Man Narrates His Encounter With Soldiers During Distribution Of Blankets To IDPs In Borno

Date: 17-01-2017 11:33 am (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 17-01-2017 11:33 AM (7 years ago)

On Armed Forces Remembrance Day, January 15th, Elyakub Lawan shared a touching story of his encounter with soldiers stationed in northern Borno, a day earlier.
"Yesterday, during the distribution exercise of blankets and cloths provided by IDPs Aid and Relief Foundation to displaced persons (IDPs) in selected host communities in Maiduguri, I was approached by some soldiers stationed in northern Borno who thought the items were for sale.
"Oga, na for sale? Cold dey that our side well well", a Warrant Officer said.
"No be for sale, sir. We dey divide am for IDPs"
, I replied.

They turned to leave, but I couldn't bear to let them go without giving them some of the items. After all, they are also victims of the situation, I thought. My only regret is that I didn't give them enough blankets to go round considering their number.

It's Army Remembrance Day today, the 15th of January. A day set aside to remember our fallen heroes who died so we could live, who don't sleep so we could sleep soundly and even snore, a day to remember those suffering under harsh conditions in Sambisa, Bita, Gudumbali, Kareto, Damasak, Doro Naira, Malumfatori, Ashigashigar, Buni Yadi, Kangarwa, Alagarno, Marte, Madagali, Banki and sundry places.

May the labour of our heroes, past and present, never be in vain.
Selah

Posted: at 17-01-2017 11:33 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 17-01-2017 11:41 AM (7 years ago)
soldier too are human, make una dey help dem.. without dem boko boys go still dey active
Posted: at 17-01-2017 11:41 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- blowout at 17-01-2017 12:29 PM (7 years ago)
when I saw the headline I thought I was going to read another story of army brutality. but what a pleasant surprise to note that the military boys were willing to allow the blankets to be taken to the idp camps even when they themselves were suffering bitter cold. the people in authority really need to take care of these military boys. they shouldn't go through these unnecessary hardship considering they risk their lives to keep us safe.
Posted: at 17-01-2017 12:29 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 17-01-2017 01:17 PM (7 years ago)
Naija with very greedy and wicked government

Posted: at 17-01-2017 01:17 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 17-01-2017 01:52 PM (7 years ago)
I don't know why soldier suffer day and night while politicians dey enjoy for aircon day and night.. It just seems fighting for our country is another crime.
Posted: at 17-01-2017 01:52 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 17-01-2017 10:49 PM (7 years ago)
seen

Posted: at 17-01-2017 10:49 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 18-01-2017 07:31 AM (7 years ago)
there is always drama when givng out anything FREE

Posted: at 18-01-2017 07:31 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 19-01-2017 09:19 AM (7 years ago)
NobsmallTin,..,. Observation.....

Lyf na phase to face..,,,...,,.......
Posted: at 19-01-2017 09:19 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer