Yomi Fabiyi CLaims That NDLEA’s Torture of Baba Suwe has Affected the Actor's Health

Date: 05-10-2016 9:49 am (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 5-10-2016 09:49 AM (7 years ago)

In October 2011, veteran comic actor, Babatunde Omidina, aka Baba Suwe, was arrested by the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency at the Muritala Mohammed International Airport on the suspicion of ingestion of illicit drugs. The drugs were supposedly discovered in the actor‘s stomach as he passed through the scanning machine at the airport. Read here
After detaining him for three weeks without finding any drugs, NDLEA released the comic actor.
An Ikeja High Court ordered the agency to pay the sum of N25 million as damages for unlawfully detaining him and also tender a public apology to him. None of this ever happened and in 2013, a Court of Appeal sitting in Igbosere, Lagos, quashed the judgement of the high court, saying there was no evidence to attract such. In a new development, Producer and Director, Yomi Fabiyi, is alleging that a ‘long pipe’ was inserted through the actor’s anus while in detention back in 2011 and the torture done on him by NDLEA is damaging his health at an alarming rate.
Read what Fabiyi wrote below.
“On BABA SUWE: I am calling on all SENIOR COLLEAGUES in the entertainment world especially those close to Baba Suwe cos I don’t have everyone’s contact to please reachout to him asap. The torture done on him by NDLEA is vastly damaging his health at an alarming rate. He told me he no longer feel comfortable since that episode. Baba Suwe is a widower, he can hardly walk properly as I speak, let alone go to film. How will he feed and take care of the children aunty Moladun left behind?”
“This is an A-List Entertainer and this conspiracy of silence gives me MENTAL AGONY on my part, I don’t want to speak when it may be too late, I won’t forgive myself. He told me when I visited him that he is innocent of the accusations and yet a LONG PIPE was inserted through his anus, he was detained for too long amongst other things just because he was randomly suspected like every normal person. In my opinion, only lazy, ill-trained, unfit and uncivilised officers torture in the name of investigation. Torture is criminal and sinful. If this accusation is found to be true by independent investigators, it shouldn’t go unpunished.”
“The court asked NDLEA to pay him 25million for damages which is yet to be obeyed but to me an OPEN APOLOGY will placate him and illustrate some dignified and civil approach from a government agency that made him go through all that without coming up with a single proof after that prolonged detention and drama. He who assert MUST prove! NDLEA needs to restore public confidence by doing the needful on this matter. And until individuals and government agency begin to respect fundamental HUMAN RIGHT and enhance duty of care, the essence of Nigeria’s FREEDOM is far from been realistic. No malice is intended against NDLEA with this outcry, I just hope the leadership see this as a clarion call for getting it right and save the agency from sending an innocent person to an early grave whereby leaving his children to suffer unjustly. My humble take. Thank you.  #JUSTICEFORBABASUWE #SAVEBABASUWE #SAYNOhoneypotRTURE”

Posted: at 5-10-2016 09:49 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vicky_joseph at 5-10-2016 10:03 AM (7 years ago)
This is serious
Posted: at 5-10-2016 10:03 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 5-10-2016 10:19 AM (7 years ago)
SO NDLEA COME DEY ABOVE THE LAW  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 5-10-2016 10:19 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- diutopep at 5-10-2016 11:09 AM (7 years ago)
YEYE NDLEA will hv a question to answer for detaining him for a whole 3wks despite finding nothing after their yeye scanning...that all I can say!!!!
Posted: at 5-10-2016 11:09 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freddie333 at 5-10-2016 11:16 AM (7 years ago)
What rubbish, what nonsense, NDLEA should be sued, this is outrageous, my Goodness!
Posted: at 5-10-2016 11:16 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 5-10-2016 11:50 AM (7 years ago)
Ami wish he get a good lawyer and sue dis stupid NDLEA ass. Most of d NDLEA staff are drug peddlers we all know dis. Anybody who want to expose them will either be assassinated or framed up.
Posted: at 5-10-2016 11:50 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 5-10-2016 11:54 AM (7 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 5-10-2016 11:54 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- emytex74 at 5-10-2016 12:08 PM (7 years ago)
Stupid n untrained pple
Posted: at 5-10-2016 12:08 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 5-10-2016 02:31 PM (7 years ago)
UNIFORM MEN IN THIS COUNTRY MISBEHAVE ALOT
Posted: at 5-10-2016 02:31 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Trueyarn at 5-10-2016 02:48 PM (7 years ago)
Please go get a good lawyer to help you combat NDLEA abi how wan do yourself now?
Posted: at 5-10-2016 02:48 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 5-10-2016 03:19 PM (7 years ago)
what a thing to hear that the old man is suffering like this. it is so painful.
Posted: at 5-10-2016 03:19 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 5-10-2016 03:20 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 5-10-2016 03:20 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 5-10-2016 03:21 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 5-10-2016 03:21 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kayveetee at 5-10-2016 04:11 PM (7 years ago)
I logged in, I read & I commented.... They should be sued, period.
Posted: at 5-10-2016 04:11 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 5-10-2016 04:30 PM (7 years ago)
What rubbish NDLEA should be sanctioned
Posted: at 5-10-2016 04:30 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kacylee at 5-10-2016 08:38 PM (7 years ago)
SINCE THAT TIME?

Posted: at 5-10-2016 08:38 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

2. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

3. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

4. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

5. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

6. Deji Adeyanju Threatens Lead British International School Over Bullying Of Namtira Bwala

7. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

8. One Dies, Three Hospitalised As Building Partially Collapse In Lagos

9. Singer, Celine Dion Opens Up On Her Health Struggles

10. Bullying: Lead British International School in Abuja Shut Down

11. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

13. Embattled Actor, Baba Ijesha Files Appeal Challenging His 5Yrs Imprisonment Over Rape

14. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

15. How 18Yr Old Boy Fakes His Own Kidnap To Extort Father

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office