wanted to meet him. She then met with one of his friends who introduced us.

Did you spot her while you were on stage?

Patrick: No, I didn’t but immediately we were introduced, I fell in love with her warm personality and beauty. We exchanged telephone numbers and have remained inseparable ever since.

Was it love at first sight?

Tammy: Yes, it was. I had always wanted to meet and get married to an African man. So, when I saw him, I just fell in love with him. He has the sweetest smile I have ever seen; he is an amazing man.

Where you single and searching at the time?

Patrick: Yes, I was and I’m glad that we met.

Tammy: I wasn’t looking to getting married when we began dating. I was looking for love and I felt that we would only  consider marriage after dating for about four years. In America, people tend to date a lot longer but I guess in Africa, couples get married really quick. God revealed to me that he is my soulmate and was going to be my husband.

How did he propose?

Tammy: We were on an  Island for a video shoot and I realised that he had a phobia for water and boats. I was used to being on a boat, as I own one. On our way back, our boat was struck by a strong wave, which caused him to panic. At that moment,he asked the rider to stop the boat. He got down on his knees and proposed to me even though he was already a  nervous wreck. He really surprised; we courted for almost a year before we married.

Patrick: I proposed to her when I realised that I was already in love with her. We both have similar thought patterns and actions. These factors made me deduce that we are actually compatible.

Yours is a long-distance marriage. How do you both manage to get by?

Tammy: Sometimes, it gets hard but whenever we are together, we are inseparable. We talk everyday, then we video call each other at least four times a week. We both lead busy lives because of our careers, so it makes things a lot safer. The manner we talk and send messages to each other  makes it seem as though we are right next to each other.

Did you deliberately set out to marry a foreigner?

Patrick: I belong to the new generation of Igbo men who aren’t too keen on the tribe or race of a woman.Ours is a classic case of destiny because neither of us made a deliberate effort to get married to each other. I guess time and chance happened to us.

How did you react to  the snide remarks that trailed your marriage to an American?

Patrick: People complained, but we have overcome all of that.

Tammy: I was nervous when I arrived Nigeria for the first time because I had been told all sorts of horror stories. When I stepped out of the plane and eventually out of the airport, my life felt at peace for the first time. I had never felt a sense of peace before that time.

Did you have the blessings of your parents from the outset?

Tammy: His family is wonderful; his mother took an instant liking to me and we prayed together when we met for the first time. His folks took me around their home, church, and showed me around. They welcomed me with open arms. My mum is very happy for me because she sees how happy I am and how genuine Patrick is. My husband is wonderful man.

Patrick: Our families are very cordial and my wife is adapting quite fast to the Nigerian culture. She is learning to cook our traditional delicacies, whilst also learning my language. I am also learning the American culture even though they are not as culturally oriented as we are in Nigeria.

In what ways do you contribute to the advancement of each other’s career?

Patrick: I introduced her to some banking professionals here in Nigeria and they have done some business together and this has earned her more clients.

Tammy: My husband doesn’t ask for money; he is not that type of guy. Even if he needs something, he wouldn’t ask. He does quite well in that aspect. I am preparing for when he will visit me in the USA, so that we will have a home over here and in Nigeria. With my contacts, I will introduce him to established comedians here in America and have shows fully booked down for him.  Everyday, I send him prayers to encourage him because as his wife, I am expected to be his backbone. He appreciates that because it keeps him going.

Who apologises first after a disagreement?

Tammy: We haven’t really gotten into any arguments but if we get into one, I would probably be the first to apologise. I don’t ever want to see him angry and that is also not my wish for this union.

How do you keep admirers at bay?

Patrick: Marriage is still a learning curve for us. I have also made her understand that fake scandals might always arise because I am a celebrity. I have made her understand the dictates of my job, so she can understand my status better.

Is trust ever an issue?

Patrick: She tells me when men make passes at her. We are able to manage such scenarios because we understand that our careers involve us interacting with other people.

Did you have any fear at any point in your relationship?

Tammy: I never did. I told my mum that if it came down to it I would actually live in Nigeria full-time. I love my career but I would be open to being a housewife.

Some celebrities are of the opinion that marriage stalls their career…

Patrick: The Bible said he that finds a wife has found a good thing. There are a lot of blessings attached to marriage. You may not know it but it’s a phase in life you can’t run away from.

What is the secret behind the success of your marriage?

Patrick: We keep our marriage off social media so we don’t attract undue attention. Some people think I married her because of the American Green Card and they have been telling her so. I told her that she met me in this business as a star and not as a hungry man. I have travelled to different parts of the world but Nigeria is still a better place to live in.

Do you both have access to each other’s social media accounts?

Patrick: We follow each other on social media but we don’t have access each other’s accounts because that is private.

Posted: at 26-06-2016 09:41 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 26-06-2016 09:46 AM (7 years ago)
Leave them alone.

They BOTH gor what they wanted.

Tammy an African man.

And Patrick a wife.

Lets wish them the BEST.
Posted: at 26-06-2016 09:46 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 26-06-2016 10:00 AM (7 years ago)
Guy get on with ya life!! don't listen to yeye people  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-06-2016 10:00 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- michaelc80 at 26-06-2016 10:12 AM (7 years ago)
Rumor, Y'ALL NEED TO BE VERY VERY CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.......
Posted: at 26-06-2016 10:12 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 26-06-2016 10:23 AM (7 years ago)
Wish u well bro,Patrick long time no see,
Posted: at 26-06-2016 10:23 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 26-06-2016 10:59 AM (7 years ago)
Guy leave mata,,,,,no be today,,,,,,
Posted: at 26-06-2016 10:59 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 26-06-2016 11:02 AM (7 years ago)
As you wish me well I dey wish you well o....... So touching, ride on Bros and forget rumours.
Posted: at 26-06-2016 11:02 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- stluke at 26-06-2016 11:22 AM (7 years ago)
Omo,  dis is another format ....wish u well @ Mr Patrick and wife.
Posted: at 26-06-2016 11:22 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 26-06-2016 11:24 AM (7 years ago)
JUST CONTINUE TO BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 26-06-2016 11:24 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 26-06-2016 11:38 AM (7 years ago)
Who go read all this ?  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-06-2016 11:38 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 26-06-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago)
Abeg nor listen to Gosip, u ve made ur decision People most alwayz talk no matter wat, Congratz and thanks for securing the Future of ur unborn kids... Lollll we all understd say na green Card but just go on Naija nor be ham.
Posted: at 26-06-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nonnydgood at 26-06-2016 01:47 PM (7 years ago)
Anytin u dem go talk ooo
Posted: at 26-06-2016 01:47 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- nonnydgood at 26-06-2016 01:48 PM (7 years ago)
Anytin u do dem go talk ooo.
Posted: at 26-06-2016 01:48 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- djnero at 26-06-2016 01:49 PM (7 years ago)
LET THEM SAY..FIRE ON BRO.
Posted: at 26-06-2016 01:49 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- GermoDon at 26-06-2016 02:43 PM (7 years ago)
abeg chop ur fud na u get weda green card or nt u don reach America b dat
Posted: at 26-06-2016 02:43 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- engrtope at 26-06-2016 04:50 PM (7 years ago)
No wahala
Posted: at 26-06-2016 04:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 26-06-2016 04:52 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: angela on 26-06-2016 09:46 AM
Leave them alone.

They BOTH gor what they wanted.

Tammy an African man.

And Patrick a wife.

Lets wish them the BEST.
Whether good or bad, people go run their mouth

Posted: at 26-06-2016 04:52 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cocoeni at 26-06-2016 05:12 PM (7 years ago)
we wish dem  d Best  in life
Posted: at 26-06-2016 05:12 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 26-06-2016 05:25 PM (7 years ago)
abeg, who read am make he tell me from genesis to revelation.
Posted: at 26-06-2016 05:25 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 26-06-2016 07:46 PM (7 years ago)
Happy couple keep it up
Posted: at 26-06-2016 07:46 PM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: My Child Trying To Mess Up My Career - Mimi Orjiekwe Embarrassed As Daughter Exposes Her

8. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

9. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

10. Man Who Renounced Nigerian Citizenship Says He Has No Regrets

11. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

12. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

13. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

14. Businessman Tunde Ayeni Bars Ex-Mistress Ms Alagwu And Daughter From Using His Name

15. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

16. Court Sentences Five Persons To Death For Killing Rivers Vigilante Commander

17. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

18. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

19. "Why Actresses Might Command Higher Salaries In Nollywood" - Veteran Actor, Norbert Young

20. Police Arraign Fake Soldier, Umaru Abdul In Lagos

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo