Ex-Benue 1st Lady, Yemisi Suswam Opens Up On Her Alleged Marriage Break Up

Date: 28-07-2016 12:10 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 28-07-2016 12:10 PM (7 years ago)

Wife of the immediate past governor of Benue State, Gabriel Suswam, Yemisi, has opened up on her alleged marriage break-up.
The former first lady, who has been married for about 18 years, dished out pieces of advice to young couples who want to leave their marriages due to one reason or the other, pointing out that all marriages go through their ups and down.

The renowned architect opened up to City People on the allegations of crisis in her marriage.
Recall that news made the rounds some time ago that the couple were said to have been having irreconcilable differences in their marriage and Yemisi was alleged to have sued for divorce in a London court.

But reacting to the allegation, Yemisi said,
“Unfortunately we didn’t know or read about it because we were in United State of America with all the family. But our son who is 14years old woke us up that hot afternoon saying Daddy, Mummy come and see what is happening.

“My husband was fresh out of Government and we were just chilling out trying to get ourselves and bond together as a family and thank God for our lives. He told us there was something terrible going on about us on the social media and we were faraway in US when they said we were in London.

“We didn’t know where the story came from that we were in London when we were in United States. We were not even with our phone as it was switched off, so no family member could reach us but it is one of those things,”
she quipped.

“It is only God that has sustained our marriage for 18years as there is nothing special that I do except from calling on my God in times of trouble. He has promised that whoever calls upon him in the days of trouble, he will save. He is a faithful God; you just have to believe in him.”

Speaking on the ‘most dreaded’ thing she heard out there that shocked her about her marriage,Yemisi said, “Well, when you marry in a place where they don’t know your background and they don’t know you so well. You don’t have brothers or sisters there, there is bound to be suspicions, speculation and all that.

“Nothing shocks me again, the worst rumour I have heard is about my life and it was early in the marriage. So whatever rumour that goes around, we know that it will never see the light of the day.”

Speaking further, she disclosed that her meeting with her husband was not love at first sight.

She said,
“Who says I don’t have sexy eye ball too? It was not love at first sight. We were friends before we became lovers. We understood the feelings of each other which led us into an intimate friendship. He later proposed.

“For the young ones going through challenges in their marriage, I want to say that patience goes a very long way. They also need prayer. It is not by power or might to make marriages work. If you park up your marriage, do you want to remain alone for the rest of your life? Probably no.

“The next person you may meet may be worse than the one you want to leave. So if marriage is worth the while at all, it is worth keeping. I employ them in the name of God to be patient and persevere. Marriage is not a bed of roses. If you are a professional and while practicing your profession, things are not going well, will you leave your profession?

“You will endure and wait till the storm is over, surely after your storm, there is Life. So they should not forget that whatever they are going through, there is light after the tunnel,” she added.

Posted: at 28-07-2016 12:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- benosky4 at 28-07-2016 12:26 PM (7 years ago)
Journalists???

Posted: at 28-07-2016 12:26 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 28-07-2016 12:40 PM (7 years ago)
We don hear
Posted: at 28-07-2016 12:40 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 28-07-2016 01:43 PM (7 years ago)
JUST BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….

Posted: at 28-07-2016 01:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 28-07-2016 01:49 PM (7 years ago)
Well, everyone knows that all dis journalists sabi scatter some homes when u give dem d chance.  And thanx for d advise madan, just stick to ur family.
Posted: at 28-07-2016 01:49 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 28-07-2016 02:01 PM (7 years ago)
MATURE MIND
Posted: at 28-07-2016 02:01 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OLUCHI5 at 28-07-2016 02:17 PM (7 years ago)
e no concern me
Posted: at 28-07-2016 02:17 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 28-07-2016 02:50 PM (7 years ago)
rubbish
Posted: at 28-07-2016 02:50 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- morgan1 at 28-07-2016 05:15 PM (7 years ago)
what be my own business inside??
Posted: at 28-07-2016 05:15 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 28-07-2016 06:15 PM (7 years ago)
SEEN
Posted: at 28-07-2016 06:15 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Markeve at 28-07-2016 07:04 PM (7 years ago)
Tell them amebo pple.
Posted: at 28-07-2016 07:04 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 28-07-2016 07:32 PM (7 years ago)
It's journalists, d radio without battery all over d world.
Posted: at 28-07-2016 07:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennycynth at 28-07-2016 10:22 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 28-07-2016 10:22 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennycynth at 28-07-2016 10:25 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 28-07-2016 10:25 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 28-07-2016 11:07 PM (7 years ago)
AS NO MARKET FR JOURNALIZT.....NAIN DEM CUM DEY TRY TO SPOIL UR MARRIAGE, GOD PASS DEM
Posted: at 28-07-2016 11:07 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 29-07-2016 06:25 AM (7 years ago)
Waoh well done madam. U kill it. I hope those evil and brainless rumour mongers will let them be now dat she has spoken.
Posted: at 29-07-2016 06:25 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- CHRISETTE at 4-08-2016 07:24 PM (7 years ago)
Una matter no go ever bother me
Posted: at 4-08-2016 07:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 4-08-2016 09:06 PM (7 years ago)

Posted: at 4-08-2016 09:06 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

9. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

10. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

11. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo