"The Igbos Are The Richest, Most Educated Nigerians In The Country Today" Says Sen. Ben Murray-Bruce

Date: 15-06-2017 10:24 am (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 15-06-2017 10:24 AM (6 years ago)

Yesterday, the senate had a debate on the need for National Unity and Peaceful Coexistence in Nigeria. While speaking on the floor, Senator Ben Murray-Bruce said that the Igbos who are currently saying they are marginalized, are the richest, most industrious and educated people in the country. He stressed the need for those clamoring for war to be educated on the dangers of war as seen in the 1967-1970 civil war in Nigeria.
"They say the Igbos were marginalized. They fought a war and they lost. Today, they are the most industrious people in the country. They are the richest Nigerians in the country today. They are one of the most educated people in Nigeria today, yet they feel marginalized. If you compare the Ibo man to the other sectors of the society, you would say the Igbos are very privileged because of what they have. Yet, a generation of Igbos say they are marginalized and they want to secede and want a Nation. A young generation of people who have never seen bloodshed, destruction, people being killed, amputated, families being divided, can surely think like that. But what have we done as a Nation to educate them about the destruction of what? Absolutely nothing"he said
According to him, it is important for Nigeria's education system to teach young Nigerians about the ills of war.

Posted: at 15-06-2017 10:24 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Chichocolate at 15-06-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago)
Nigeria can't survive without the Igbos for sure. Argue with your phone
Posted: at 15-06-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- livingstone80 at 15-06-2017 10:38 AM (6 years ago)
true talk,
Posted: at 15-06-2017 10:38 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- sandra78 at 15-06-2017 10:41 AM (6 years ago)
Yes they became richest and most industrious after the Hausas grab power thinking that all what they want is there....now look at the damage they did to that nation call Nigeria since their time from Military until now....Yet the Senseless people are still fighting to hold on to the power without any sense of direction where they are leading the nation to.... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 15-06-2017 10:41 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deltaboy1 at 15-06-2017 10:43 AM (6 years ago)
Education, i will give it to yoruba, in his opinion might be igbo, but mine opinion is yoruba
Posted: at 15-06-2017 10:43 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 15-06-2017 10:56 AM (6 years ago)
Dey haff come again this morning ooooo.... Wan tun ti de oooo...
Posted: at 15-06-2017 10:56 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 06less at 15-06-2017 11:00 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Deltaboy1 on 15-06-2017 10:43 AM
Education, i will give it to yoruba, in his opinion might be igbo, but mine opinion is yoruba
    GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR PROFOUND  KNOWLEDGE.
Posted: at 15-06-2017 11:00 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- slimmygal at 15-06-2017 11:42 AM (6 years ago)
hmmmmmm!!!!!!! did i hear this man right?
Posted: at 15-06-2017 11:42 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 15-06-2017 12:43 PM (6 years ago)
SEE HIS MOUTH..WETIN HE SABI... SOME ONE THAT RAN HIS COMPANIES TO THE GROUND... WE ALL KNOW, ITS THE YORUBAS...IGBO MAN NA BIZ MAN, HALF EDUCATED...
Posted: at 15-06-2017 12:43 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 15-06-2017 01:33 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Deltaboy1 on 15-06-2017 10:43 AM
Posted: at 15-06-2017 01:33 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 15-06-2017 01:38 PM (6 years ago)
yoruba is second in education, if u doubt me check which state leads in education in nigeria

Posted: at 15-06-2017 01:38 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mjyabah2 at 15-06-2017 08:51 PM (6 years ago)
I thought this man was a good statesman, but his perspective about IPOB is disjointed and unimaginable. Mr Bruce, u are not the only person who was alive during the Nigerian/Biafran war. That said, u are not the only person who knows the effect of war period. But the difference is clear, in the recent agitation, diplomacy is employed devoid of war mongering and confrontations, international community is involved to weigh in on the facts and consequential evidence, no coupe is plotted, the agitators are not physically attacking anybody and they are not asking for war. So recounting the effects of war is out of line in the IPOB agitation. Please get your facts straight. The Igbos have many educated people, the Igbo have many landed properties etc because of their hard work. Not because the govt favored and provided for them. The Igboman culture, if you do not know it, is primarily centered on "being your brothers keeper". Brother send brothers, sisters, cousins, nephews and in-laws to college just to build a stronger family. People sacrifice their meals to see that a family member does die of hunger. Igbos sell their lands to send cousins, relatives etc to school or trade. that is how the Igbos have been surviving in Nigeria. Please don't get it twisted.
Posted: at 15-06-2017 08:51 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osayan1 at 16-06-2017 04:00 AM (6 years ago)
so oga ben,dats what u have to say for d month of june,na yur palavaa be dat
Posted: at 16-06-2017 04:00 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 16-06-2017 07:25 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: chukkychukky on 15-06-2017 01:38 PM
yoruba is second in education, if u doubt me check which state leads in education in nigeria

CHECK WERE?
Posted: at 16-06-2017 07:25 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 16-06-2017 09:55 AM (6 years ago)
I'm not Yoruba but I don't know why Nigerians hate the truth. I bet you, you will see some Yoruba street sellers hustling just to pursue their education (apart from the new recruit, BBC has a lot of them - not by selling pepper thou) but an Igbo lady or guy could be in his/her final yr and drop Education just for some kind of business treasure they have no clue of the pros and cons but they are ever hastily ready to make such a careless and radical decision.
The Igbos might not be tagged LAZY but when it comes to schooling, the Yorubas value it more. That is the bitter truth
Posted: at 16-06-2017 09:55 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OmoAkin017 at 16-06-2017 12:22 PM (6 years ago)
Is yourba 
Posted: at 16-06-2017 12:22 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie