Jigawa Poly Students Allegedly Sleep In Mosques After Hostel Hike

Date: 27-01-2017 4:06 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 27-01-2017 04:06 PM (7 years ago)

Students of Jigawa State polytechnic have resorted to sleeping in an unprecedented place after hostel fees were hiked. Some students of Jigawa Polytechnic, Dutse, have allegedly been sleeping in the institution’s mosque in their numbers and operating off-campus system following a hike in the institution’ s hostel fee.

Malam Yusufel Idris told newsmen in Dutse on Friday that the initial fee for hostel accommodation per student was N3, 000 but was jerked up to N5, 000 by the institution’s authorities. Idris said that all efforts made by the affected students to persuade the school’s authorities to review the increment down ward, was unsuccessful.

Another student, Malam Kabiru Musa, said that with the new increment in hostel accommodation, some of them were left with the option of sleeping in the school’s mosque or outside the campus. “This is the naked truth I am telling you”, he said.
When contacted, the institution’s Director of Administration and Academic Planning, Dr. Mohammad Ibrahim, said that the school authorities was not aware that some of its students were sleeping in the mosque Ibrahim who spoke on behalf of the Rector, Prof. Garba Goje, confirmed that the school had actually increased fees, including the hostel accommodation, because it wanted to do general renovations.
He said that in view of the increase in the costs  of building and other materials in the market, “we don’t have any option than to increase our fees to solve the problems”

Posted: at 27-01-2017 04:06 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 27-01-2017 04:41 PM (7 years ago)
u got to b used to it bcs ur in d zoo

Posted: at 27-01-2017 04:41 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 27-01-2017 05:08 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: chukkychukky on 27-01-2017 04:41 PM
u got to b used to it bcs ur in d zoo
.  You are very correct bro
Posted: at 27-01-2017 05:08 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 27-01-2017 08:20 PM (7 years ago)
Na wa ooo for this recession Huh? Buhari make things hard una come make am harder Roll Eyes.. Make una remember say na students them be ooo
Posted: at 27-01-2017 08:20 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kacylee at 27-01-2017 08:35 PM (7 years ago)
trust students they will always find alternatives

Posted: at 27-01-2017 08:35 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 27-01-2017 08:43 PM (7 years ago)
ok nah ok
Posted: at 27-01-2017 08:43 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- akinmanchy at 27-01-2017 11:32 PM (7 years ago)
O'boy na wa ooo, which way Nigeria

Posted: at 27-01-2017 11:32 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- jeroba1 at 28-01-2017 04:50 AM (7 years ago)
naija.
Posted: at 28-01-2017 04:50 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 7-03-2017 04:28 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Mykie010 on 27-01-2017 05:08 PM
.  You are very correct bro
Posted: at 7-03-2017 04:28 PM (7 years ago) | Hero