#Rio2016Olympics: Nigeria Tells Athletes To Find Their Own Way To The Olympics In Brazil

Date: 22-07-2016 11:13 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 22-07-2016 11:13 PM (7 years ago)

Nigeria Tells Athletes To Find Their Own Way To Brazil – Athletes that wish to represent Nigeria at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, would have to get there on their own.

According to track athlete Regina George, the country informed all athletes that they’d have to pay their way to the Olympics, promising to refund them later.

George, who can not undertake the costs on her own because of financial constraints, opened a GoFundMe page for fans and citizens to donate to help her reach the Olympics.

She wrote on the page:

“To all my family friends and fans thanks for being here for me through the good times and bad times. This year it’s been hard financially for me but it wouldn’t have been possible without your support. I just been told that we will have to pay our own way to the Olympics this year . Sadly this is such short notice for me to come up with the money. They also promised a refund but I’m still waiting for many refunds promised in the past. I been through a lot of obstacles this year and through it all I made my SECOND Olympic team. I don’t want to stop now after I earned a spot to represent my country in the Olympics. Any donation will help my situation. This will not go unnoticed and I’m truly grateful for my supporters.”

This is very, very sad.

Posted: at 22-07-2016 11:13 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 22-07-2016 11:20 PM (7 years ago)
Wat r u for real or is dis a joke..?
Posted: at 22-07-2016 11:20 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Zionson at 22-07-2016 11:21 PM (7 years ago)
Kai... Why dis kind thing dey happen for this country... U sure say nah waiting dem talk
Posted: at 22-07-2016 11:21 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 22-07-2016 11:23 PM (7 years ago)
And where in hell is d minister of sports..? He should be ashamed of imsef if dis is true..
Posted: at 22-07-2016 11:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 22-07-2016 11:34 PM (7 years ago)
Some ministers should be arrested if this is for real. I no dey go o....... They haven't refund in the past and you are seeking fund on your own account, well is like you believe in this talkative government.
Posted: at 22-07-2016 11:34 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennycynth at 22-07-2016 11:35 PM (7 years ago)
its all about the CHANGE change change.. #negetivechangeinnaija#
Posted: at 22-07-2016 11:35 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 4tocopyvan at 22-07-2016 11:51 PM (7 years ago)
Well I can see that Nija is going down ,So sone people can engulfed million of dollars and they  can't even finance those guys to Olympics haa Na only Nija Waka come
Posted: at 22-07-2016 11:51 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- 29ice4real at 23-07-2016 12:15 AM (7 years ago)
C wat CHANGE hav cos
Posted: at 23-07-2016 12:15 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 23-07-2016 12:43 AM (7 years ago)
unbelieveable
Posted: at 23-07-2016 12:43 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- scotik at 23-07-2016 12:54 AM (7 years ago)
Buhari Change
Posted: at 23-07-2016 12:54 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 23-07-2016 01:03 AM (7 years ago)
WHETHER HE DOES IT RIGHT OR WRONG, SOME IDIOT'S WILL STILL BLAME BUHARI FOR THIS, IT'S A MUST...SMH...Y'ALL BETTER BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL..................;
Posted: at 23-07-2016 01:03 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- danielsony at 23-07-2016 01:09 AM (7 years ago)
Don't believe everything you read.
Posted: at 23-07-2016 01:09 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maxzy277 at 23-07-2016 02:11 AM (7 years ago)
You for include ur bank statement nau
Posted: at 23-07-2016 02:11 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mjyabah2 at 23-07-2016 04:43 AM (7 years ago)
@Kisom: I have every doubt u are not a medical doctor as u claim. Or are u a doctor without reasoning and thinking faculty, and without moral values? If at all u went to a professional school, were u not taught any ethics in professional life? Or are u bipolar; because of recent u have been making some sense, but this your comment about a disappointing and dishonorable news about our govt is way below par.  .
Posted: at 23-07-2016 04:43 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GermoDon at 23-07-2016 05:15 AM (7 years ago)
Is dis a joke or wht?
Posted: at 23-07-2016 05:15 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 23-07-2016 05:48 AM (7 years ago)
BAD MANAGEMENT IS NIGERIA'S OWN ZIKA VIRUS!!!
Posted: at 23-07-2016 05:48 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- UDADA1 at 23-07-2016 06:01 AM (7 years ago)
Nigeria Tells Athletes To Find Their Own Way To The Olympics In Brazil, & if those pple wins, the credit Will go to Nigeria. Shameless country, dead country & finished country.
Posted: at 23-07-2016 06:01 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- leonardi at 23-07-2016 06:14 AM (7 years ago)
@ Kison is just a small boy so don't blame him. His comments shows he needs serious beating and afterwards this red eyes will not even allow him stare at his phone or PC. Foolish Boy
Posted: at 23-07-2016 06:14 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayveetee at 23-07-2016 06:16 AM (7 years ago)
That's what the athletes get when they are NOT CAREFUL !!!!!!! I DEY CRAZE
Posted: at 23-07-2016 06:16 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kayveetee at 23-07-2016 06:18 AM (7 years ago)
That's what the athletes get when they are NOT CAREFUL !!!!!!! I DEY CRAZE
Posted: at 23-07-2016 06:18 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

2. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

3. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

4. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

5. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

6. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

7. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

8. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office