ARSENE WENGER READY TO SPEND!! !! !!

Date: 08-04-2010 1:27 am (14 years ago) | Author: Sheenor
- at 8-04-2010 01:27 AM (14 years ago)
Arsene Wenger has admitted he will need to strengthen his side if they want to challenge for honours.

The Arsenal boss saw his young side taken apart by a Lionel Messi inspired Barcelona on Tuesday.

The Gunners went ahead at Camp Nou as Nicklas Bendtdner made it 3-2 on aggregate and gave them some hope of making it into the last four of the Champions League.

But within minutes Messi had equalised and he helped himself to another three as the match ended in a rout.

And Wenger, a huge fan of cultivating his own talent, concedes he will need to invest in the future if the Gunners are to progress.

"We have to add something, for sure, but we have some time to think about that," admitted Wenger.

"We are at a stage where we're developing players.

"[Theo] Walcott is 22; [Nicklas] Bendtner is 22; [Samir] Nasri, [Abou] Diaby and Denilson are 22 or 23. They've shown some great qualities and they'll get stronger every year.

"We were very young and what we did was very positive. We had six or seven players under 23 in the team and we had plenty of opportunities. We showed we lacked maturity in the weight of the final ball."

Wenger refused to be drawn on immediate targets, instead looking ahead to their Premier League clash with arch-rivals Tottenham next week.

"The priority now is to recover from the game," he said.

"We have played quite well, with a lot of character as ever, but we made a few too many mistakes.

"The match forces you straight away to focus because you know it's going to be a derby.

"Yes, of course, you worry about the team's needing lifting. We have to recover quickly because we cannot drop any more points to have a chance to fight for the Premier League. That's why we have to recover and focus completely on the Premier League now."

Wenger admits his side were almost helpless to prevent Messi from torturing his young guns.

"He is like a PlayStation player," Wenger said.

"He can take advantage of every mistake you make. He can make a difference at any moment.

"The defeat is difficult to handle because when you go out of the Champions League, the next day you are in front of a very empty future.

"Our dreams are involved in that but you have to address the disappointment and make sure you're ready for the next game.

"It's difficult to know how much we missed [the injured captain] Cesc Fabregas. We missed seven or eight players but I'd love to have had Fabregas."

Posted: at 8-04-2010 01:27 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Sheenor at 8-04-2010 01:28 AM (14 years ago)
na today?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?

Posted: at 8-04-2010 01:28 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- radicle at 9-04-2010 05:24 PM (14 years ago)
ARSENE WENGER YOU KNOW HIS IS A BOXER IS HAND ARE ALWAYS CLOSED HOW DO EXPECT A BOXER TO OPEN HIS HAND TO BUY REAL AN NEEDED PLAYERS I THOUGHT HE WAS A COACH THAT TRAIN SMALL PLAYERS TO BE BIG LET HIM TRAIN THE ONES HE HAS OR ARE THEY NOT ENOUGH AGAIN OR HAS HE LOST HIS TECHNIQUES
Posted: at 9-04-2010 05:24 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- vantheo at 9-04-2010 07:20 PM (14 years ago)
Dat stingy man! Him no go spend shi shi

Posted: at 9-04-2010 07:20 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- megafather1 at 9-04-2010 07:39 PM (14 years ago)
what is even wrong with that man? is it his money he is going to use or the clubs money?...he keeps on saying he will by quality players,but he ends up baying babiesIF he doesnt buy players this season,am afraid arsenal will never win any trophy.
Posted: at 9-04-2010 07:39 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elusakin at 14-04-2010 07:31 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: radicle on  9-04-2010 05:24 PM
ARSENE WENGER YOU KNOW HIS IS A BOXER IS HAND ARE ALWAYS CLOSED HOW DO EXPECT A BOXER TO OPEN HIS HAND TO BUY REAL AN NEEDED PLAYERS I THOUGHT HE WAS A COACH THAT TRAIN SMALL PLAYERS TO BE BIG LET HIM TRAIN THE ONES HE HAS OR ARE THEY NOT ENOUGH AGAIN OR HAS HE LOST HIS TECHNIQUES

Despite the fact that Real Madrid bought all the players of this world, what's their position in La Liga and did they win the Champion's League? How many goals did they score? How many did Arsenal score?

You guys just dey shout 'buy players' like that's what wins trophies.
Posted: at 14-04-2010 07:31 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- prince316 at 14-04-2010 08:38 AM (14 years ago)
am not Arsenal fas,  but i think the players are good just that they lost to barca... Real Madrid with all their big names and players the lost to barca in their home...... INTER MILAN  for life
Posted: at 14-04-2010 08:38 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solid_solid at 14-04-2010 07:31 PM (14 years ago)
untill his kingdom comes.......... he will never buy any quelity  prayer....

he dey even price me self make i dey play defencive mildfield
Posted: at 14-04-2010 07:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dally007 at 14-04-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago)
Wenger dont spend like some  thoughtless managers
he only buy quality players.
Afterall spending millions  of money is never an easy way
or guarantee for success.
Posted: at 14-04-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dally007 at 14-04-2010 10:49 PM (14 years ago)
Wenger dont spend like some  thoughtless managers
he only buy quality players.
Afterall spending millions  of money is never an easy way
or guarantee for success.
Posted: at 14-04-2010 10:49 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

7. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

8. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria