Pres. Buhari Meets With Traditional Rulers, Laments Over Governors Misuse Of Paris Club Refund -PICS

Date: 11-09-2017 9:40 pm (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 11-09-2017 09:40 PM (6 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari meeting with members of the National Council of Traditional Rulers on Monday lamented the way some state governors spent the Paris Club Refund.

The Federal Government had on May 4 released details of the second tranche of Paris Club refund to Statestotalingg N243.795 billion.

The refund is in respect of over-deductions on Paris Club, London Club Loans and Multilateral debts between 1995-2002.

The President, who met with the traditional rulers at the new Banquet hall, Presidential Villa, Abuja frowned at the inability of the affected state governments to pay the retirement benefits and outstanding salaries of workers with the payment of the refund.

“We have to digress this much because I would like to convince you that I’m living with the problems of this country day-by-day, and mostly those of the ordinary people.

“There are Nigerians that haven’t been paid for six months; there are Nigerians that have not been paid their retirement benefits for years.

“I’m appealing to the governors, (that was why we voted money, we borrowed money), please make sure anybody under you, pay them because most of them depend on that salary to pay rent, school fees,’’ he said.

He pledged that his administration would continue to do its best in executing developmental projects to uplift the standard of living of all Nigerians irrespective of their geo-political backgrounds.

The President noted with delight that the country would be witnessing bumper harvest across the country, this year.

He said the bumper harvest was as a result of the prayers of Nigerians which was graciously answered by God.

“We are lucky, last year and this year, the rainy season was good. If it were not good, I’m confiding in you, which country shall I run to? But God answered the prayers of most Nigerians.

“The rainy season last year was good, this year, from the reports I’m getting, it is good. We thank God for that, only God can do that for us otherwise there would have been lot of problems in this country.

President Buhari thanked the traditional rulers for their continued prayers and support to the government and urged them not to relent in efforts toward ensuring peace and stability in their respective domains.

He enjoined them to continue to educate their people on the need to ensure the continued survival of Nigeria as a geo-political entity.

Earlier in his remarks, the Sultan of Sokoto, Sa’ad Abubakar, said the traditional rulers were in the Presidential Villa to wish the President and the country well and to express their unflinching support for the administration.

He, however, challenged the President to tight up his belt in the discharge of his responsibilities for the betterment of the country.

The Sultan reassured that the traditional rulers would continue to pray for the good health of the president as well as peace and prosperity of the country.

The Sultan also expressed the willingness of the traditional rulers to continue to partner with the government in the fight against corruption and other social vices in the country.

The six traditional rulers, one from each geo-political zone of the country, spoke at the occasion where they reassured the support of their zones for the Buhari administration as well as the continued existence of Nigeria as one country.

The Lamido of Adamawa, Barkindo Mustapha, who spoke on behalf of the North-East traditional rulers, also offered special prayer for God to continue to give the President good health to enable him deliver on his promises to Nigerians.

See photos from the meeting below:

Posted: at 11-09-2017 09:40 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Floyd29 at 11-09-2017 09:49 PM (6 years ago)
We are watching
Posted: at 11-09-2017 09:49 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 11-09-2017 09:51 PM (6 years ago)
BUHARI 1!!!!!
Posted: at 11-09-2017 09:51 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- tegonwa at 11-09-2017 10:40 PM (6 years ago)
This President Buhari Even Looks More Handsome And Healthier Than Ever.Nawaa O!
Posted: at 11-09-2017 10:40 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OkeEyitayo at 11-09-2017 10:54 PM (6 years ago)
our leaders are after their pocket
Posted: at 11-09-2017 10:54 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayveetee at 11-09-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago)
After we go dey blame Buhari, what did the Governors do with those money.
Posted: at 11-09-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kayveetee at 11-09-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago)
After we go dey blame Buhari, what did those Governors do with those money.
Posted: at 11-09-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yesemichael at 11-09-2017 11:34 PM (6 years ago)
I tell u my brother...
Posted: at 11-09-2017 11:34 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Yesemichael at 11-09-2017 11:36 PM (6 years ago)
na these governors be our issue
Posted: at 11-09-2017 11:36 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Oworen25 at 11-09-2017 11:40 PM (6 years ago)
Carry on your work sir
Posted: at 11-09-2017 11:40 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- ejikeiyo at 12-09-2017 12:14 AM (6 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 12-09-2017 12:14 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abrakata at 12-09-2017 07:09 AM (6 years ago)
No one with same mind would vote APC come 2019. Nigeria is fast becoming aligned with hardship, what an administration, shame to APC
Posted: at 12-09-2017 07:09 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Novic at 12-09-2017 07:13 AM (6 years ago)
And some useless people we said it was buhari that was affecting this country.
Posted: at 12-09-2017 07:13 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- willyking at 12-09-2017 08:22 AM (6 years ago)
Mr fight cuorroption what are u now doing in that seat since u can forcefully dealt with those governors who are now keeping the money met to pay workers and the poor masses, now i can see that ur so called cuorroption  have finally destroy u...useless president ole buruku pretender
Posted: at 12-09-2017 08:22 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 12-09-2017 09:45 AM (6 years ago)
these governors are evil o...monies for workers have been used for their personal gains!!!
Posted: at 12-09-2017 09:45 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 16-09-2017 04:46 AM (6 years ago)
Please please hold on, why e be say everywhere I take even when I wan hide yawa dey there?
Why why?
Na yawa life, yawa goes on
Posted: at 16-09-2017 04:46 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 17-09-2017 11:32 PM (6 years ago)
This one no concern me at all oh
Posted: at 17-09-2017 11:32 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 22-09-2017 02:34 PM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 22-09-2017 02:34 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 24-09-2017 04:38 PM (6 years ago)
This is serious ooooo..... make I just dey waka pass..... abeg I dey waka pass, I will come and comment later.
This one weak me ooooo, well life must goes on.
I dey waka come bare
Posted: at 24-09-2017 04:38 PM (6 years ago) | Hero

1. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

2. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

3. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

4. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

5. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

6. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office