Nigeria Wins Bronze Medal In Rio 2016 Olympics Football, As Dream Team Beat Honduras 3 - 2

Date: 20-08-2016 7:17 pm (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 20-08-2016 07:17 PM (7 years ago)

Nigeria beat Honduras 3-2 to clinch the bronze medal. This is the only medal for Nigeria in the 2016 Rio Olympics. Congratulations!!!

The Nigerians enjoyed an encouraging start to the game, as Aminu Umar struck the upright after eight minutes.

Honduras started seeing a bit more of the ball as the half went on and could have taken the lead after 23 minutes, but Daniel Akpeyi produced a fine save to keep out Rommen Quioto from distance.

Nigeria showed some real attacking intent and were rewarded in the 32nd minute thanks to a strike from Sadiq Umar, with John Obi Mikel picking up the assist.

The Dream Team were in control after taking the lead and managed to deny the Hondurans a clear-cut for the rest of the first half.

Nigeria doubled their lead five minutes into the second half, as Aminu Umar fired home a right-footed effort from inside the box.

Umar completed his B.race just before the hour-mark when he latched onto a  ball from Mikel, before firing into the bottom corner, 3-0.

Honduras managed to reduce the deficit in the 70th minute when Anthony Lozano clinically slotted past Akpeyi from close range.

The Hondurans pulled another goal back in the 86th minute, as Marcelo Pereira headed home Oscar Salas’s free-kick to set up a nervy finish.

However, the Nigerians managed to see off the late surge to claim the victory and the bronze medal.

Posted: at 20-08-2016 07:17 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- franel at 20-08-2016 07:28 PM (7 years ago)
I wasn't impressed and slightly disappointed in today's game, the commentator is very rude. Did you have to announce that ‪‎Nigeria‬ just won her first medal in the ‪RioOlympics2016‬? Though out of every nonsense there is always a...
Lack of preparation!

Posted: at 20-08-2016 07:28 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Dramaking at 20-08-2016 07:31 PM (7 years ago)
Smh... Our 1st medal since Beijing, China 8yrz..  Sad
Posted: at 20-08-2016 07:31 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franel at 20-08-2016 07:36 PM (7 years ago)
Wait, what could've hit the keeper that he fell to the ground heavily? Could it be he was trying to pick d $10,000 on the grass from d Japanese benefactor... chai! Nigeria my country, to be faithful is to look for money by all means even when you know it ain't the time yet

Posted: at 20-08-2016 07:36 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 20-08-2016 07:54 PM (7 years ago)
In race between LION and the DEER, Many times the DEER wins... Because the LION runs for FOOD but the DEER for LIFE!
REMEMBER! PURPOSE is more important than NEED!
Most of us are after the "Care of the Tummy" missing  out the "Golden Opportunity" of becoming "A Star!" The Star is in You and not on the Govt. table who don't give a damn about her citizen

Posted: at 20-08-2016 07:54 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chimkey at 20-08-2016 07:56 PM (7 years ago)
Nevertheless, congratulations!
Posted: at 20-08-2016 07:56 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 20-08-2016 08:23 PM (7 years ago)
Thank u for making us proud. May u have better clubs outside Nigeria to sign u instead to waste in dis country. Meanwhile Dats not our first medal. D lady who sponsored herself to Rio won silver.
Posted: at 20-08-2016 08:23 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 20-08-2016 08:32 PM (7 years ago)
Naijapals she una say one girl win silver medal yesterday,today una come say na our only medal be dis.which one I wan believe, una too dey behave like lie mahamed and APC govt
Posted: at 20-08-2016 08:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 20-08-2016 08:35 PM (7 years ago)
Dalung should be jailed.
#myOpinion

Posted: at 20-08-2016 08:35 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- delight222 at 20-08-2016 08:44 PM (7 years ago)
not satisfied but what can I say other than congrats
Posted: at 20-08-2016 08:44 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- SOGaiya at 20-08-2016 08:50 PM (7 years ago)
 Grin
Posted: at 20-08-2016 08:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamoki at 20-08-2016 09:00 PM (7 years ago)
Please help me tell the Nigerian players that football is 90minutes. It never finishes until referee whistle the end. They play today like their first game
Posted: at 20-08-2016 09:00 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 20-08-2016 09:14 PM (7 years ago)
Franel ur very right..
The Olympics was a shambles for me, ivory coast won gold and dere population no even reach Ikeja..
Posted: at 20-08-2016 09:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- jeroba1 at 20-08-2016 09:46 PM (7 years ago)
na dalung cuts am,we 4 collect gold
Posted: at 20-08-2016 09:46 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franel at 20-08-2016 09:49 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dickieponga on 20-08-2016 09:14 PM
Franel ur very right..
The Olympics was a shambles for me, ivory coast won gold and dere population no even reach Ikeja..
I was dispirited, down in the dumps when they almost equalised at the dying min. Lols, its just too bad that we nearly threw away the bronze but how lucky we are that theres something we can call ours

Posted: at 20-08-2016 09:49 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Lateef67 at 20-08-2016 10:01 PM (7 years ago)
Weldon mikel nd others congratulations to you all nd naija
Posted: at 20-08-2016 10:01 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 20-08-2016 10:28 PM (7 years ago)
I was not impress with the boys today at all. They wasted so many chances and was playing as they were on training.
Posted: at 20-08-2016 10:28 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 20-08-2016 10:37 PM (7 years ago)
Thank u,,,,u guys hav really done well,,,,,congrats
Posted: at 20-08-2016 10:37 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 20-08-2016 10:40 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 20-08-2016 08:23 PM
Thank u for making us proud. May u have better clubs outside Nigeria to sign u instead to waste in dis country. Meanwhile Dats not our first medal. D lady who sponsored herself to Rio won silver.
that lady's story was a lie. she did not win any medal
Posted: at 20-08-2016 10:40 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 20-08-2016 11:12 PM (7 years ago)
NobsmallTin at all,,,,,,
Posted: at 20-08-2016 11:12 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero