Chief Priest Of The Kingdom In Benin Suspended By The Oba for Committing These Offences

Date: 19-01-2017 3:50 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 19-01-2017 03:50 PM (7 years ago)

The Oba of Benin has angrily suspended the Kingdom's Chief Priest after he was found out to have committed an offence.  The Oba of Benin, Ewuare II, has approved the suspension of the Chief Priest of the kingdom, Nosakhare Isekhure, from all the duties of the title, Premium Times reports.

This was contained in a statement released at a press briefing at the palace on Tuesday, jointly signed by the nine highest-ranked chiefs in the palace and the Secretary of the Benin Traditional Council, Frank Irabor.

It said Mr. Isekhure had been suspended indefinitely. The chief priest is known as the Isekhurhe of Benin Kingdom.BThe statement accused Mr. Isekhure of desecrating his office. It said the Council had reverted to the system of the past in which the Ihama of Benin Kingdom was performing the duties of the Isekhurhe.

In a long list of Mr. Isekhure’s infractions, the Council stated:
“He designated his house as a palace where he held court in which he sometimes reviewed cases already dealt with in the Oba’s palace. Of course, gratifications were there offered or forced and collected.

“He used his position to influence new chiefs celebrating their investiture to perform certain rites in his residence, during which monies, kolanuts and drinks were collected.

“Senior chief were at times openly bad-mouthed and vilified by him and during those times, he declared that the chiefs were not senior to him and that he would not pay respect to them again as palace cultures demand.

“He turned himself into a be all and end all, and a seeming authority in Benin culture and tradition, especially palace procedures. He even pronounced himself the Head of the Royal family.

“The profanities and denigrations that issued from him and his followers during our mourning period are better forgotten. During this period, he told all those who cared to listen to him that neither the Emwinekhua nor the consequent coronation could hold without him.

“The Iyase (Prime Minister of Benin Kingdom) sent for him to enable these matters to be discussed with him. He demurred. The council of chiefs also sent for him, yet, he refused to answer them.

“During Emwinekhua, he neglected and deliberately refused to perform his traditional duties before, during and after the event, and has since remained infinitely unrepentant.

“We cannot believe that anyone, any Benin individual who knows what the motivating Benin cultures and tradition are, and has worn the toga of a Benin Chief could do what Isekhurhe did these past two years. We find it difficult to accept even the idea that he is a chief. The disconnect has become actual and natural.

“We recommend in the circumstances therefore, that he be suspended; and with the authority of Omo N’Oba N’Edo, Uku Akpolokpolo, Ewuare II, Oba of Benin, he is with effect from today, 17th of January, 2017 suspended indefinitely from performing the duties of the Isekhurhe title which he now bears.”

When contacted on the development, Mr. Isekhurhe said he could not say anything yet, because he was yet to get official information on his suspension.

Posted: at 19-01-2017 03:50 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 19-01-2017 04:39 PM (7 years ago)
BARBARIC AND PRIMITIVE BENIN PEOPLE
Posted: at 19-01-2017 04:39 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 19-01-2017 04:42 PM (7 years ago)
KINGDOM WHERE MEN DEPEND ON THEIR WOMEN TO FEED AND TAKE CARE OF THEM
IF U ARE IN DOUBT GO WATCH IKOKA MOVIE
Posted: at 19-01-2017 04:42 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 19-01-2017 04:43 PM (7 years ago)
Ok Na..hope he no go invoke something
Posted: at 19-01-2017 04:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 19-01-2017 04:47 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dynasty4all on 19-01-2017 04:39 PM
BARBARIC AND PRIMITIVE BENIN PEOPLE
with your face like baboon yansh.
Posted: at 19-01-2017 04:47 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- freethinker at 19-01-2017 04:49 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dynasty4all on 19-01-2017 04:42 PM
hahahah no wonder their women scatter all over europe dey sleep with anything
Posted: at 19-01-2017 04:49 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 19-01-2017 04:54 PM (7 years ago)
ikoka movie is just fables...men are the head of household and chief breadwinners in Benin families.
Posted: at 19-01-2017 04:54 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 19-01-2017 04:56 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: freethinker on 19-01-2017 04:49 PM
hahahah no wonder their women scatter all over europe dey sleep with anything
95% of the prostitutes in Benin and Lagos are Ibos.
Posted: at 19-01-2017 04:56 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 19-01-2017 06:34 PM (7 years ago)
nawaoo

Posted: at 19-01-2017 06:34 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eric2000 at 19-01-2017 06:45 PM (7 years ago)
backward and primitive traditions.....these people need to be informed
 we are 2017
Posted: at 19-01-2017 06:45 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 19-01-2017 07:08 PM (7 years ago)
In Benin city,na women dey feed men,their men are usually very lazy
Posted: at 19-01-2017 07:08 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 19-01-2017 07:32 PM (7 years ago)

Posted: at 19-01-2017 07:32 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Isima1010 at 19-01-2017 07:53 PM (7 years ago)
Useless people
Posted: at 19-01-2017 07:53 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 19-01-2017 08:06 PM (7 years ago)
Ok na

Posted: at 19-01-2017 08:06 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 19-01-2017 08:33 PM (7 years ago)

MUMU NUMBER 1 U BE , SO NA MOVIE U DEY TAKE JUDGE MATTER ABI .............. EWU
Posted: at 19-01-2017 08:33 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Zaki68 at 19-01-2017 09:21 PM (7 years ago)
@DYNASTY4ALL BINIS ARE NOT IGBOS WHO HATE THEMSELVES AND EVERYONE AROUND THEM YOU PEOPLE CAN NEVER COMPARE YOUR TRADITION WITH THE BINIS BECAUSE YOU GUYS USE MONEY TO BUY YOURS. AND I WONT JOIN WORDS WITH YOU SO THAT I WONT ALSO BECOME LIKE YOU GUYS WHO HATE THEMSELVES AND EVERYONE AROUND THEM.
Posted: at 19-01-2017 09:21 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- steveoneal at 19-01-2017 11:24 PM (7 years ago)
Nice one, there can only be one king in a town, oba of benin is one of the most and highly respected obas in nigeria, in a situation where a priest starts seeing himself as oba then he should be called to order.
Posted: at 19-01-2017 11:24 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 19-01-2017 11:41 PM (7 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 19-01-2017 11:41 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 20-01-2017 12:00 AM (7 years ago)
We don hear...,

Lyf na phase to face..,,,...,,.......
Posted: at 20-01-2017 12:00 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- uchedibie at 20-01-2017 02:51 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: osarobo62 on 19-01-2017 04:56 PM
95% of the prostitutes in Benin and Lagos are Ibos.

Welldone sir, na u know pass, u don patronize all of them abi?
Posted: at 20-01-2017 02:51 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. VIDEO: My Child Trying To Mess Up My Career - Mimi Orjiekwe Embarrassed As Daughter Exposes Her

9. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

10. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

11. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

12. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

13. Man Who Renounced Nigerian Citizenship Says He Has No Regrets

14. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

15. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

16. Businessman Tunde Ayeni Bars Ex-Mistress Ms Alagwu And Daughter From Using His Name

17. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

18. "Why Actresses Might Command Higher Salaries In Nollywood" - Veteran Actor, Norbert Young

19. Court Sentences Five Persons To Death For Killing Rivers Vigilante Commander

20. 6 Suspected Yahoo Boy Jailed In Ilorin

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo