Yar'Adua can walk, eat, talk-says brother

Date: 04-03-2010 11:31 am (14 years ago) | Author: o a
- at 4-03-2010 11:31 AM (14 years ago)
LAGOS—CONTRARY to speculations that President Umaru Yar’Adua is in coma and on a life support machine, the first cousin, Mr. Zubaru Ali, has disclosed that the President can walk, talk, eat and was even asking after family members.
In an interview with cable network, Al Jazeera,  Zubaru Ali said he was given permission to meet with the ailing President because he is his first cousin and family spokesperson.

He said the President’s health was improving and that he was able to recognize individuals contrary to speculations. Zubaru Ali added that Yar’Adua has been expressing thanks to family members for their prayers and support.
It will be recalled that President Umaru Yar’Adua, has been back in the country since penultimate Wednesday, after spending more than three months receiving medical treatment at a Saudi Arabian hospital.
He has, however, not been seen or heard in public since his return on February 24, fueling speculation that he was incapable of carrying out his job. Yar’Adua’s silence has led many newspapers to continue to report that he was on a life support machine or in a coma.
There are also speculations that the president’s aides and first family are holding him hostage in the presidential villa until they can figure out how to retain influence and power in the event of his death.
According to Al Jazeera’s Yvonne Ndege, who had gone to Katsina State, Yar’Adua home state, she was able to track down one of the few members of Yar’Adua’s family to discuss the state of the president’s health.
State of health
Yar’Adua left the country on November 23 to receive treatment for pericarditis, an inflammation of the membrane surrounding the heart that can restrict normal beating.
He is also known to suffer from a chronic kidney condition and has long been criticized for not being able to work more than five or six hours a day.
Aside from the near constitutional crisis, Yar’Adua’s long absence had prompted street protests by thousands across the country, demanding his resignation.
It also threatened to paralyse the government until the National Assembly installed Goodluck Jonathan, the vice president, as acting president on February 9.
Yar’Adua had not officially transmitted a letter of medical vacation to the National Assembly, though the parliament said it based its decision on an interview that the ailing president gave the British Broadcasting Corporation, BBC, last month, saying that he would return to work once his doctors gave him the go-ahead

Posted: at 4-03-2010 11:31 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- famous5 at 4-03-2010 12:01 PM (14 years ago)
bad news
Posted: at 4-03-2010 12:01 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- megafather1 at 4-03-2010 03:08 PM (14 years ago)
We day wait 2 see.
Posted: at 4-03-2010 03:08 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 4-03-2010 03:26 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: famous5 on  4-03-2010 12:01 PM
bad news[/quote

how that could be bad news ? oyi ozi
Posted: at 4-03-2010 03:26 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- spekay at 4-03-2010 03:30 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: megafather1 on  4-03-2010 03:08 PM
We day wait 2 see.

abi oo

Posted: at 4-03-2010 03:30 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tirocco at 4-03-2010 04:16 PM (14 years ago)
Why do this people always take us for a ride?If this were true there would have been atleast a video shot of him recorded to show the whole world.Technology has male phone.de this so easy even Turai alone can do this with a mobile phone.So who are they fooling?Certainly not me.I don't believe this 1 bit.I just hope he is not dead and they are fooling us.
Posted: at 4-03-2010 04:16 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ebony_cutie at 4-03-2010 05:27 PM (14 years ago)
Story...till he comes to publicly make a statement thats when we go agree
Posted: at 4-03-2010 05:27 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zolazola at 4-03-2010 05:47 PM (14 years ago)
ok, yar'adua eat, walk and talk and grow fat and look better . then come and address us, so we can know which way to follow
Posted: at 4-03-2010 05:47 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lonelysnow at 4-03-2010 06:11 PM (14 years ago)
d man is late.
Posted: at 4-03-2010 06:11 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benedict1 at 4-03-2010 06:25 PM (14 years ago)
it is unfortunate we have these carbals that will always eat with the devil.nigerians desire the type of rulers they get.
Posted: at 4-03-2010 06:25 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Enockia at 4-03-2010 07:07 PM (14 years ago)
he come back or not we go still de chop

Posted: at 4-03-2010 07:07 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- irule at 4-03-2010 07:46 PM (14 years ago)
Make him to us make we know, his brother is not Nigeria, we are the Nigerians.

Posted: at 4-03-2010 07:46 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- megafather1 at 4-03-2010 10:04 PM (14 years ago)
Posted: at 4-03-2010 10:04 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceedeesexy at 5-03-2010 11:34 AM (14 years ago)
GOD gO Punish dis people, wetin dey turn Us into sef, ZOMBIE? how can we believe d News from His Cousin, Why e no b say him show him face 2 d WORLD, haba! not even his VICE 4 Crying Out LOUD
Posted: at 5-03-2010 11:34 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ruffrugged at 5-03-2010 07:45 PM (14 years ago)
he can 'do everything'' except in front of the camera where he is likely to be in a coma. ol boy dem for call me to come talk also so that i will tell the world that he is doing push ups and lifting weights make dem give me my own share joor.  nonsense people.
Posted: at 5-03-2010 07:45 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- afianwe at 5-03-2010 08:12 PM (14 years ago)
we go till seeeee__ yar'Adua
Posted: at 5-03-2010 08:12 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- stilldan at 8-03-2010 08:29 PM (14 years ago)
there is onething he cant do.. he no fit phyuk.....lOL
Posted: at 8-03-2010 08:29 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- hackynoni111 at 3-09-2015 02:13 PM (8 years ago)
wish u well
Posted: at 3-09-2015 02:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac