'I Cannot Be Part Of An Exercise I Didn’t Endorse' Say Olubadan As He Slams Gov. Ajimobi

Date: 28-08-2017 2:24 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 28-08-2017 02:24 PM (6 years ago)

The end is not yet in sight to the elevation of high and senior‎ Ibadan chiefs to the position of Obas as the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Saliu Adetunji has distanced himself from the exercise.
‎According to monarch, whose birthday is today, he is not in support of the proposed coronation of new Obas by Governor Abiola Ajimobi.
Yesterday, the government had in line with its review of the Olubadan Chieftaincy Declaration, presented certificates confering obaship to 21 High Chiefs and Baales, making them “His Royal Majesty” and “His Royal Highness”, leaving the Olubadan with “His Imperial Majesty” title.
The government also fixed tomorrow, Sunday 27th August, 2017, for ‎coronation of the new monarch at Mapo Hall, Ibadan.
Saying that he would not attend the event ‎as he is being invited as ‘Father of the Day’, he reiterated his opposition to the chieftaincy review.
In statement signed by his media aide, Adeola Oloko, the Olubadan said: “I have said it for the umpteenth time that I am opposed to the chieftaincy review and its recommendations as the process for such exercise has not been followed. Therefore, I cannot see how, as being advertised in some media houses I could possibly play a fatherly role in an exercise that I have not endorsed?
“Besides, as the father of Ibadan indigenes irrespective of political and ideological persuasion, I cannot attend an occasion where local government executives of one political party have been sending text messages to the party members in Ibadan land to mobilise for the event as if it is a political rally.
“So, as the prescribed and appointing authority on Ibadan Chieftaincy matters, I consider, until otherwise reversed, that any conferment of crowns on anybody is an exercise in futility. More so, it is going to be contemptuous for anybody to attend that programme as there are two suits that are yet to be determined before the court.
“Also, where is the humanity of the organizers of this programme when Ibadan land is still mourning the passage of the Otun Balogun, High Chief Dr. Femi Olaifa, who was one of them until Thursday 24th August?”.

Posted: at 28-08-2017 02:24 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 28-08-2017 02:30 PM (6 years ago)
u talk well
Posted: at 28-08-2017 02:30 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- pricklong at 28-08-2017 02:47 PM (6 years ago)
I WILL SOON BE BACK
Posted: at 28-08-2017 02:47 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- adexkay at 28-08-2017 03:57 PM (6 years ago)
Strange world, wicked world.
Posted: at 28-08-2017 03:57 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- ruthie at 28-08-2017 05:28 PM (6 years ago)
seen
Posted: at 28-08-2017 05:28 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- tegonwa at 29-08-2017 04:49 AM (6 years ago)
Na Which Kain Wahala Governor Ajimobi Dey Try Cause Nah?Kai Nawaa O!
Posted: at 29-08-2017 04:49 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac