I Won't Represent Nigeria Again - The Only Nigerian Weightlifter @ Rio, Mariam Usman

Date: 18-08-2016 6:36 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 18-08-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago)

The only weightlifter that represented Nigeria at Rio has said she has lost the urge to represent Nigeria at international events.

Mariam Usman, pictured above, left the shores of Nigeria for Brazil, the Commonwealth medallist in the +75kg in weightlifting knowing fully well that winning a medal at the Rio 2016 Olympics would be a tough call.

She would not pretend to be a magician nor claim perfection where there is none. Usman believes one can only reap where one sows.

She competed in the +75 category, amassed 265 kg and finished 8th in her group. While speaking to reporters at the Games Village in Rio, Usman said:

“It is painful to come to the Olympics and see people who are your contemporaries perform better than you; not because you lack the ability but because you were not prepared like them,” she said,
“For me, it is not just about jumping unto the plane every four years to go to the Olympics. Every athlete you see here wants to step on the podium. If you can’t aim to climb up there, you have no business coming to the Olympics. I can only consider going to another Olympics if things change for the better. But if the statues quo is maintained, I don’t think I will go to another Olympics again.”

She said training for the Rio Olympics was non-existent while her counterparts from other countries who are competing here in Brazil have been training for three to four years.

“Olympic gold medal doesn’t come cheap. It is painful that one has to suffer and when competition comes they expect you to win a medal with your blood. “The people you have to compete with had everything they needed: training grants, competitions and are exposed to the most modern equipment. I had nothing. You don’t expect such people who have invested so much to lose to one who don’t even train adequately.”

The African champion said before the 2012 Olympics, she had better training than she did under the current dispensation.

“Yes, I feel 2012 was better. I had better training and my result was better. This time nothing was done to better one’s performance.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 18-08-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 18-08-2016 06:45 AM (7 years ago)
Good. We need patriotic people.

Always remember - its NOT what your country can do for YOU - but what you can do for YOUR country!
Posted: at 18-08-2016 06:45 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bennieben at 18-08-2016 06:50 AM (7 years ago)
Why will they prepare very well wen this government dt kn anytin abt sport.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 06:50 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mykie010 at 18-08-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago)
My sister see whether Bahrain will take u and forget nigeria, they  are only interested in thier pocket
Posted: at 18-08-2016 07:21 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lilycedar2 at 18-08-2016 07:34 AM (7 years ago)
OK LOOK FOR ANOTHER COUNTRY THAT HAS BETTER EQUIPMENT NIGERIAN ARE NOT SERIOUS
Posted: at 18-08-2016 07:34 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 18-08-2016 08:49 AM (7 years ago)
I feel ur pain dear. I wish all other athlete will do same next 4yrs if dis pple are still in power. Let d world know dat we did not compete than to go there and embarrass d country wit so many drama.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 08:49 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-08-2016 09:15 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 18-08-2016 06:45 AM
Good. We need patriotic people.

Always remember - its NOT what your country can do for YOU - but what you can do for YOUR country!

yeye talk!! so if your mama no send u to school and look after u would u look after her ? 
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:15 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- raynebee at 18-08-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 18-08-2016 09:15 AM
yeye talk!! so if your mama no send u to school and look after u would u look after her ? 
what is this one saying? if its that easy no train...Ur kids and expect them to take care of yu....Moron!! u no buy book for pikin n u expect pikin to pass.... Mariam usman did her best....she won't kill herself cause of your country!!
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 18-08-2016 09:58 AM (7 years ago)
this naija now done get as e be oooh, buhari dis na all the change u promise us because me nor come understand u again ooh as you became president everything just dey jaga jaga
Posted: at 18-08-2016 09:58 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franel at 18-08-2016 10:08 AM (7 years ago)
‪‎esebrume‬, ‪‎okagbare‬, d tigers, wrestlers, ‪‎oduduru‬ all out of ‪RioOlympics2016‬ ‪‎flyingeagles‬ will play for bronze. Shows how bad we prepared

Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:08 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- ruthie at 18-08-2016 10:09 AM (7 years ago)
she is right.. the govt has to support our sports personality for enhanced performance in international sports
Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:09 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 18-08-2016 10:32 AM (7 years ago)
I am waiting for the return of D ‎TeamNigeria‬, then D blame game will start & the almighty drawing board will be out ‪‎RioOlympics2016‬ has come and gone. ‪What a shame‬, failing to plan is planning to fail!
We need to work our butt off the dust, knowing fully well the government don't give a damn, we shouldn't wait for them but rather do in like manner of Mikel Obi, the Japanese benefactor and others who are ready to give all in order for us to progress.
One Love, One Nigeria!

Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:32 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 18-08-2016 10:42 AM (7 years ago)
NIGERIA IS OFFICIALLY A FAILED STATE, WHAT A SHAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:42 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kayveetee at 18-08-2016 10:53 AM (7 years ago)
Nigeria I hail thee, if there's a next life 4 me God abeg no be 9ja again.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 10:53 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- K01abinibi at 18-08-2016 11:07 AM (7 years ago)
Ur primary aim is to step up ur profile at any olympic.reppin nigeria should be ur secondary aim
Posted: at 18-08-2016 11:07 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Amibomatc at 18-08-2016 11:32 AM (7 years ago)
The presnt federal government is not interested in sports, they more interested in Hajj.
Posted: at 18-08-2016 11:32 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 18-08-2016 12:25 PM (7 years ago)
She taya.,,,,,?? Ndo
Posted: at 18-08-2016 12:25 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- CHRISETTE at 18-08-2016 01:20 PM (7 years ago)
Sorry my sis this is where we find ourselves
Posted: at 18-08-2016 01:20 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 18-08-2016 01:33 PM (7 years ago)
No be small thin my sister,,,
Posted: at 18-08-2016 01:33 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Mynameis1 at 18-08-2016 02:11 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 18-08-2016 08:49 AM
I feel ur pain dear. I wish all other athlete will do same next 4yrs if dis pple are still in power. Let d world know dat we did not compete than to go there and embarrass d country wit so many drama.
As if you know what's in my mind..
Posted: at 18-08-2016 02:11 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

2. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

3. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

4. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

5. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

6. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

7. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

8. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

9. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

10. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

11. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

12. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

13. Armed Robber Rap3s 20-yr-old Jigawa Housewife In Hubby's Presence After Stealing Bags Of Pepper

14. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

15. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

16. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

17. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

18. Binance Faces $35.4 Million Money Laundering Charges: International Manhunt For Executives

19. Police Hand Over Wanted Delta Monarch Ogenerukeywe To Military

20. Explosion Rocks Dawaki In Nigeria's Capital Territory: Incident Leaves Residents Alarmed

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

6. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

7. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

8. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

9. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives

10. Davido's Daughter, Imade Is Now An Epitome Of Beauty, Netizens React To New Posts About Her