Tension In House Of Reps Over Plot To Remove Speaker, Yakubu Dogara

Date: 02-08-2016 10:29 am (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 2-08-2016 10:29 AM (7 years ago)

Speaker, Yakubu Dogara might be in serious trouble as members of the House of Representatives have become divided over his involvement in the alleged budget padding. There was obvious tension in the House of Representatives on Monday over an alleged plot to remove the Speaker, Mr. Yakubu Dogara for his involvement in the budget padding allegations made by a former Chairman of the Committee on Appropriation, Mr. Abdulmumin Jibrin.

According to reporters, members on vacation were forced to rush from their vacation spots to meetings in Abuja where the alleged plot was discussed. Even after the Majority Leader, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila had urged members to calm down while urging members to have faith in the leadership of the House under Dogara, there is still palpable fear of the unknown.
Gbajabiamila had since maintained a sealed lips over the budget brouhaha since it started on July 21. Gbajabiamila had refused to speak openly in support of Jibrin or Dogara, and the three other principal officers whom Jibrin had accused of padding the 2016 Budget. The others are the Deputy Speaker, Mr. Yussuff Lasun; the Chief Whip, Mr. Alhassan Ado-Doguwa; and the Minority Leader, Mr. Leo Ogor.

It was learnt that some persons in the House in a text message that members of the House received on Monday accused Gbajabiamila of siding with Jibrin to remove Dogara because of his silence.
“This group circulated a text message among members, giving the impression that there would be a leadership change in the House. “They attempted to re-open the old Dogara-Gbajabiamila rivalry and create mayhem,”
a senior legislative official told us in Abuja on Monday.

It read, �
Plot to destabilise the leadership of the House of Reps has taken a new dimension as the Attorney-General of the Federation, working with Gbajabiamila, Jibrin and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, has drafted charges to arraign and detain principal officers of the House so that the Transparency Group, who recently met with Tinubu’s wife, will effect a leadership change with Gbajabiamila as Speaker and Jibrin as the Deputy.

“This is why Jibrin did not mention Femi (Gbajabiamila) in his allegations. The 8th House won’t be anybody’s rubber stamp. We will resist them like the Senate resisted them,” the message read.

It was the message being circulated that prompted Gbajabiamila to write members to calm them, urging them to disregard the text. He also explained that he had kept silent to avoid his comments being mistaken for taking sides. Gbajabiamila told members that he chose to break his silence because the text message gave the wrong signal.

Gbajabiamila however sent a text message to other members.

It read in part,
“Since the budget controversy that engulfed the House about a week ago, I have pointedly maintained a dignified silence. I did this for the sake of the institution that I represent and which I have laboured hard to grow and protect, knowing that whatever I say could be impactful both within the House and outside it.
“I was determined to keep in place the glue that holds an otherwise fragmented House, protect its integrity and at same time avoid eroding the little confidence and vestiges of hope Nigerians have in us.

“Unfortunately, the controversy has now taken a different turn following the rather strange text making the rounds among members about my complicity in this rather sordid matter. I am being dragged into an arena I tried very hard to stay out of for the good of the House.

“The speakership election has come and gone. The election was divisive and acrimonious, but I have worked hard to heal the wounds, some of which still fester among members on both sides. It is my responsibility to bring together all tendencies in the House and I have worked well with the Speaker and all other principal officers in the interest of the institution and the country.

“The text message, which desperately seeks to finger me in some macabre plot to destabilise the House, is a throwback and echoes our dark post-speakership election history. The resurfacing of the faceless text messengers will not help us as a House, and let me quickly add that it will fail.
 “My strongest critics and biggest political adversaries in the House cannot deny the fact that my commitment has always been to strengthen the legislature and its processes and our democracy as a whole.
 “I consider everyone a friend and colleague and urge that as we collectively work towards a stronger legislature and strive to deepen our democracy, we do not pull back the hands of the clock or lose sight of the enormous responsibility placed upon us by providence as members of a critical arm of government.”

On Jibrin’s budget padding allegations, Gbajabiamila noted that judgment could not be passed on any official based on mere allegations.

He stressed that before the law, an accused remained innocent until proven guilty.
“It is clear that our budget process needs radical reform. Allegations have been made, but I strongly believe that judgment should not be passed based on allegations. “We operate a constitutional democracy and we must at all times submit to its dictates and ethos. All parties are innocent until otherwise proven. “This should be our guide. I plead with all members; the mudslinging must stop,”
Gbajabiamila added.

As the crisis continues, Jibrin on Monday submitted copies of his petition against Dogara to the EFCC, ICPC and the DSS.

Posted: at 2-08-2016 10:29 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Kennycynth at 2-08-2016 10:49 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 2-08-2016 10:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Zazy at 2-08-2016 10:52 AM (7 years ago)
politics
Posted: at 2-08-2016 10:52 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Mykie010 at 2-08-2016 11:06 AM (7 years ago)
House of fraud.my annoyance is when I see all these illiterate northeners that are in d house of fraud.
Posted: at 2-08-2016 11:06 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 2-08-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago)
House of fraud.my annoyance is when I see all these illiterate northeners that are in d house of fraud.
Posted: at 2-08-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 2-08-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago)
Remove if una go remove am,,,all of una be Tiff
Posted: at 2-08-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- OLUCHI5 at 2-08-2016 11:34 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Mykie010 on  2-08-2016 11:08 AM
the thing tire me ooo, some of them can't spell Nigeria.
Posted: at 2-08-2016 11:34 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 2-08-2016 11:44 AM (7 years ago)
THEIR PROB
Posted: at 2-08-2016 11:44 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 2-08-2016 11:49 AM (7 years ago)
Since APC govt come on board. It's one drama or d other.
Posted: at 2-08-2016 11:49 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dleg at 2-08-2016 11:57 AM (7 years ago)
If Dogara did not padded the budget, Femi will not have had any means to remove him. So, why are the evil leaders putting blame on somebody else.

They should be ashamed to write such things in the first place
Posted: at 2-08-2016 11:57 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 2-08-2016 12:12 PM (7 years ago)
None of my business oo
Posted: at 2-08-2016 12:12 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- okuboye at 2-08-2016 01:54 PM (7 years ago)
national house of corruption
Posted: at 2-08-2016 01:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tos2130 at 2-08-2016 03:10 PM (7 years ago)
Hmmm naija politician lolSssssssssss.                                                                                                                                 
Posted: at 2-08-2016 03:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 2-08-2016 03:57 PM (7 years ago)
Na them them, and that is how they want us too see
Posted: at 2-08-2016 03:57 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 2-08-2016 04:34 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 2-08-2016 04:34 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 2-08-2016 05:48 PM (7 years ago)
Make them remove am sharp sharp. Thief!!!
Posted: at 2-08-2016 05:48 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Tos2130 at 2-08-2016 06:50 PM (7 years ago)
I sha dey available for d position.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
Posted: at 2-08-2016 06:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kima77same at 2-08-2016 10:51 PM (7 years ago)
Remove him, if he is inconpetent
Posted: at 2-08-2016 10:51 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 3-08-2016 01:14 PM (7 years ago)
All of them nah rogue.
Posted: at 3-08-2016 01:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Tos2130 at 3-08-2016 08:16 PM (7 years ago)
okayyyyy
Posted: at 3-08-2016 08:16 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac