Man Cries Out On How Ikeja Electricity Plc Defrauded Him Through Outrageous Estimated Bill

Date: 24-01-2017 12:48 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 24-01-2017 12:48 PM (7 years ago)

A resident of Aswani, Mechanic village in Ikeja, Lagos State, Jeffery, has accused the Ikeja Electricity Plc, IE, of overestimated billing and unmetering of his apartment, saying the action the company was fraudulent. He accused the electricity outfit of billing him outrageously between August and October 2016 without taking into consideration the days and hours he never had electricity supply.
Eruanovwe-Megbu claimed that despite tabling several complaints at IEC’s headquarters and its Ajao Unit Office both on email, telephone and face –to-face interactive conversations, the company has continued to “bombard” him with “extremely outrageous,” bill.
A mail he sent to the company reads in part:
“This went worst in October 2016 when there was power outage/failure for a total of 20 days with less than 6hrs daily on the remaining 10 days of the month. “Irrespective of the outright power failure for the month, they went ahead to issue a bill of N13, 866.30. How on earth was 650D consumed? “Having a bill of N13, 866.30 in less than 60hrs light in an entire month is a sharp contradiction to their claims of using what they term to be ‘’scientific method of billing’’.
In a correspondence exchanged between him and the electricity company which he sent to us Eruanovwe-Megbu, said rather than resolve his issue, the company sent one Mrs Oladele to take inventory of his electrical appliances.
Wondering how taking of inventory relates to outrageous billing, Eruanovwe-Megbu said, “Sending Mrs Oladele (whom you referred as ‘him’) from your Ajao unit to take inventory of my appliance is illegal and is a very clear indication that you and your establishment want to continue exploiting me with incessant estimated bills. “Lets assume I have 5 bulbs, 2 fans 1 TV & 1 refrigerator. How would your inventory determine the consumption rate vis-a-vis my billings?
“If you are seeking for means to justify your continuous outrageous bills, seek for advance ways that conform to the twenty-first century era.
“If after a period of over 2 years of sending me electricity bills you are now sending your personnel to come and take inventory of my appliances. How have you been arriving at all the bills you sent to me in the past?
“Do you realize that this action of yours has justified and proven my claims beyond every reasonable doubt that the bills you have been issuing to me is not only outrageous but exploitative and unfounded.
“However, I advise that you expedite action in installing prepaid meters which will go a long way in assisting you to get accurate reading and feedback (avoiding estimation), instead of sending out personnel to initiate manual and archaic method of estimating bills and encroaching into customer esteemed privacy .”

Reacting to the complaint, IE claimed that Eruanovwe-Megbu denied an official sent to carry out investigation access into his apartment. The company urged him to grant its official access into his apartment so as to resolve the issue of the outrageous billing.
The correspondence from the electricity company to Eruanovwe-Megbu reads on parts: “With respect to your complaint on high bill.
“Further investigation reveals that our Energy Sales Representative was at your premises on January 13, 2017 to carry out an inventory of your appliances but you denied him access to the apartment. Kindly grant us access to the apartment to enable us carry out adequate investigation on your complaint regarding high bill.”

As at the time of filing this report, the IE was yet to respond to a mail we sent to them in order get their own side of the story.

Posted: at 24-01-2017 12:48 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- akinmanchy at 24-01-2017 01:02 PM (7 years ago)
B4 nko? Electricity company in Nigeria is fraud

Posted: at 24-01-2017 01:02 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Jeonleon at 24-01-2017 01:14 PM (7 years ago)
That estimated bill is what they fraudulently use in balancing their account books. So I advise you go for a pre-paid metre system. Else, you'll be paying for other people's crime.
Posted: at 24-01-2017 01:14 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 24-01-2017 01:34 PM (7 years ago)
na evil calculator dem dey use to do the bills
Posted: at 24-01-2017 01:34 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- james987 at 24-01-2017 02:53 PM (7 years ago)
Sometimes Na their way be that
Posted: at 24-01-2017 02:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Otikadinje at 24-01-2017 03:06 PM (7 years ago)
Thunder fire those bloody nepa people, they are all thieves.

Posted: at 24-01-2017 03:06 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 24-01-2017 03:06 PM (7 years ago)

Posted: at 24-01-2017 03:06 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 24-01-2017 03:07 PM (7 years ago)

Posted: at 24-01-2017 03:07 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chukkychukky at 24-01-2017 05:19 PM (7 years ago)
nawaoo

Posted: at 24-01-2017 05:19 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jeroba1 at 24-01-2017 08:05 PM (7 years ago)
Electricity company for naija are robber.
Posted: at 24-01-2017 08:05 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

2. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

3. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

4. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

5. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

6. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

7. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

8. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

9. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

10. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo