3000 Nigerian Catholics Protest Against Pope's Decision To Appoint An Unpopular Bishop (Photos)

Date: 02-07-2017 9:39 am (6 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 2-07-2017 09:39 AM (6 years ago)

There was tension yesterday at the Ahiara Catholic Diocese in Ahiazu Mbaise Council Area of Imo state as the planned public protest and procession by the laity council over the appointment of Peter Ebele Okpalaeke as the Bishop of the diocese was aborted by the heavy presence of armed policemen and other security agencies who were stationed at all strategic junctions leading to the diocese.

Over 3, 000 faithful of Ahiara Diocese of the Catholic Church converged on the Mater Ecclesiae cathedral, Mbaise in Imo State for a rally to restate their total rejection of the embattled Bishop Peter Ebele Okpaleke.

Okpaleke was anointed and consecrated bishop of the diocese by Pope Benedict XVI in 2012 but both the Laity Council and the priests in the diocese rejected his appointed on the grounds that he is not an indigene of the area, among other reasons.

The angry faithful of the diocese said they were only fighting alleged imposition of a bishop on the diocese and not the Catholic Pontiff.

The diocesan youths, who put on black attire, chanted solidarity songs to reaffirm their support for the position taken by the Ahiara Diocese clerics and the laity council’s to rejection of Okpaleke.

Other Catholic men and women who dressed in different church uniforms, also participated in the rally, which started with a rosary procession round the cathedral.

This was just as the Imo state Governor, Rochas Okorocha has appealed for calm, urging the priests and laity of the diocese to sheathe their swords.

Posted: at 2-07-2017 09:39 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- maizaxx at 2-07-2017 10:05 AM (6 years ago)
Tribal sentiments creeping into the church!
Very soon even traditional will come in
Posted: at 2-07-2017 10:05 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- euwilliams at 2-07-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago)
Politics in the Church? End time
Posted: at 2-07-2017 10:32 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blowout at 2-07-2017 10:57 AM (6 years ago)
Tribalism and nepotism in the Catholic and Anglican churches in Nigeria is legendary. The Anglican Church has also been known to forcefully reject priests and bishops based on tribe. Huh?
Posted: at 2-07-2017 10:57 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ostaino1 at 2-07-2017 11:56 AM (6 years ago)
Foolish and ignorant people who do not know the norms of the church. The highest blame should go to the priests who are using these people for their political intentions.     You are not and cannot be a true Catholic when you cannot obey the wishes and commands of a pope.     That is the reason for the adage "Since Imo people started to be priests, priesthood has been ruined"
Posted: at 2-07-2017 11:56 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Mojoh at 2-07-2017 01:21 PM (6 years ago)
Unification of Biafrans indeed!
Posted: at 2-07-2017 01:21 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 2-07-2017 01:55 PM (6 years ago)
create una own pope and stop looking on to those white devil
Posted: at 2-07-2017 01:55 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- mjyabah2 at 2-07-2017 01:59 PM (6 years ago)
@Mojoh: This issue has nothing to do with Biafra, please. It will be recalled that such nepotism started with the Vatican city. Ask yourself, how many African Bishops/Cardinals have been appointed Popes? We have always had many African Bishops and Cardinals at the Vatican City? However, I do not condone this act of rejecting or choosing a homegrown priest and favoritism over any priestly postings. How could the Catholic church be called one family of God if any community would reject a bishop based on village of origin. Mbaise and Christianity has been questionable anyways, but this is the height of it all.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 01:59 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 2-07-2017 03:55 PM (6 years ago)
Seen.

Posted: at 2-07-2017 03:55 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osayan1 at 2-07-2017 05:26 PM (6 years ago)
it is well
Posted: at 2-07-2017 05:26 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 2-07-2017 05:51 PM (6 years ago)
God help d church
Posted: at 2-07-2017 05:51 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- olowoinlionsden at 2-07-2017 06:21 PM (6 years ago)
The Pope is normally chosen at a vote by the College of Cardinals. Nigerian Cardinals like Okojie, Onaiyekan, etc have participated in such elections. In other words, the more the number of cardinals tilting to the side of a particular Cardinal ensures the common choice. Hmmm, if St Peter were a Nigerian, perhaps we would never have a Nigerian Bishop of the Catholic Faith.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 06:21 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 2-07-2017 10:26 PM (6 years ago)
Illuminati dun spoil Catholic Church since.. Vatican belongs to the devil,Pope belongs to the devil's and does what the devil asks him to do.. The damage done so far can not be undone.. Imagine worshiping images that are not what we think they are.. All images in Catholic Church including the so called holy mary are all Illuminati gods all rebranded and given holy names .. History has it all.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 10:26 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- olowoinlionsden at 2-07-2017 11:06 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: james987 on  2-07-2017 10:26 PM
Illuminati dun spoil Catholic Church since.. Vatican belongs to the devil,Pope belongs to the devil's and does what the devil asks him to do.. The damage done so far can not be undone.. Imagine worshiping images that are not what we think they are.. All images in Catholic Church including the so called holy mary are all Illuminati gods all rebranded and given holy names .. History has it all.
.   The Catholic don't agree with you that they worship Images, especially, Mary Mother of God. Those images almost do the same thing as when we display the pictures of our loved ones who have departed from us. In the case of the Catholic, those images 
Aid concentration in the moment of meditation.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 11:06 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 3-07-2017 02:56 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: olowoinlionsden on  2-07-2017 11:06 PM
.   The Catholic don't agree with you that they worship Images, especially, Mary Mother of God. Those images almost do the same thing as when we display the pictures of our loved ones who have departed from us. In the case of the Catholic, those images 
Aid concentration in the moment of meditation.
ational Version
"You shall not make for yourself an image in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. Exodus 20:4.. Do the Catholics use a different bible from others churches? Or the never read the bible to Exodus.. People chose to be deceived that's it
Posted: at 3-07-2017 02:56 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- enanglaw at 3-07-2017 06:39 AM (6 years ago)
Though, Politics in the Church is a known issue in Nigerian Churches. You may agree or disagree.  but  at your spare time, read John 3:14.  The serpent Moses raised in the desert, I guess it was an Image. please educate me if he raised the image before the ten commandment.
Posted: at 3-07-2017 06:39 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- olowoinlionsden at 3-07-2017 08:51 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: enanglaw on  3-07-2017 06:39 AM
Though, Politics in the Church is a known issue in Nigerian Churches. You may agree or disagree.  but  at your spare time, read John 3:14.  The serpent Moses raised in the desert, I guess it was an Image. please educate me if he raised the image before the ten commandment. The image of the serpent was raised early in the journey of the Israelites when many of them were bitten by those.snakes in the wilderness. It was a direct command of God passed to Moses to do that, and it was meant to strengthen the Faith of the Israelites in God. The further strengthing of Faith was further demonstrated when Moses by the instruction of God caused water to come out of Rock at Meribah. However, the Tablets of the  Ten Commandments were given to Moses on Mount Sinai towards the end of the journey. Just as Moses raised the serpent in the Wilderness, Our Lord Jesus Christ was also raised on the Cross, and as we look forward to Him on that raised Cross, our Faith is strengthened. May you be blessed.
Posted: at 3-07-2017 08:51 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 3-07-2017 12:43 PM (6 years ago)
SEEN..NOT MY BIZ
Posted: at 3-07-2017 12:43 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 3-07-2017 07:03 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: enanglaw on  3-07-2017 06:39 AM
Though, Politics in the Church is a known issue in Nigerian Churches. You may agree or disagree.  but  at your spare time, read John 3:14.  The serpent Moses raised in the desert, I guess it was an Image. please educate me if he raised the image before the ten commandment.
The image was temporary and not permanent and also God never asked them to worship the image rather he wanted to test their obidence by asking the to look up to the image. He never said "worship" or pray to the image. I think it's clear now.
Posted: at 3-07-2017 07:03 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- tegonwa at 9-07-2017 09:31 PM (6 years ago)
Hypocrites...Too hopeless!
Posted: at 9-07-2017 09:31 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac