My Experience With A LASTMA Officer Today - Gistmanian (Photos)

Date: 15-07-2016 9:13 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 15-07-2016 09:13 PM (7 years ago)

This happened today friday 15th of July,

I boarded a bus (danfo) going to Yaba. As soon as we got to onipanu bus stop, a lastma officer stopped our bus and Instructed our bus driver to get down. If it were to be America or Spain, it would have been wise to get down, but this is lagos, getting down means you are rsady to give your car/bus away. This man refused to get down (the driver). All he kept on saying was "Oga, wetin I do?" The LASTMA official told him "Come down first, we will tell you when you get down"

Everybody in the bus kept shouting and murmuring. c'mmon, this driver didn't violate any law. A policeman walked up to us and was like "Oga get down, I would talk to the LASTMA officer for you". Since the policeman assured him about his safety and of his vehicle, he got down and went to talk.

Few minutes later, the driver came back with two other LASTMA Officer and was explaining something to the officer. Out of curiosity, an old man asked the driver what really happened, the driver then said they said his Route ans Route number is not clearly written on the bus. I got down to check and I realized it was all false. The route number and all other required informations were written on the bus but it was already fading. I then told the police man 'but oga, this thing dey dere na, e just don fade small'. The police man told me to mind my own business. So I left them ans entered the bus.

The bus driver was busy talking to the officials on how and why the Informations on the bus was no longer clear, he even told them, he would re write it immediately.

A LASTMA officer entered our bus and wanted to drive us away. Other passengers were shouting and insulting him. As a blogger, I brought out my camera phone and took pictures of the scene.

One of the officials saw me snapping them and walked up to me. He was like 'You are snapping abi, oya bring that phone'. I smiled back and I was like, I'm only doing my job sire. Then he took it personal and almost slapped me. But he cautioned and called a police man to come take me away to the station. It was just like film :p. The police man dragged me with my belt like I stole something or I was caught molesting. He dragged me into their police van and told me I will sleep in police cell today. I was just smiling. I'm sure the guy got confused. He was like, 'wetin dey ur bag' I showed him everything including my FAAN Identity Card. We are both working for the Federal Government I said.

I brought out my other phone so I could call a relative. The police man collected it and he was like I'm not allowed to make call... "E ma gba mi keh" I said (In my mind of course)

After a while, they promised to let me go if I delete those pictures I snapped earlier. Since they Insisted, I deleted most of it and hide some, because they were watching me closely. After I was done deleting those pictures, I showed them the phone and they left me.

The funny part was, they started laughing with me like nothing happened earlier and one of the officials promised to drive us to our destination (Yaba)

The way LASTMA frame up public bus drivers all in the name of tip and bribery ehn... God will save us.

N.B: Some of my sentences may be wrong, was rushing.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 15-07-2016 09:13 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 15-07-2016 09:22 PM (7 years ago)
Before nko?Corrupt officials.
Posted: at 15-07-2016 09:22 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 15-07-2016 09:24 PM (7 years ago)
NEXT TIME BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 15-07-2016 09:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Kennycynth at 15-07-2016 09:43 PM (7 years ago)
those pple bad oh, my experience wit them was in Sept. 2014, those pple delayed my Sis & I for like 5 good hours & at the end they collected 10k from us.
Posted: at 15-07-2016 09:43 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- scottchris at 15-07-2016 09:54 PM (7 years ago)
That is the extent of corruption in this country.....  Everything is not working properly.... May God help us

Posted: at 15-07-2016 09:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lucasnatty at 15-07-2016 10:10 PM (7 years ago)
Na there way
Posted: at 15-07-2016 10:10 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- zoe61 at 15-07-2016 10:28 PM (7 years ago)
 Terrible
Posted: at 15-07-2016 10:28 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 15-07-2016 10:36 PM (7 years ago)
Military coup in Turkey  and they have hold the country power now as the president is hiden, same will happen in Nigeria soon, make TB nor say na him first predit am ooh,I AM SEEING MILITARY COUP IN NIGERIA SOON, YOU PEOPLE SHOULD PRAY
Posted: at 15-07-2016 10:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- scottchris at 15-07-2016 10:39 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Slimchery on 15-07-2016 10:36 PM
Military coup in Turkey  and they have hold the country power now as the president is hiden, same will happen in Nigeria soon, make TB nor say na him first predit am ooh,I AM SEEING MILITARY COUP IN NIGERIA SOON, YOU PEOPLE SHOULD PRAY
Noted

Posted: at 15-07-2016 10:39 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OLUCHI5 at 15-07-2016 10:41 PM (7 years ago)
seen.
Posted: at 15-07-2016 10:41 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 15-07-2016 10:57 PM (7 years ago)
Bad egunje people Grin

Posted: at 15-07-2016 10:57 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 15-07-2016 11:06 PM (7 years ago)
CURROPTION DON SPOIL THAT NAIJA NO BE SMALL  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 15-07-2016 11:06 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- mamaru at 15-07-2016 11:13 PM (7 years ago)
Especially on Fridays their eyes dey red them no wan play with weekend tips so if them no get that is wen they will be looking for fault where wahala no dey thieves
Posted: at 15-07-2016 11:13 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- benosky4 at 15-07-2016 11:26 PM (7 years ago)
Lagosians are too wild

Posted: at 15-07-2016 11:26 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimmygal at 16-07-2016 12:32 AM (7 years ago)
lastma and naija policemen are like brothers and sisters from a mentally deranged parents. foolish people with ordinary primary sch cert go dey brag for people, awon were jatijati.
Posted: at 16-07-2016 12:32 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GermoDon at 16-07-2016 02:22 AM (7 years ago)
Na Eko for u
Posted: at 16-07-2016 02:22 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 16-07-2016 03:11 AM (7 years ago)
Lagos for u,,,wereh lo gbe eko,,,,!!!
Posted: at 16-07-2016 03:11 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- UDADA1 at 16-07-2016 06:25 AM (7 years ago)
My dear is a pitty that u killed that kind of time wth those bastards. They were afraid that u may publish the story but if they were doing a nice job, Y should they be afraid of pictures. Just be careful with them my dear.
Posted: at 16-07-2016 06:25 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 16-07-2016 06:47 AM (7 years ago)
I pray dis story go viral so dis lastma on dis pic will be busted and answer some questions. Nonsense
A won ole
Posted: at 16-07-2016 06:47 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ignis99 at 16-07-2016 08:56 AM (7 years ago)
Lagos state law says, if caught in any offence, issue   ticket but the Lastma officials are not doing it rather they have continued to tow or drive vehicles to their office on daily basis. Lagos state non of your laws are working, even trailers drive at day times against driving in Lagos at night. Shame to you.
Posted: at 16-07-2016 08:56 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac