How A 1st Class Graduate Almost Died For Joining ‘Touts’ Cos He Couldn’t Get A Job

Date: 02-06-2016 9:12 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 2-06-2016 09:12 PM (7 years ago)

This is unbelievable! No wonder a lot of people are carrying placards seeking employment, even the ones who have jobs don’t even know the day they would be sacked. What is Nigeria turning into?
What you are about to read, as shared by Haruspice’ Musings, is the plight of a Nigerian who was a First Class graduate in a foreign university and returned home to look for job.

Please read:
“I have been feeling sore since yesterday following a heart-breaking scene I witnessed at the popular Area 1 Park. Struggling to stop rains of punches on his face was a young guy in his 30s. He was being mercilessly mobbed by two other guys who were cursing, using all sorts of obscenities.

I don’t know want moved me sha, but I had to alight from my car in rescue of this guy…

I managed to stop the guys from their vicious dexterities on this guy but not without getting a slight scratch on my left ear. In between shoving, I managed to push this guy into my car as I drove away to a distant into safety. I could hear the guys shouting after us, threatening to end his life if he dares return to join them. Distant away to safety, I asked the visibly shaken guy what the problem was and thus went into a heart shattering narrative that left me perpetually sore.

‘My brother, what you just witnessed was one of the trials of life oh. Sitting with you here is a first class graduate of the University of Greenwich, London, UK. (September, 2011 – July, 2014) BSc (Hons.) Business Information Systems. I am jobless and stranded. I came into Abuja yesterday for an interview; I finished the interview and ran out of cash. Because I didn’t want to be seen as a beggar, I decided to join this guys calling for passengers. In three hours, I made N800. So I decided to gather at least N2000 that can take me back to Lagos. That was when these guys pounced on me, demanding that I register as a union member with N5000. I told them my predicament but they insisted on taking my phone.

‘My name is Abimbola Kareem, married with two kids from Lagos state. I’m not just a first class product oh, but a proficient person. I am a highly dedicated Business Systems Analyst with working knowledge of Business Intelligence, Web and Information Systems development and general products marketing. My understanding of system analysis got me the scholarship from the NNPC to study abroad. My brother, I came back and still can’t get a job oh.’

He saw the tears in my eyes and he too joined in the cry. It was an emotional time for me. In my car is a total stranger pouring out his heart to me. I stopped my tears and decided to give him hope. I could see hunger in him but he swore he wasn’t hungry. With the little stipends on me, I drove him to Jabi Park and he boarded a vehicle going to Lagos.
We exchanged numbers and I left him more shattered. This morning, he called me to show his appreciation and his wife also prayed for me. I asked that he send his CV, which he eventually sent this evening. As I type this, I have his very rich CV with me.I don’t know where to take it to but I have this strong feeling that if I share this story here, someone somewhere may help somehow. We can’t afford to waste such a product.

– this is the unfortunate reality in Nigeria today, unless you know one big man, even with a First Class you will be reduced to a nonentity. Please, anyone with the means should assist Mr Abimbola.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 2-06-2016 09:12 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 2-06-2016 09:14 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 2-06-2016 09:14 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- MAYR0CK at 2-06-2016 09:23 PM (7 years ago)
This new system of seeking for job... I knew it was the job seeker that made this shit up
Posted: at 2-06-2016 09:23 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- warribimboye at 2-06-2016 09:38 PM (7 years ago)
This is the latest way to get job now ooo
Posted: at 2-06-2016 09:38 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 2-06-2016 09:54 PM (7 years ago)
Hmm mm, really pathetic.
Posted: at 2-06-2016 09:54 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- ignis99 at 2-06-2016 09:59 PM (7 years ago)
So emotional
Posted: at 2-06-2016 09:59 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 2-06-2016 10:08 PM (7 years ago)
Sad and really not happy with this at all, Just imagine what that guy is passing through after getting all the degree, what a shame in that country call nigeria, all they do is stealing and turning the nation to a poor and fail state
Posted: at 2-06-2016 10:08 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 2-06-2016 10:19 PM (7 years ago)
so when you find yourself in real life, you come know say AGBERO na work of life lol
Posted: at 2-06-2016 10:19 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- CHRISETTE at 2-06-2016 10:24 PM (7 years ago)
How true is this?
Posted: at 2-06-2016 10:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dreadlockdejesu at 2-06-2016 10:40 PM (7 years ago)
pls kindly send his contact via:
[email protected]
Posted: at 2-06-2016 10:40 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- uduehi at 2-06-2016 10:51 PM (7 years ago)
Go back to london if truly u study there becos with all ur qualification u will get a good job and a better environment to grow ur family 
Posted: at 2-06-2016 10:51 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- yemoma at 2-06-2016 11:34 PM (7 years ago)
Very Sad, the guy looks familiar.
Posted: at 2-06-2016 11:34 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- GermoDon at 3-06-2016 12:10 AM (7 years ago)
Chia Sorry o
Posted: at 3-06-2016 12:10 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- NwaDakar at 3-06-2016 12:49 AM (7 years ago)
All is well.
Posted: at 3-06-2016 12:49 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 3-06-2016 12:57 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on  2-06-2016 10:19 PM
so when you find yourself in real life, you come know say AGBERO na work of life lol
My guy any chance of letting dis guy join u as an Ashy Assurance Analyst junior role since u dey established already...?
He could be based in one of your branches i take god beg u no vex...
Posted: at 3-06-2016 12:57 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 3-06-2016 01:05 AM (7 years ago)
is really getting very bad out there
Posted: at 3-06-2016 01:05 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 3-06-2016 01:14 AM (7 years ago)
So sad,,,,,,,
Posted: at 3-06-2016 01:14 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 3-06-2016 01:14 AM (7 years ago)
U idiots wey dey condemn d guy do u no what a Business Analyst earn per day at least £300 a day for a junior role and dey are found in IT areas in normally testing areas...All he needs to do is log on from Nigeria into websites like Jobserve.com and post his cv to any country and he wouldn't go wrong infact dem go beg am make e come with im family...
U ignorant uneducated, uncouth, primitive, backward stark illiterates don dey open mouth abuse the poor guy.
Admin if u can forward his number to me i would be glad to call him no lie about it cos i no his worth..
Na people like dat i can guarantee u say e go make am if he does the right thing.
I have friends who are BAs(Business Analysts) and i know how much dey earn, make una sidon dere dey do yeye.
Obviously most of u people here are nothing to write home about...
What we can do is speak to Admin to try and get intouch with the guy and see how we can help him but admin sef is full of knuckleheads like the men and women wey dey here so no point..I only wish dey could print a number we can use to get intouch with him...
I hate to see such talent get wasted, let's try and help one anoda and let us not ask wat our country can do for us becos our country never bothered to help us in the first place...Let's do things for us and be proud of ourselves...
Posted: at 3-06-2016 01:14 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kabukabu at 3-06-2016 02:55 AM (7 years ago)
God saved him
Posted: at 3-06-2016 02:55 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Flowpajun at 3-06-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago)
I reserve my comments
#deep#
Posted: at 3-06-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming