Outrage As Ugandan MP Says 'As A Man, You Need To Beat Your Wife' In This Video

Date: 14-03-2018 10:45 am (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 14-03-2018 10:45 AM (6 years ago)

A Ugandan MP has been told to apologise to victims of domestic violence after saying men should "beat" their wives, BBC Africa reports.
Onesimus Twinamasiko said on Ugandan television channel NTV "as a man, you need to discipline your wife. "You need to touch her a bit, you tackle her, beat her somehow to really streamline her."
His words have met with strong criticism from social media users, with one leading women's rights group in Uganda saying he should seek therapy.
"Mr Twinamasiko should make a public apology to all women who have experienced violence," Diana Kagere of the Center for Domestic Violence Prevention (CEDOVIP) told the BBC.
"He should do the honourable thing and withdraw that statement. It's really a shock that a member of parliament would justify violence in any way. This is about crime."

More than one in five women aged 15-49 have experienced domestic or segxwal violence in Uganda, according to a government report published last year.
Social media users were quick to react to a short clip circulating online, originally shared by an NTV journalist:
While some people backed Mr Twinamasiko's comments, many others used the hashtag #OnesmusTwinamasikoMustResign:
In an interview with BBC Focus on Africa, Mr Twinamasiko attempted to clarify his comments with reference to his own marriage, saying:
"I don't mean beatings which cause injuries or death - but a slap - I would feel fine! Because it's calling me to order. We would sit down and sort it out.
"I was slapped once by my wife and it was OK with me, because we sorted out our differences. I also slapped her once. She had wronged me."

But Ms Kagere said that Mr Twinamasiko's attitude was damaging. "We believe there is no violent solution whatsoever. You never know how far a slap can go."
She says there are other ways to resolve conflict, including "time out, speaking out and finding amicable solutions. As a couple they can go for couple's counselling," Ms Kagere says regarding the violence the MP describes in his own marriage.
"Many men... their own inner pride stops them from seeking our services, but we want to encourage them that it's OK to reach out for support in this matter.
"But the fact is that it is usually the man [who is the one] with power and authority who beats his wife."

She added that MPs like Mr Twinamasiko were the "key bottlenecks" preventing changes to marriage and divorce laws in Uganda.

Posted: at 14-03-2018 10:45 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 14-03-2018 11:00 AM (6 years ago)
Africa is cursed
Posted: at 14-03-2018 11:00 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 14-03-2018 11:11 AM (6 years ago)
I only beat my wives in bed
Posted: at 14-03-2018 11:11 AM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- cypanyahucha at 14-03-2018 01:49 PM (6 years ago)
Useless megalomanics
Posted: at 14-03-2018 01:49 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nature7888 at 14-03-2018 03:13 PM (6 years ago)
Ogar u wey suppose b example to others? na wow
Posted: at 14-03-2018 03:13 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 14-03-2018 04:06 PM (6 years ago)
bastard...let all women come together and beat this buffoon
Posted: at 14-03-2018 04:06 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- slimber at 14-03-2018 05:15 PM (6 years ago)
Big fool
Posted: at 14-03-2018 05:15 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 14-03-2018 06:52 PM (6 years ago)
Na dis kain pple dey inspire HASO112,i see him wife eye the other day as e swell,with blood wey dey come out from the side of her mouth like chinese film,i no need anybody to tell me say him don touch her small......again.

Posted: at 14-03-2018 06:52 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SOGaiya at 15-03-2018 11:49 AM (6 years ago)
amazed at African men
Posted: at 15-03-2018 11:49 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. "I Did It. I Killed Her" -Man Who Strangles Wife In Hospital Bed Over Medical Bills Confesses

2. "Don’t Look At My Legs. I Can Handle A Woman" - Physically Challenged Nigerian Man Brags

3. Man, Abdu Hamidu Arrested For Allegedly Sexually Assaulting His Niece In Adamawa

4. Nigerian Man, Desmond Oogwu Celebrates As He Survives Motor Accident, Shares Accident Scene

5. Dunamis Testifier, Vera Anyim Reportedly Arrested And Detained by Police

6. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

7. Disturbing Video of Singer, Skales Covered With Bl00d Raises Concerns on Social Media

8. Presidency Confirms When President Tinubu Will Return From His 'Unannounced' Trip

9. Jnr Pope: Adanma Luke Blasts TC Okafor For Using The Boat Mishap He Survived For Content

10. Video Of Newly Appointed LG Supervisors in Ekiti Taking Their Oath of Office With 'Ogun'

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years