27yrs Old Nigerian, Lanre Animasaun Jailed In The US For Internet Fraud Ordered To Pay $930m - Photo

Date: 11-07-2017 7:34 am (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 11-07-2017 07:34 AM (6 years ago)

A Nigerian, Fawaz Olanrewaju Animasaun, 27, will spend the next two years in jail for defrauding East Texans and others out of nearly $1 million.

Animasaun, is one of two persons named in a federal indictment for charges of aggravated identity theft and conspiracy to commit bank fraud, as well as aiding and abetting He was traveling to the U.S. from Ghana, by way of Amsterdam, when he was arrested at the airport in New York in November last year. Under a plea agreement finalized in May, Animasaun is serving three years in prison on the conspiracy charge.

He is ordered to pay $930,737.60 in restitution to three financial companies. Animasaun and his alleged accomplice Idowu Temitope Omolade, also from Nigeria, are believed to be involved in at least 21 fraudulent wire transfers between April and August of 2012. And that may not be all.

They allegedly impersonated actual account holders in emails exchanged with banking and financial services personnel, harvested details about the target accounts, including account balances, and obtained wire transfer instructions. .

With those details, the suspects were then able to initiate a wire transfer without the account holder’s knowledge or authorization. The indictment said that the money was moved through a series of accounts using “money mules,” or people who may or may not have known they were assisting in the transfer.

Financial institutions affected include Wells Fargo, UMB Bank, UMB Financial Corporation, Northern Trust and Northern Trust Corporation.

He could have received up to 30 years in prison for each count of the indictment. The indictment states that Animasaun kept Omolade informed of the progress, and told him when to expect specific wire transfers.

Omolade is not listed as a federal inmate, and there is no record of an arrest. Aliases listed in the indictment include “Michael Chernick” and “CLICKIDONLINE.” Animasaun is listed in the indictment with four aliases, including “Larry Hoover” and “Slim Husstle Olanraywaju.”

Posted: at 11-07-2017 07:34 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- euwilliams at 11-07-2017 07:42 AM (6 years ago)
Nigerian man again?
Posted: at 11-07-2017 07:42 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Keffejude at 11-07-2017 07:45 AM (6 years ago)
he must HV been a billionaire lol. but y didn't d CIA, interpol or fbi/ black ops recruit him? d amount is outrageous thou even corrupt world leaders HV never been sentenced like dis
Posted: at 11-07-2017 07:45 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ficull at 11-07-2017 07:45 AM (6 years ago)
Haba poster... ordered to pay $930m?Huh???   Your eye dey chook ooo.
The article says 930k in restitution.
Posted: at 11-07-2017 07:45 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 11-07-2017 07:50 AM (6 years ago)
you don chop am finish!!
Posted: at 11-07-2017 07:50 AM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- freethinker at 11-07-2017 08:39 AM (6 years ago)
27 YRS OLD NIGERIA, NOT YORUBA
IF NA IGBO MAN NOW U GO OPEN UR GUTTER AND SAY IT IN FULL
Posted: at 11-07-2017 08:39 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 11-07-2017 08:55 AM (6 years ago)
POSTER... NA WA FOR U OOOO... $930M Kwa....??
Posted: at 11-07-2017 08:55 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 11-07-2017 09:00 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: freethinker on 11-07-2017 08:39 AM
27 YRS OLD NIGERIA, NOT YORUBA
IF NA IGBO MAN NOW U GO OPEN UR GUTTER AND SAY IT IN FULL

YOU SEE WHY I SAY YOUR BRAIN'S MANUAL IS LOST... NO ONE ON HERE GAVE A phyuk ABOUT WHATEVER AN INDIVIDUAL OR INDIVIDUALS FROM OTHER TRIBES DID, THAT PEOPLE ON HERE STARTED BASHING IGBOS IS CAUSE OF YOUR HATE AND BIGOTRY, YOU AND THAT OTHER ASHEWO CALLED SANDRA AND THE REST FOOLS THAT FOLLOWED SUIT, YOU EMPTY SKULLS WITHOUT ANY MORAL UPBRINGING.... YOU FOOLS THAT I WISH COULD VANISH FROM THE SURFACE OF THIS EARTH, phyukING BIGOTS, GO GET A LIFE OR GO FIND THE MANUAL FOR THAT YOUR EMPTY BRAIN.... MOFO....
Posted: at 11-07-2017 09:00 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 11-07-2017 09:17 AM (6 years ago)
Animasaun Or Animal?A Yoruba Animal Plying His Criminal Trade Outside The Shores Of Nigeria.Too Hopeless.Animalistically Hopeless!
Posted: at 11-07-2017 09:17 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 11-07-2017 09:19 AM (6 years ago)
Animasaun Or Animal?A Yoruba 'gentleman' Plying His Criminal Trade Outside The Shores Of Nigeria.Too Hopeless.Animalistically Hopeless!
Posted: at 11-07-2017 09:19 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bebold at 11-07-2017 01:50 PM (6 years ago)
Please make the jail term 82 years so before he comes out he will be dead or too old to walk
Posted: at 11-07-2017 01:50 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jjiofor at 11-07-2017 03:10 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Haso112 on 11-07-2017 09:00 AM
YOU SEE WHY I SAY YOUR BRAIN'S MANUAL IS LOST... NO ONE ON HERE GAVE A phyuk ABOUT WHATEVER AN INDIVIDUAL OR INDIVIDUALS FROM OTHER TRIBES DID, THAT PEOPLE ON HERE STARTED BASHING IGBOS IS CAUSE OF YOUR HATE AND BIGOTRY, YOU AND THAT OTHER ASHEWO CALLED SANDRA AND THE REST FOOLS THAT FOLLOWED SUIT, YOU EMPTY SKULLS WITHOUT ANY MORAL UPBRINGING.... YOU FOOLS THAT I WISH COULD VANISH FROM THE SURFACE OF THIS EARTH, phyukING BIGOTS, GO GET A LIFE OR GO FIND THE MANUAL FOR THAT YOUR EMPTY BRAIN.... MOFO....

Not true, I have been reading news on this site for years and there has been a lot of tribal bigots on this site that have come and gone, some times I wonder where we are going in this country, we accuse the white man of racism yet we can not tolerate one another based on tribe. Our leaders are guilty and a lot of youths are worst---- The youths that are supposed to correct the ills of the past. All this tribal bad mouthing only just shows how mentally low, insane and frustrated people are in this country.
Just see what tribal sentiments from a President has caused us since 2015 - we are just moving backwards in geometric proportion, meanwhile see how much we try to recover whenever Osibanjo is on the saddle despite all the frustrations the cabal put before him. Osibanjo is a yoruba man but have you heard any other tribe complain or notice that he is not from their tribe or would not protect their interest?Huh?------Food for thought.
Posted: at 11-07-2017 03:10 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- osayan1 at 12-07-2017 02:04 AM (6 years ago)
ybnl
Posted: at 12-07-2017 02:04 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 12-07-2017 05:03 PM (6 years ago)
CRIME DOES NOT PAY
Posted: at 12-07-2017 05:03 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-07-2017 07:47 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 26-07-2017 07:47 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero