Make Life More Meaningful To Ordinary Nigerians - Buhari Appeals To Nigerian Elites

Date: 24-06-2016 11:08 am (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 24-06-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday appealed to Nigerian elites to be more patriotic and partner with his administration in making life more meaningful to ordinary Nigerians.

The president made the appeal at the breaking of fast dinner with retired and serving Justices of the Supreme Court at the Aso Rock, Villa, Abuja. Buhari criticized the selfish attitudes of some individuals whom, he said were bent on strangulating the nation’s economy through illegal and sharp practices.

According to him, God has been good to Nigeria in terms of material and human resources, “but the elites have failed woefully in translating this to prosperity for the country”.
He, therefore, enjoined the Justices to assist in re-educating and convincing the elites on the need to be more patriotic in their actions and deeds, to create a just, fair and stable society.
“So, at this age, at the position we are, more demand is made on us to persuade those we know, the elites, to please pity this country and make more sacrifices.
At whatever forum, please persuade our fellow elites to be more patriotic because which kind of country are we leaving for our children and our grand children.

Everybody in the world believes Nigeria has been favoured by God Almighty in terms of material and human resources.But we have failed, woefully failed so far to explore it and thank God for these gifts,”
the President said.

The president reminded his guests that Nigeria was in a difficult position occasioned by the dwindling oil revenue, and urged them to continue to pray for the betterment of the country.
He, however, expressed optimism that the country would survive the current socio-economic challenges.

“We are in a very, very difficult position now. We came at a time when suddenly we realized, unfortunately, that we have, through our personal incompetence as Nigerian elites, ended up as a mono-economy in spite of the potentiality of this country, which the rest of the world seemed to know more.

We have observed what happened in the last 15 years. We have enjoyed so much prosperity. But, eventually, the thing we looked for most, security, first in the North East, threatened us, secondly, in Niger Delta. But we know we have the strength to survive it and survive it we must,”
he said.

Retired Justice Salihu Belgore, who spoke on behalf of his colleagues, thanked the president for inviting them for the dinner and assured him they would continue to partner with the government to ensure speedy transformation of the country.

See photos below:

Posted: at 24-06-2016 11:08 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 24-06-2016 11:14 AM (7 years ago)
nice one buhari, talk to dem
Posted: at 24-06-2016 11:14 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- CHRISETTE at 24-06-2016 11:27 AM (7 years ago)
Abeg make I see road jor
Posted: at 24-06-2016 11:27 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- HUMANresurce at 24-06-2016 11:30 AM (7 years ago)
Let him self strat to make life meaningful for the nigerian citizen
Posted: at 24-06-2016 11:30 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 24-06-2016 11:54 AM (7 years ago)
Fantastic speech and i no say some knuckleheads go come here dey abuse d poor man...
Jonathan wey fcuk up d country dem no talk about dat one...
Posted: at 24-06-2016 11:54 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- mjyabah2 at 24-06-2016 11:55 AM (7 years ago)
"Serving and retired justices of the supreme court", what sector of the economy do these people belong, Private or public? Do these people create jobs, if so, what percentage of job creation? I think Buhari is looking for solutions to Nigerian economic problems at the wrong places. These old men are not thinking of how to make life better for common man, they are thinking of their ego, titles and what have u.
Posted: at 24-06-2016 11:55 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vectorcy at 24-06-2016 11:58 AM (7 years ago)
buhari breaks fast with... buhari takes pictures with... zarah takes pictures with... Aisha takes pictures with... check out photos of zarah and aisha...
my people.. is this the kind of news we will be hearing till2019 while hunger dey kill us? oh, i almost forgot buhari has more media aids than than economic advisers...
Posted: at 24-06-2016 11:58 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- scottchris at 24-06-2016 12:04 PM (7 years ago)
Baba what have you done on your own...  Well... I wish they will hear you sir...

Posted: at 24-06-2016 12:04 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MOYOSORE1 at 24-06-2016 12:16 PM (7 years ago)
Tank's sir our baba and good leader. That is why I pray for you and the nation. my God be with us. poverty is just a make is not a pamnert wude.is possible to be cleaned. if will read. all Mighty God will be with you and your family and colleagues. Thanks sir
Posted: at 24-06-2016 12:16 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- kp45 at 24-06-2016 12:34 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 24-06-2016 12:34 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DrSoba at 24-06-2016 12:46 PM (7 years ago)
This man is just talking, he should work.
Posted: at 24-06-2016 12:46 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 24-06-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago)
I CAN ONLY SEE ALL ABOKI"S HERE OOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 24-06-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- michaelc80 at 24-06-2016 12:58 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL need to be very very CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL ooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 24-06-2016 12:58 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OOSSYY at 24-06-2016 01:06 PM (7 years ago)
FOOLISH AND STUPID PRESIDENT, HOW MANY NIGERIANS HAVE U MADE THEIR LIVES MEANINGFUL.WERE U NOT THE IDIOT THAT PLACED FUEL PRICE AT 145 NAIRA PER LITRE.BLOODY SABO OF UR TYPE. HATERS OF MY WORDS SHOULD GO AND JUMP INTO RIVER BENUE
Posted: at 24-06-2016 01:06 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- danielsony at 24-06-2016 01:15 PM (7 years ago)
See people wey dey rule Nigeria, only abokis
Posted: at 24-06-2016 01:15 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- danielsony at 24-06-2016 01:16 PM (7 years ago)
See people wey dey rule Nigeria, only abokis
Posted: at 24-06-2016 01:16 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bebold at 24-06-2016 02:07 PM (7 years ago)
We are in a very, very difficult position now. We came at a time when suddenly we realized,

Now They realizing but Mr. Buhari needs to understand that for a country to move forward, there must be a strategy set in place and not by begging some elites without them knowing what he wants them to do,
Posted: at 24-06-2016 02:07 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 24-06-2016 03:40 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: mjyabah2 on 24-06-2016 11:55 AM
"Serving and retired justices of the supreme court", what sector of the economy do these people belong, Private or public? Do these people create jobs, if so, what percentage of job creation? I think Buhari is looking for solutions to Nigerian economic problems at the wrong places. These old men are not thinking of how to make life better for common man, they are thinking of their ego, titles and what have u.
He, therefore, enjoined the Justices to assist in re-educating and convincing the elites on the need to be more patriotic in their actions and deeds, to create a just, fair and stable society.
Posted: at 24-06-2016 03:40 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 24-06-2016 04:14 PM (7 years ago)
Nice one Mr presidooo,,,
Posted: at 24-06-2016 04:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- luckingto50 at 24-06-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago)
Correct man
Posted: at 24-06-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

7. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

8. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria