Why I Married Dele Giwa – Senator Florence Ita-Giwa

Date: 07-12-2016 5:22 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 7-12-2016 05:22 PM (7 years ago)

A former presidential special adviser, Senator Florence Ita-Giwa, on Wednesday disclosed that she fell in love and married Dele Giwa because of his Press Snaps column.

Dele Giwa, a former Editor-in-Chief of Newswatch magazine, was killed by a letter bomb on October 19, 1986.

Ita-Giwa, who spoke in a radio programme (Hit FM) in Calabar on Wednesday, said she became interested in journalistic write-ups as a result of the works of her mother, Beatrice Bassey-Ita and the likes of Peter Enahoro and Sam Amuka, among others.

She said that she got married to Dele Giwa just barely three weeks after first contact as a result of his intellectual prowess.

The former presidential adviser, who was responding to a question on her relationship with Dele Giwa, said that she followed him to his house on request on the first day that they met to know how he wrote his column.

She said, “I became attracted to journalism because of my mother and the likes of Peter Enahoro, Sam Amuka and others. My mother worked for West African Pilot and later Guardian before she joined Sketch where she retired.

“I stumbled into Dele Giwa because I liked his column. I did marry him eventually not because he was handsome, but what he had upstairs in his brain. When I met him coincidentally, I just told him that I have been reading his columns which I found entertaining and intellectually challenging.

“On that particular day, he looked at his time (watch) and said he was going to do his column, he requested if I follow him go to his house to see how he prepared his column, I agreed. I agreed. We drove from Surulere to Ikeja because I was curious.

“When we got to his house, he went to his study and brought out one old typewriter and sat on the table with a glass of water and cognac and started typing straight from his head without looking at any material.

“He did this up till about 3am the next morning, I was so amazed. I called my mum that early morning through his telephone (landline) to inform her that I was with Dele Giwa and that he was typing his column from his head.

DELE GIWA

“From that day, we never parted until we got engaged three weeks after. He was a beautiful and intellectually rich human being that had so much in his head. He was very fearless and prolific writer and I was always scared for his life.”

Posted: at 7-12-2016 05:22 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 7-12-2016 05:39 PM (7 years ago)
Eyaah
Good thing truly doesn't last!
Posted: at 7-12-2016 05:39 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 7-12-2016 05:41 PM (7 years ago)
Sorry bout his death
Posted: at 7-12-2016 05:41 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Patode at 7-12-2016 05:45 PM (7 years ago)
Sharp woman. Follow a man to his house and observed him at work till 3 a.m.  Nice sweet love.
Posted: at 7-12-2016 05:45 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- 1marviz at 7-12-2016 06:03 PM (7 years ago)
yeah. try and continue his good works ooo
Posted: at 7-12-2016 06:03 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 419BigBoy at 7-12-2016 06:38 PM (7 years ago)
good, stay in deep love and keep each other happy each and every day and night
Posted: at 7-12-2016 06:38 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jeroba1 at 7-12-2016 08:10 PM (7 years ago)
gud tree no dey last.
Posted: at 7-12-2016 08:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 7-12-2016 08:23 PM (7 years ago)
so touching.. he lives on

Posted: at 7-12-2016 08:23 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emytex74 at 7-12-2016 11:27 PM (7 years ago)
((0);
Posted: at 7-12-2016 11:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 8-12-2016 02:33 AM (7 years ago)
Babangida should b 4 death of this man , watch buhari is trying to kill NNAMDI KANU the same way but it can never work.
Posted: at 8-12-2016 02:33 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 8-12-2016 05:04 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmm,life at times don't go well as planned.
Posted: at 8-12-2016 05:04 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- DeboNero at 8-12-2016 10:36 AM (7 years ago)
Asewo agbaya! D guy must have banged d living daylight out of her dat 1st day! Omo calabar! She still never stop o!
Posted: at 8-12-2016 10:36 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sexyidol at 8-12-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago)
STORY FOR THE GODS
Posted: at 8-12-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- kison at 8-12-2016 05:36 PM (7 years ago)
BUT WHO ARE THOSE IDIOTS POSTING IRRELEVANT NEWS ON THIS FORUM, HOW IS THIS A NEWS ABEG,,,,, OR HOW DOES THIS AFFECT THE PRESENT STATE OF NIGERIA ECONOMY,POSTER BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 8-12-2016 05:36 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 9-12-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago)
Mr. Dele Giwa of blessed memory he is very intelligent a man I respect. little wonder mama fell for him. lol
Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 9-12-2016 10:47 AM (7 years ago)
Mr. Dele Giwa of blessed memory he is very intelligent a man I respect. little wonder mama fell for him. lol
Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:47 AM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

2. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

5. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

6. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

7. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

6. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

7. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

10. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider