Bomb attacks rock Warri

Date: 16-03-2010 9:21 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 16-03-2010 09:21 PM (14 years ago)
At least two persons were feared dead and several others seriously wounded as bomb explosions rocked the government house annex in Warri, Delta State yesterday. Eminent Nigerians, including three state governors ran for dear life as three bombs, planted in vehicles parked at the government house premises shattered buildings and windowpanes, disrupting the post-amnesty dialogue of governors from the Niger Delta region.

Jointly convened by Vanguard Media Limited, publishers of the Vanguard newspaper and the Delta State Government, the conference was meant to proffer further solutions to the Niger Delta problems.

The conference had in attendance, the host the Delta Governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan and his Edo and Imo States counterparts, Adams Oshiomhole and Ikedi Ohakim respectively.

Other eminent personalities at the event included minister of Niger Delta, Chief Ufot Ekaette who represented Acting President Goodluck Jonathan; Abia State and Akwa Ibom Governors, Theodore Orji and Godswill Akpabio who were represented by top cabinet officials; former chief of defence staff, General Andrew Azazi (retd), who chaired the occasion; Vanguard Publisher, Sam Amuka Pemu; former Edo governor, John Odigie-Oyegun and former Delta governor, Chief Felix Ibru.

On the guests list were also commissioners, lawmakers, jurists, traditional rulers, scholars and journalists.
The occasion, started on a cheerful note, but ominous dark clouds gathered when the first bomb exploded at 11.00 a.m. as Governor Uduaghan led his colleagues from Imo and Edo States into the hall. They were accompanied by Chief Ekaette.

The first incident was initially mistaken for an explosion probably from an electricity installation within the Government House premises.
The worst happened barely 15 minutes into the ceremony as the Vanguard Publisher, Sam Amuka was making his speech.

A thunderous blast ripped open the ceiling of the conference hall where the summit was holding and wounded several persons.
Many others, including guests were seriously wounded as everybody was scampering out of the hall.

The governors and other dignitaries on the dais were quickly smuggled out of the hall through the exit door by security operatives.

Earlier, while declaring the summit open, Chairman on the occasion, General Andrew Azazi, commended Vanguard for organizing the event, noting that Delta State Government had also performed well in the areas of peace, security and infrastructure development.
Azazi, however, lamented that dialogue, peace, development and stability had eluded the Niger Delta and urged the people of the region to continue to unite to enable meaningful development come to the area.

The occasion was brought to an abrupt end following the massive car bomb attacks.
Meanwhile, the police have confirmed that one person died in the explosion.
Mr Charles Muka, the Police Public Relation Officer (PPRO) in Delta said the police headquarters in Asaba had received the report of the death of a woman in the explosion.

Posted: at 16-03-2010 09:21 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- popo2009 at 16-03-2010 10:21 PM (14 years ago)
This is Insane and disgusting
they would have rather walk into the hall and say their mind
Instead of bombing the area, painting Nigeria Image more black
Posted: at 16-03-2010 10:21 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uploader at 17-03-2010 08:27 AM (14 years ago)
This is crast infradignity.
Posted: at 17-03-2010 08:27 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- esonu at 17-03-2010 02:48 PM (14 years ago)
if to say am a militant.. i for become Huh??

Posted: at 17-03-2010 02:48 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Bazemaster at 17-03-2010 11:05 PM (14 years ago)
Freedom fighter

Posted: at 17-03-2010 11:05 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 18-03-2010 02:00 PM (14 years ago)
tis millant phyuk up, instead for them to bomb the petrol pipe suppling oil the nortn or better still bomb those baby killing fulanis/hausa muslim, na their village they go bomb. Warri guys una phyuk up
Posted: at 18-03-2010 02:00 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dclm2008 at 18-03-2010 05:27 PM (14 years ago)
warri millitants, no be peace and development talk they won do
why did u spoil am. u don blacmail our niger again, u phyuk up o. Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 18-03-2010 05:27 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- mcfredie at 18-03-2010 08:22 PM (14 years ago)
Divide nigeria all these will stop. Divide nigeria i stand !!!!
Posted: at 18-03-2010 08:22 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ndukingsley at 18-03-2010 09:30 PM (14 years ago)
Fredie u look gentle but now i know dat not every man on suite is a gentleman.warri guys must b crazy,is der any hausa/fulani there?all are ibos,attackin dem na phyuk up cos they ar u and u ar they.make u na take time o

Posted: at 18-03-2010 09:30 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Ndukingsley at 18-03-2010 09:33 PM (14 years ago)
Fredie u look gentle but now i know dat not every man on suite is a gentleman.what concerns division and multiplication of Nigeria.warri guys must b crazy,is der any hausa/fulani there?all are ibos,attackin dem na phyuk up cos they ar u and u ar they.make u na take time o

Posted: at 18-03-2010 09:33 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dclm2008 at 18-03-2010 09:41 PM (14 years ago)
fredie, se na division wey go solve niger's problem?
you won scater evrything be that. i beg mind wetin you go dey talk o
Posted: at 18-03-2010 09:41 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Mekoyor at 19-03-2010 06:53 AM (14 years ago)
Thats wat am talking about.

Posted: at 19-03-2010 06:53 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedafe at 19-03-2010 01:33 PM (14 years ago)
the bottomline Warri millant una phyuk up bigtime, and na una relations for warri nahim go suffer fix the damage u hv cause.  pls think nxt time
Posted: at 19-03-2010 01:33 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 22-03-2010 08:52 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Bazemaster on 17-03-2010 11:05 PM
Freedom fighter

when do terrorists becomes freedom fighters ? you must be one of them , stupid peoples
Posted: at 22-03-2010 08:52 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- ocent at 22-03-2010 03:40 PM (14 years ago)
Hi Baby

How are you doing today? hope you are feeling very fine, well My name is peter am from anambra state but leave lagos and basied in cotonouand this is how I come a memeber of this great site, it was introduce to me from one of mine very good friend and since then I love this site very much

I want to ask if you can be my friend? please feel free contact me with the information below or you add me on your yahoo messanger list.
Here is my information.
Nigeria telephone Number

Lagos  Nigeria Republic Number:+2347041827532
E-mail Address:([email protected])
Wish to hear from you very soon.
Yours Lovely
peter

ocent_peter
m24
Posted: at 22-03-2010 03:40 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 22-03-2010 06:08 PM (14 years ago)
to whom is that open msg ? mr peter, ocent
Posted: at 22-03-2010 06:08 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- jojo8 at 22-03-2010 06:39 PM (14 years ago)
A Nation with maverick leaders where there is no authority, citizens takes the laws into their hands. That's what is going in Nigeria.Those with arms are not freedom fighters but criminals LIKE THOSE IN GOVERNMENT that failed to deliver the political goods.
Posted: at 22-03-2010 06:39 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 22-03-2010 09:06 PM (14 years ago)
you talk sense there ------- thanks
Posted: at 22-03-2010 09:06 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- princesssally2 at 26-01-2012 03:35 PM (12 years ago)
hmmmmmmm........
Posted: at 26-01-2012 03:35 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 26-01-2012 09:21 PM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 26-01-2012 09:21 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master