HUSTLERS! Nigerians Living In UK and USA Sent $35Billion Home In the Last 11 Months

Date: 21-12-2016 6:48 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 21-12-2016 06:48 AM (7 years ago)

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Foreign Affairs and Diaspora Matters, Mrs. Abike Dabiri-Erewa, on Tuesday said between January and now, over $35bn had been remitted to the country by Nigerians living abroad.

Dabiri-Erewa disclosed this when she visited the Executive Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service, Mr. Babatunde Fowler, and the management team of the FIRS in Abuja.

She said the amount so far remitted to the country by Nigerians living abroad this year exceeded the $21bn sent home by them last year.

The $35bn remittance, according to her, is the highest so far recorded in Africa this year and the third highest in the world.

“In 2016, they (Nigerians living abroad) remitted $35bn, which is higher than what was remitted in 2015. This is the highest in Africa and the third largest in the world,” she stated.

Dabiri-Erewa drew the attention of the FIRS management to tax concerns raised by Nigerians living abroad, adding that this might frustrate the objective of the government in encouraging them to invest back home.

She said, “There is a lot of talk about your organisation from Nigerians in the Diaspora concerning taxes; whether there will be tax incentives for Nigerians coming back home to engage in agriculture and other businesses.

“Recently, they expressed concern over reports that we need to pay tax on our passports. There should be collaboration between both offices to disseminate information in case they have questions or want answers.”

Responding, Fowler said the agency had not imposed any fresh tax on the collection of passports, adding that what was required from any adult applying for passport was evidence of tax compliance.

He said, “What we are saying is if you want any immigration services, either you want to renew your passport or get a new one, so long as you’re an adult and you’re making an income, you just have to show evidence of tax payment.

“There is no direct tax on passports, it’s just to show evidence of paying tax; and of course, you’re entitled to all the services of government.”

The FIRS boss explained that there were a lot of tax incentives for Nigerians abroad to take advantage of when investing in the country.

Posted: at 21-12-2016 06:48 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Afriqueenn at 21-12-2016 07:19 AM (7 years ago)
It's the recession nah
Posted: at 21-12-2016 07:19 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- chimexcel at 21-12-2016 07:50 AM (7 years ago)
As of last year, a dollar is around #160. While this year #379 to 400. Sending more dollars home means more wealth for Naija people.
Posted: at 21-12-2016 07:50 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- chukkychukky at 21-12-2016 07:53 AM (7 years ago)
good jst i go send mine sooner

Posted: at 21-12-2016 07:53 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- concentrate at 21-12-2016 08:52 AM (7 years ago)
that's good!
Posted: at 21-12-2016 08:52 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jeonleon at 21-12-2016 11:00 AM (7 years ago)
Mrs. Dabiri must you announce it to the whole world?!... Do you want the host countries to block the channels so as to stop the leakages of their respective wealth and resources?

Has any country ever told u how much they drain from Nigeria?
Posted: at 21-12-2016 11:00 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 21-12-2016 11:16 AM (7 years ago)
AND UNA GO SAY WE NO TRY!!  I GUESS MY FELLOW TRAVELER SHOULD DIVERT OUR MONEY TO GHANA
Posted: at 21-12-2016 11:16 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- osarobo62 at 21-12-2016 04:32 PM (7 years ago)
..and what have most of them done with the money ,other than weekly owambes,show off or build a non revenue generating house.
Posted: at 21-12-2016 04:32 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kswagger at 21-12-2016 04:51 PM (7 years ago)
Oh my name no dey, sorry dem no mention paris

Posted: at 21-12-2016 04:51 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 21-12-2016 05:50 PM (7 years ago)
 Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 21-12-2016 05:50 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 22-12-2016 08:13 AM (7 years ago)
Ermmmm
Posted: at 22-12-2016 08:13 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 24-12-2016 08:02 AM (7 years ago)
Nawaoo
Posted: at 24-12-2016 08:02 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 28-12-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago)
Sidon there dey look like zombie,,,,.. I just dey wakaring
Posted: at 28-12-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 29-12-2016 05:19 AM (7 years ago)
Knack mi tori.....,,,
I just dey observe! Dey pass jejeli as in,, maka, make jelorsi no kill u o
Posted: at 29-12-2016 05:19 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero