The Federal Government Warns Nigeria to Prepare for Telecom Data Price Increase

Date: 09-12-2016 12:32 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 9-12-2016 12:32 PM (7 years ago)

Adebayo Shittu, Communications Minister has asked Nigerians to brace for a price rise while making a case for telecom service providers, which according to the minister were operating under unfriendly business environment including lack of electricity and increasing security challenges.
 Nigerians had cried out against the proposed data tariff price forcing the Senate to intervene. However, the Nigeria Communications Commission (NCC) said it intervened with an interim price floor for data services to avert a looming price war in the telecommunications sector. According to NCC, it feared that the price war could eventually lead to a monopoly in the telecom industry that would force small operators to shut down. This was the view expressed by the Prof. Umar Dambatta, NCC executive vice chairman when he appeared the Senate Committee on Communications.
 Prof. Dambatta also said that the need to avert crisis in the telecom industry informed their decision to introduce interim price floor for data services at N0.90k per BM.
 He said, “We wanted to protect the Nigerian consumer from unhealthy price war in what may lead to a monopoly that may lead us to the days of NITEL. We did not increase any price but merely provided a regulatory standard to protect small telecom operators.”
Dambatta said that there were some telecom operators that lacked the capacity to compete with the big operators in the field. He said that the N0.90k price floor for purchase of data was a benchmark below which no operator could sell.
“We said in the interim directive measure that no operator should sell below 90k per megabite. There was a price war in the market; that was why we issued the interim directive.
“A situation where a dominant operator provides services far below what is obtainable in the sector in order to attract more customers may lead to a situation where smaller operators will be forced to shut down,”
he said.
 However, the Minister said that reality meant that telecom service providers were operating under unfriendly business environment including lack of electricity and increasing security challenges. He said,
“This is one area that I believe that we all must face the reality. The government in its wisdom and I am happy the National Assembly promulgated the National Communications Act which required that there be established an NCC.  “If you look at the NCC law, it is positioned to reflect experiences, expertise and all of that and I want to believe that there must not be too many interventions in the activities of the NCC.
“I am a political office holder, I am not an expert, so I cannot venture to say whether they did wrong or right except they say that the constitution has granted them the role of a supervisor of a direct regulatory authorities particularly relating to the activities in the telecoms industry. “The only area I feel they were deficient was in the area of communicating with the people of this country particularly because of the sensitivity that has been imposed on Nigerians by the harsh economic situation.
“I know that if you want to make omelet you must break eggs. Unfortunately in this country, we fail to appreciate the transformation role that ICT has brought about in the lives of Nigerians. “I keep saying this and I have no apology in saying this before 1999, GSM lines in Nigeria were less than 500,000. Today, we have a well over N152 million lines. All the hustles that Nigerians were going through before the exponential development of ICT are no more with us. “It is also important to say that operators in Nigeria are operating on a very harsh situation which is not known in other advanced countries. For instance over the years, the Nigerian state has not succeeded in fixing electricity over the last 20 years.
“This industry reliance on electricity and that because Nigerians has failed in providing reliable electricity, it means they have to rely on extra budgetary provisions to provide electricity 24 hours, seven days of the week which additional expenditure does not operate in other countries which we seek to copy. This is one challenge that we must look at.
“The other challenges in the area of security, a lot of infrastructure by operators are usually under coma by criminals all across the country. Indeed we know what the security situation is in the country. Apart from that we also have the problem of taxes which they have always be talking about. I have always challenged operators that I want to see all the taxes so that we find a way of harmonising them. “What I am saying is this, if Nigeria has invited international investors to come and invest in Nigeria so that our lives will be better, so that the economy will be better, so that businesses can be more conveniently made, so that even government can run more conveniently, to whom much is given, much is expected.
“The Nigerian state must also be in a position to provide its own share to make an enabling environment operate properly. “So, I am not supporting at this stage or not supporting the price increase with regards to the floor. But what I am saying is, these are technical issues whose decision must be taken having regard on all the factors that are important before a decision can be taken. “We certainly must not encourage a situation in this country where people who have brought their investment to make our lives better, to make businesses better are left to operate in an environment which is not conducive which may even frustrate them out of the Nigerian market.
“I am appealing to the distinguished senate in intervening, they should try to encourage NCC to be the best that it can, they should try to assist us (NCC) in the area of holding the balance between the interest of operators and the interest of the Nigerian masses so that we can be seen to be providing the best.“I want to say that whatever we would do, we should encourage NCC, we should also encourage operators and we should also encourage Nigerians to appreciate the reality on ground. My information is that in the West African region are the lowest even when one is not an expert, the fact that our currency has gone so down in terms of value will perhaps justify this assertion.
“What we or experiencing in Nigeria in terms of the devaluation of the Naira, in terms of over reliance on the petroleum whose prices have suddenly gone so much down. It means that we must do the needful in ensuring that the industry is sustained. “I want to remind us that time was when petroleum was our mainstay was selling for $145 and Nigeria was producing 2.2 million barrels a day. Today the price was $55 and that is totally more than 70 percent reduction and the production level has also gone down particularly because of the activities of criminals called militants in the Niger Delta.
“Today it is only the ICT sector that remains viable for Nigerians to sustain ourselves to bring about transformation to increase the revenue and to sustain the economy.”

Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:32 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- 1marviz at 9-12-2016 12:36 PM (7 years ago)
rubbish govt. always after sucking the citizens dry.  mtchewwwwww
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- leonardi at 9-12-2016 12:38 PM (7 years ago)
Gogoman will always support cos he likes suffering and smiling
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:38 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- 1marviz at 9-12-2016 12:47 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: leonardi on  9-12-2016 12:38 PM
Gogoman will always support cos he likes suffering and smiling

let's wait and see what he will say---------gogoman---------------
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:47 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:49 PM (7 years ago)
Hmmmmmm, this not the change I voted
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:49 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago)
Which way Nigeria, which way apc
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago)
Naija we dey, we no go abandon am
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:51 PM (7 years ago)
Anyhow d weather be, we go survive
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:51 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:51 PM (7 years ago)
Men must make phone call no matter d increase
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:51 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:52 PM (7 years ago)
Na I'm be say  we go return to free night calls
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:52 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:53 PM (7 years ago)
If I can't afford day calls, I make free night calls
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:53 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:54 PM (7 years ago)
Anyhow e be, boys go still make calls
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:55 PM (7 years ago)
No more sending of credit to girls
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:55 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:55 PM (7 years ago)
No more unnecessary phone calls
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:55 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Igotalkam at 9-12-2016 12:57 PM (7 years ago)
Na flashing we go dey do these days
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:57 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 9-12-2016 01:08 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Igotalkam on  9-12-2016 12:57 PM
Na flashing we go dey do these days

bros abeg take am easy nah. nor be only u need 10k Kiss.  abeg,Na  beg I day  Wink
Posted: at 9-12-2016 01:08 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morolayo at 9-12-2016 01:09 PM (7 years ago)
It is well
Posted: at 9-12-2016 01:09 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 9-12-2016 01:23 PM (7 years ago)
Rubbish,useless rogues make them no gree.
Posted: at 9-12-2016 01:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 9-12-2016 02:10 PM (7 years ago)
I dey with buhari
Posted: at 9-12-2016 02:10 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- kison at 9-12-2016 02:15 PM (7 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 9-12-2016 02:15 PM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

2. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

3. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

4. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

5. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

6. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

7. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

8. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

9. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

10. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)