I’ll Rather Remain In My House Than Have Sheriff As PDP Chairman — Bode George

Date: 25-02-2017 11:49 am (7 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 25-02-2017 11:49 AM (7 years ago)

Hours after the Court of Appeal in Port Harcourt gave its decision to vest legitimacy to Senator Ali Modu Sheriff as national chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Chief Olabode George, a former Deputy National Chairman of the party poured out his lamentations.

He spoke about the consequences of the ruling government decimating the opposition and his decision to stay back in his house. He also commented on the defection of six of the eight PDP members of the Lagos State House of Assembly to the All Progressives Congress, APC.
Excerpts:

The Court of Appeal sitting in Port- Harcourt has delivered a judgment in the PDP crisis, pronouncing Senator Ali Modu Sheriff as the authentic chairman of PDP, what do you have to say on this?

I was shocked.   To use the word shock is mild.   It is worse than being shocked. My immediate conclusion was haaa! This is the voice of Jacob and the hand of Esau asking that our National Convention be set aside.
Bode George
My spirit has never been this low as it is today. Whither Nigeria, where do we go from here? A lot of people expected a vibrant opposition, now they have taken the opposition vibrancy to an appendage to the ruling party. I cry for our beloved country. I weep for my country. When President Buhari comes back, we would continue to pray for his good health, those who are masquerading and manipulating all these things should hands off and allow the system to run. Don’t kill the goose that has laid the golden egg of political activities in this country, don’t do that.
We must be full of prayers. For me as a Christian, I go on my knees, I pray to God. Every country experiences darker side once a while, the last day I can recall was the day Baba Awolowo was sent to prisons. He came back triumphantly, contributed his quota and I thought we would never be back to those days, but here we are again.
Out of the eight members lawmakers your party   has in the Lagos House of Assembly, six of them have defected to the APC. What is your reaction?
I am extremely disappointed in them. A Rolling Stone gathers no moss. Those who tried that in the past, where are they today? If you bite the fingers that fed you, you are heading straight to perfidy. Can the people they are going to join in that political party trust them? It was  through our sweat, through our hard work that they got there. We sat down, we worked, spent time and money and resources to convince the people. What they have done now is that they have disappointed the constituencies that put them there. Would they have the nerves except they are shameless to go back to their constituencies? Did they consult them before they jumped ship? It is the most irresponsible behaviour ever.
It is shameful. Most of them are young, what would they want their names to be in the future?   You got a mandate based on your constituencies, they decided the people to represent them and fight on their behalf, they have been there for almost two years but they decided without consulting their leaders at the constituencies and in the party before they jumped ship. Anybody who goes through a window into a house is called a thief.
But the lawmakers attributed their defection to the crisis in the party.
Which crisis? Now, there is no crisis because the court had given it to Senator Ali Modu Sheriff, let them stay where they are.
As a follow up to your lamentations about the state of the PDP, are you saying that the case of the PDP is beyond redemption?
I have grown in the party and I know the nooks and cranny of the party. I have worked so hard because I spent ten years as one of the managers of the party. We did our best building it up. It is a political colossus, it is not something you can wish away.
Any decision taken at the national convention is sacrosanct and it is only another convention that can change the decision of that convention.
Now the judiciary has said they change the decision for the party, I wish our nation the very best. We need prayers. During the 16 years of the PDP, we never went on that channel to decimate any political party. We never did. Rather, our approach was to use the powers of government to woo the hearts and minds of the people to the party.

That is what is done in a civilized world. But this is logic, what did we flout before you set it aside and gave it to Ali Modu Sheriff?

Was there an agreement among the factions that the Court of Appeal judgment should not be appealed?

I wish them the best of luck, I will never be part of that. One needs to be steadfast on his mind, flip floppers don’t achieve anything. That is not the concept for which those Babas who established this party set. If anybody wants to join, you know it is a voluntary thing. I will remain a public commentator, I will be vocal when there is the need for it and I will be objective. Now I am happy also that our Babas in the Afeniferes, you know there was a time Afenifere was associated with a political party. Now with good conscience and the situation in the country, they have decided that Afenifere will no longer have political wing, Afenifere will be a cultural voice of Oduduwa people as the ACF is in the north or Ohaneze in the South East .

I will be part of anything for the good of our society, but this ball that they are kicking like a tennis ball, today it is this, tomorrow it is that, you don’t need to be a rocket scientist to know that it is heading into perfidy. I will never be part of it. Never!

Are you saying you are relinquishing the membership of your party?

I will sit in my house. You can still be a member and be watching and by the time it is settled, you will know where they are going.
But you can still go to the Supreme Court?
That will be the decision of those administering the party. You know even at the Supreme Court, Oga is there to take his full seat.

This year is critical for politics, because by the middle of this year, towards the last quarter, critical activities will start. No matter how small, it will start and if you don’t have a definitive direction it will be too late. You are running a 100 meter dash, some people have started running and then you are still on the starting block, can you meet them on the way? I am also a retired General, I don’t need to waste my time. I will take my back seat, the party will now meet and if they say they want to go to court, fine. You see very quickly now, the police will open the National party Secretariat for Sheriff to move in, when they do that, I wish the others best of luck.

We can see like I told you, this is not the first time , go back into history , the decimation of the Action Group, AG where did it lead Nigeria?

With the local government elections in Lagos near, what are the prospects for the PDP?

You know the sad thing there is this, we have a party that is with Makarfi and they are the bigger membership, we have the tiny strength who are members of the Sheriff camp, they will now say they are the authentic. If you see the communiqué issued in Ijebu Igbo, I saw some names state by state in South West , their own chairmen, they have one in Ogun, one in Lagos , Oyo, Osun, in Ekiti and they have in Ondo, that is the Sheriff Group, they will now go and conduct election, the court has recognized them. Unless the Supreme Court reverses the Appeal Court judgment and I can’t see that happen before the local government election. So wait for the result of the election, the bigger side now is being sidelined. Of course, you will find people who are professional political jobbers who served the moment, they are not committed to anything.

Posted: at 25-02-2017 11:49 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- jamepinto at 25-02-2017 12:41 PM (7 years ago)
OLD MAN GO AND  SLEEP, STUPID PEOPLE.
Posted: at 25-02-2017 12:41 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- ficull at 25-02-2017 03:19 PM (7 years ago)
I tot this exconvict get shame. Retire already.
Posted: at 25-02-2017 03:19 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 25-02-2017 03:21 PM (7 years ago)
WHO WANT U OUTSIDE BEFORE
Posted: at 25-02-2017 03:21 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- akinmanchy at 25-02-2017 09:08 PM (7 years ago)
This man still dey talk?

Posted: at 25-02-2017 09:08 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morolayo at 26-02-2017 07:43 PM (7 years ago)
okay
Posted: at 26-02-2017 07:43 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- soladunga at 26-02-2017 11:26 PM (7 years ago)
Better o, its better u remain in your house o.
Posted: at 26-02-2017 11:26 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- james987 at 27-02-2017 03:53 PM (7 years ago)
Ok Na ok
Posted: at 27-02-2017 03:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kabukabu at 27-02-2017 10:10 PM (7 years ago)
Tell this old garulous fool to retire to his long overdue grave.
Posted: at 27-02-2017 10:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

2. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

3. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

4. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

5. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

6. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

7. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

8. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

9. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

10. Armed Robber Rap3s 20-yr-old Jigawa Housewife In Hubby's Presence After Stealing Bags Of Pepper

11. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

12. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

13. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

14. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

15. Binance Faces $35.4 Million Money Laundering Charges: International Manhunt For Executives

16. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

17. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

18. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

19. Police Hand Over Wanted Delta Monarch Ogenerukeywe To Military

20. Explosion Rocks Dawaki In Nigeria's Capital Territory: Incident Leaves Residents Alarmed

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

6. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

7. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

8. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

9. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives

10. Davido's Daughter, Imade Is Now An Epitome Of Beauty, Netizens React To New Posts About Her