"I Was Disappointed By Attahiru Jega, I Don’t Know Why He Did What He Did" Says Goodluck Jonathan

Date: 25-04-2017 9:21 am (6 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 25-04-2017 09:21 AM (6 years ago)

Despite conceding the 2015 presidential election, former president Goodluck Jonathan was not comfortable with how it was handled by Attahiru Jega, former chairman of the Independent National Elect0ral Commission (INEC).

In ‘Against the Run of Play’, a book written by Segun Adeniyi, Jonathan said Jega disappointed him.
“I was disappointed by Jega because I still cannot understand what was propelling him to act the way he did in the weeks preceding the election,” the former president said.
“As at the first week in February 2015 when about 40 percent of Nigerians had not collected their PVCs, Jega said INEC was ready to conduct an election in which millions of people would be disenfranchised.”
Jonathan also said he had a meeting with Jega to express his reservations about the preparedness of INEC for the exercise, but he insisted that the election would go ahead.
“Of course, the Americans were encouraging him to go ahead yet they would never do such a thing in their own country. How could we have cynically disenfranchised about a third of our registered voters for no fault of theirs and still call that a credible election?”
“The interesting thing was that the opposition also supported the idea of going on with the election that was bound to end in confusion,”
the former president said.
The election was scheduled for February 14, 2015, but the Jonathan government shifted it by six weeks. The action was greeted by strong criticism from Nigerians.
In the book, Jonathan also defended his decision to postpone the election, saying it was for security reasons.
“When the military and security chiefs demanded for more time to deal with the insurgency, the reasons were genuine,” he said.
“As at February 2015, it would have been very difficult to vote in Gombe, Adamawa, Borno and Yobe states. But moment all the arms and ammunition that had been ordered finally arrived, the military was able to use them to degrade the capacity of Boko Haram to the level in which they posed the threat to the election.”

Posted: at 25-04-2017 09:21 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Jeonleon at 25-04-2017 09:39 AM (6 years ago)
Jega acted so because he was being manipulated by the northern elite, with support from the Obama administration which had severed its ties with yours....
Posted: at 25-04-2017 09:39 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- sandra78 at 25-04-2017 09:48 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Jeonleon on 25-04-2017 09:39 AM
Jega acted so because he was being manipulated by the northern elite, with support from the Obama administration which had severed its ties with yours....

Thank you bros,  You have said it all.
Posted: at 25-04-2017 09:48 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandra78 at 25-04-2017 09:50 AM (6 years ago)
The Shameless Obama who is forcing gay marriage on all the poor country around the world is facing deportation in US now and fighting for his life to remain there..... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 25-04-2017 09:50 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 25-04-2017 10:24 AM (6 years ago)
WE KNOW THE TRUTH, UNCIRCUMCISED OBAMA IMPOSED UNCIRCUMCISED BUHARI ON US.
ONLY GULLIABLE FOOLS LIKE YORUBAS AND BINIS(BENIN) DO NOT KNOW, BUT GOD WILL SURELY REWARD THEM
Posted: at 25-04-2017 10:24 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 25-04-2017 10:25 AM (6 years ago)
THE MISTAKE YOU MADE WAS MAKING THAT GOAL CHAIRMAN OF INEC
Posted: at 25-04-2017 10:25 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- robertedo3 at 25-04-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago)
This man called Jona should  just keep quiet and should not provoke or wake up the sleeping dog ,  iam imaging what Nigeria would have look like if  he was still the president  with all the looting that happens under your  watch, You govt  refuse to save for the raining day according  to your finance minister  then  thereby plugging  This  country into the  Mess we are today , You signed lots money out without proper monitoring of what its was met for , please  , please  Jona Let the sleeping  lies and enjoy your loots with your wife
Posted: at 25-04-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- robertedo3 at 25-04-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago)
This man called Jona should  just keep quiet and should not provoke or wake up the sleeping dog ,  iam imaging what Nigeria would have look like if  he was still the president  with all the looting that happens under your  watch, You govt  refuse to save for the raining day according  to your finance minister  then  thereby plugging  This  country into the  Mess we are today , You signed lots money out without proper monitoring of what its was met for , please  , please  Jona Let the sleeping  lies and enjoy your loots with your wife
Posted: at 25-04-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- AmazingMarie at 25-04-2017 01:21 PM (6 years ago)
we hear how your ex excellency
Posted: at 25-04-2017 01:21 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 25-04-2017 02:35 PM (6 years ago)
Leave Jega alone ooo,,,,,
Posted: at 25-04-2017 02:35 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 25-04-2017 02:57 PM (6 years ago)
CRAZY DEY JONATHAN HEAD!!  HE NO WIN ELECTION NA,  ALLL JEGA OR JAJA  DOES WAS TO ANNOUNCE WHO WIN SIMPLE
Posted: at 25-04-2017 02:57 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- Larry28 at 25-04-2017 03:18 PM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 25-04-2017 03:18 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- eric2000 at 25-04-2017 03:26 PM (6 years ago)

stop that beer parlor talk...Jonathan was a weak president who had all his ministers stealing around him and the citizens of Nigeria was fed up with it...He lost the election despite him outspending buhari and postponing the election by 6 weeks...He lost,so Lets stop blaming northern elite and Obama...when he won the previous election nobody complain about northern elite and Obama...
Posted: at 25-04-2017 03:26 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bishopdon at 25-04-2017 03:27 PM (6 years ago)
JEGA = Just Ended Good luck Jonathan Administration. I wonder how Niaja would have look like if JEGA didn't do what
Posted: at 25-04-2017 03:27 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 25-04-2017 03:59 PM (6 years ago)
maybe Obama got tired and frustrated by the primitive lootocracy Jonathan was operating instead of democracy.  Obama did Nigerians a huge favour.
infact, we should rename Aso Rock, OBAMA ROCK
Posted: at 25-04-2017 03:59 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 25-04-2017 04:01 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: robertedo3 on 25-04-2017 10:32 AM
No mind the man,...he was a disgrace to southerners
Posted: at 25-04-2017 04:01 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Jeonleon at 25-04-2017 05:55 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: eric2000 on 25-04-2017 03:26 PM
stop that beer parlor talk...Jonathan was a weak president who had all his ministers stealing around him and the citizens of Nigeria was fed up with it...He lost the election despite him outspending buhari and postponing the election by 6 weeks...He lost,so Lets stop blaming northern elite and Obama...when he won the previous election nobody complain about northern elite and Obama...

Alright, I'll "stop the bear talk"..........in your dreams.....so as to help you sleep better at night....

Still doesn't change the fact that David Axelrod (Obama's Campaign manager) helped the APC Presidential candidate during the 2015 elections...... Nor does it change the fact of the well publicized lopsided distribution of the PVC which tilted heavily towards the north pole before the elections.
Posted: at 25-04-2017 05:55 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jeonleon at 25-04-2017 06:03 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: osarobo62 on 25-04-2017 03:59 PM
maybe Obama got tired and frustrated by the primitive lootocracy Jonathan was operating instead of democracy.  Obama did Nigerians a huge favour.
infact, we should rename Aso Rock, OBAMA ROCK

Obama got tired of many things, but I assure you, looting was never one of them....

Let's talk about disappointment from the death of the Gay Rights Bill, which he hoped the greatest black nation would institutionalize, so the others could follow....

Have you forgotten so soon how his admin ceased to be Nigeria's ally which prompted the then president to forge a new alliance with China and Israel?
Posted: at 25-04-2017 06:03 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- schmit at 25-04-2017 06:43 PM (6 years ago)
Naija matter dey tire person
Posted: at 25-04-2017 06:43 PM (6 years ago) | Hero