BLOODY SUNDAY! Gunmen Attack Another Church In Anambra State, Kill Policeman & 2 Others (Photos)

Date: 13-08-2017 4:30 pm (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 13-08-2017 04:30 PM (6 years ago)

Gunmen on Sunday struck at the Assemblies of God Church on the Oguta road Onitsha, Anambra State killing one policeman and a civilian.

This is coming seven days after gunmen attacked St Philips Catholic Church, Ozubulu and killed no fewer than 13 persons and injured 27.

An eyewitness account told PUNCH that the gunmen had momentarily stopped at the Assemblies of God Church, but on sighting some policemen at the church, opened fire on them.

“When the firing became too hot, the policemen abandoned their patrol vehicle and ran away for safety.
“The gunmen moved to their patrol van and took a gun belonging to the policeman they killed.
“I saw two of the gunmen but I can’t say how many they are in number
Another eyewitness said,

“Gunmen on Okada (motorcycle) shot a policeman and collected his rifle. They also shot dead an Okada man while escaping, and the passenger he was carrying was injured. The policeman was the one armed among his colleagues; they were providing security while church service was going on at Assemblies of God Church, Oguta road Onitsha.
The Anambra State Commissioner of Police, Mr Garba Umar confirmed the incident to journalists.

He said it was not an attack on the church, adding

“My men were on patrol near the church when they were attacked by some gunmen. It was not an attack on the church, in the real sense of it”.
The commissioner confirmed that the hoodlums took away a rifle belonging to the slain cop.

The Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige had on Saturday said the Federal Government would work out modalities on how to secure places of worship in the country.

Leading a federal government delegation to commiserate with the people of Anambra State on the Ozubulu shooting, Ngige said that had become expedient following incessant attacks on places of worship.

Posted: at 13-08-2017 04:30 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Starnixx at 13-08-2017 04:36 PM (6 years ago)
may God help the soul of the innocent
Posted: at 13-08-2017 04:36 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 13-08-2017 05:23 PM (6 years ago)
Na wa ooo
Posted: at 13-08-2017 05:23 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 13-08-2017 05:48 PM (6 years ago)
Terrible.

Murder has been bought into the HOUSE OF GOD.

Mr Garba, the Anambra State Commissioner of Police, should really LEARN when to TALK and when NOT to TALK to journalists with his OWN conclusions. How does he KNOW it was NOT an on the church " in that sense?"

Mr Garba should tell the JOURNALISTS that it is an ONGOING INVESTIGATION and start looking for the MURDERERS.

POLICING in NIGERIA is PRIMITIVE.

I suppose they will HEAP the bodies of the DEAD like ROTTEN MEAT on a TRUCK, like they did in OZUBULU,  without any FORENSIC INVESTIGATION. DENYING the dead DIGNITY even in DEATH.

IT is FORBIDDEN to invade or bring VIOLENCE into a shrine DEDICATED to the GREAT GOD, CHUKWU, which is indeed what the church is.

Of course the NIGERIA POLICEMEN ran away for SAFETY.

PEOPLE who join the Nigeria Police are RECRUITED from the POORLY EDUCATED who see the job NOT as a CRIME  DETECTION ORGANIZATION but as a way to MAKE EXTRA MONEY - known as BRIBE.

The people INVADING OUR CHURCHES realise the COWARDICE of "SECURITY FORCES" and use that to get what they want.

NIGERIA has to START to live in the 21st century - and FAST!

Posted: at 13-08-2017 05:48 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 13-08-2017 05:50 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 13-08-2017 05:48 PM
Terrible.

Mr Garba, the Anambra State Commissioner of Police, should really LEARN when to TALK and when NOT to TALK to journalists with his OWN conclusions. How does he KNOW it was NOT an ATTACK on the church " in that sense?"

Mr Garba should tell the JOURNALISTS that it is an ONGOING INVESTIGATION and start looking for the MURDERERS.

I suppose they will HEAP the bodies of the DEAD like ROTTEN MEAT on a TRUCK, like they did in OZUBULU,  without any FORENSIC INVESTIGATION. DENYING the dead DIGNITY even in DEATH.

IT is FORBIDDEN to invade or bring VIOLENCE into a shrine DEDICATED to the GREAT GOD, CHUKWU, which is indeed what the church is.

PEOPLE who join the Nigeria Police are RECRUITED from the POORLY EDUCATED who see the job NOT as a CRIME  DETECTION ORGANIZATION but as a way to MAKE EXTRA MONEY - known as BRIBE.

The people INVADING OUR CHURCHES realise the COWARDICE of "SECURITY FORCES" and use that to get what they want.

Posted: at 13-08-2017 05:50 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 13-08-2017 05:50 PM (6 years ago)
That's so bad,rip to d dead.that zoological republic has turned to something else
Posted: at 13-08-2017 05:50 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 13-08-2017 06:39 PM (6 years ago)
God have mercy

Could this be a return match?

Or just a different matter on its own.

Posted: at 13-08-2017 06:39 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 13-08-2017 06:56 PM (6 years ago)
The minister of internal affairs dambazu or whatever he is called should resign with immediate effect,there is so much insecurity in d country now,I want those that are support this useless man called zoohari,to tell him to remove these incompetent ministers that are idle like him.everyday people are dying in large numbers in d zoo.
Posted: at 13-08-2017 06:56 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 13-08-2017 07:23 PM (6 years ago)
I Feel For This Murdered Policeman.Oh God Why?He Offended No One!He Died Guarding Your People.Please Rest His Soul In Paradise.Amen.Nawaa For Nigeria.Nawaa O!
Posted: at 13-08-2017 07:23 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 13-08-2017 07:45 PM (6 years ago)
they didn't attack the church...they came for the policemen's rifles
Posted: at 13-08-2017 07:45 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Patrioti at 13-08-2017 08:23 PM (6 years ago)
It is clear  now that the Ozubulu terrorist attack has nothing to do with a feuding drug barons from SA. These are Boko Haram sponsored by northern elites to commit a Soft attacks on Igbos to know their reactions before carrying a very big attacks. We have to take action against Hausa / Fulani before it is too late.
Posted: at 13-08-2017 08:23 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- willyking at 13-08-2017 09:16 PM (6 years ago)
Bok0 haram already in  IBO land..it as started I just hope the end comes..
Posted: at 13-08-2017 09:16 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mo2014 at 13-08-2017 09:43 PM (6 years ago)
Why only in Anambra  State Gunmen  Gunmen Gunmen Pls stop this act if not if not....
Posted: at 13-08-2017 09:43 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- dareper at 13-08-2017 11:11 PM (6 years ago)
no, not again.
Posted: at 13-08-2017 11:11 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Patrioti at 13-08-2017 11:52 PM (6 years ago)
Maybe people are not getting whats happening.  It seems that Igbos are forgotten that Anambra State is the Capital of Ndi Igbo and a de facto Capital of Biafra so whatever that is happening now is well planned by the Northerners to start their terrorism from Igbo heartland.  But let me warn this stupid Fulani Commissioner Garba  who always be quick to defend his kingsmen: Any more terrorist act in any part of Biafra  territory,  we retaliate by  turning Kaduna and Kano States into rubble.
Posted: at 13-08-2017 11:52 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- kagawas at 14-08-2017 06:13 AM (6 years ago)
We look unto you, Oh Lord. Thy will be done
Posted: at 14-08-2017 06:13 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- tuscanT at 14-08-2017 08:03 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: tegonwa on 13-08-2017 07:23 PM
I Feel For This Murdered Policeman.Oh God Why?He Offended No One!He Died Guarding Your People.Please Rest His Soul In Paradise.Amen.Nawaa For Nigeria.Nawaa O!
pls don't feel for any police man because the rate of crime in the Country is a result of their greed. They failed to carry out their duties which they are paid for, because of bribe, self interest and shortermism. Police are happy to collect 20 naira than to check what is in the boat of a car. We should stop talking about heaven and let face the reality on earth. I believe in karma it always bit back your all need to start thinking
Posted: at 14-08-2017 08:03 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Zaki68 at 14-08-2017 08:23 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 13-08-2017 05:48 PM
Terrible.

Mr Garba, the Anambra State Commissioner of Police, should really LEARN when to TALK and when NOT to TALK to journalists with his OWN conclusions. How does he KNOW it was NOT an on the church " in that sense?"

Support for a state of Biafra? No, sir, and I say this with all emphasis in my command and with all the energy at my disposal. I have my reasons. One, South-East is too small for Igbo enterprise. Two, diversity should be a big plus in Nigeria and not a minus. We are better united with justice, equity and fair play. Three, Igbo have invested heavily in the 'project Nigeria' so much so that throwing away their monumental investments for the sake of a small Biafra is tantamount to committing political, economic and social suicide. Four, all Nigerians have paid the price of the unity of this country with millions of souls (lost) between 1966 and 1970. Therefore, we must work hard to remain one nation - for one destiny and one God. Five, given the history of Igbo and their republican attitude, I do not think we can manage one another in Biafra. Biafra may turn out to be another South Sudan because of leadership tussle and struggle for power and positions. Six, Biafra is landlocked. Seven, Nigeria provides a big space for Igbo to operate. I can go on and on to give you 10 reasons but time and space will not permit me.

Posted: at 14-08-2017 08:23 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruthie at 14-08-2017 09:19 AM (6 years ago)
ANAMBRA AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 14-08-2017 09:19 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- GIFTEHI at 14-08-2017 09:57 AM (6 years ago)
NAWAOOOO GOD HAVE MERCY ON US Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 14-08-2017 09:57 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming