Man In Tears As He Labels UCH, Ibadan A Death Trap After Losing A Loved One (Photos)

Date: 19-03-2018 4:08 pm (5 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 19-03-2018 04:08 PM (5 years ago)

Below is the account of a man identified as Enoch B. Godson who claims that the University College Hospital, UCH Ibadan is a death trap. He made the claim after he lost a loved one. Read his words.
UCH Ibadan A Death Trap.
I write this from a place of inconsolable grief, sheer anguish, unimaginable pain, and the very zenith of fury having lost a dear one so cheaply and unjustifiably in a place that is erroneously believed to be safe but apparently needs saving itself, riddled with egomaniacal doctors with God complexes, nurses like witches, patients attendants who will not attend to you until you have called them a billion times, morticians who will milk you out of your very life savings just to get the remains ready for burial without caring that you were just bereaved, almost everyone there just seemed inappropriate for their respective jobs – such a shambolic and toxic environment! I lost hope in Nigeria for a moment.
We rushed to the emergency department calling for help at about 12am with our dear Oluwaseun diagnosed with Cardiac failure, but it took 15 minutes to have a not-so-friendly looking doctor amble to the car we brought her in just to see whether or not the case was an emergency. Soon we were asked to pay for so many written things including an oxygen tube so that she could breathe, but getting to the cashier, he told us in no uncertain terms that he would not attend to us until he downs his bowl of amala (biko, who eats amala at such an ungodly hour? But that’s by the way)
We had to scream for help then a senior nurse came and spoke some sense into the glutton who reluctantly attended to us after he heard that the patient was dying. Then again we overheard a nurse say “I hope these ones are here with much money, otherwise they shouldn’t even bother”. Eventually, Oluwaseun was checked into the resuscitation unit and trust me, that place reeked of death. A resuscitation center that had only one functional heart monitor to serve four dying patients, no even a single defibrillator, stuffy as hell, very mean nurses; one of whom even threatened to check out any patient whose relatives were not cooperative, two malfunctioning air conditioning systems while every last office there had working ones, it was generally a place prepared to make patients sweat their very weak pulses out. It should rather be called a euthanasia ward. How patients were objectified was absolutely distressing. One would have that euphoric shimmer of hope when a team of smug doctors strolls in like demigods only to realise that they came to learn with the patients rather than care for them. What is the point of acquiring redundant knowledge? These people are more used to deaths than saving people. Oh Goodness Gracious!!! I thought their Hippocratic Oath should mean something or are they just murderers with licence? When you kill someone with your inaction, apathy and negligence are you not complicit? This grieves my soul and won’t stop replaying in my head. I held her, watched her breathe her last, crashing; with pain written all over her face. We screamed for help but they were rather concerned with quietening us than reviving Oluwaseun. They managed to get to her, gave her a few chest compressions in a futile CPR charade, chatting and laughing while at it, and then pronounced her dead JUST LIKE THAT. We had waited and waited for the cardiologist who neither showed up nor called for her to be relocated to the cardiology unit until she gave up at 7:20 pm on the 17th of march 2018. This is a fresh brilliant UniLag graduate due for NYSC in a few weeks, someone’s beloved daughter, beautiful sister and wonderful friend; someone’s decades of physical, psychological and financial investment left for dead in a Nigerian foremost health centre.
Oluwaseun Ezekiel we love you. Even though you were a victim of inept doctors and failed health policies, you forever will be in our hearts. I write this hoping to find some closure by laying it all bare, peradventure it would get to relevant authorities who will amend and enforce the standard operating procedures of this helluva health facility, but unfortunately; Oluwaseun you will still be greatly missed. Rest on in the arms of the Lord.
Don’t wait to experience this before you know about some doctors playing God. Please share until someone in authority notices and this menace is fixed #fixuch#fixourhospitals #ripseun

Posted: at 19-03-2018 04:08 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimber at 19-03-2018 04:13 PM (5 years ago)
Chaiii sorry
Posted: at 19-03-2018 04:13 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 19-03-2018 04:28 PM (5 years ago)
Lord have mercy

Posted: at 19-03-2018 04:28 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nature7888 at 19-03-2018 04:55 PM (5 years ago)
Very painful bro. may she rest well
Posted: at 19-03-2018 04:55 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 19-03-2018 05:03 PM (5 years ago)
this one one case too many...pls sue for their asses ...these useless doctors on govt hospitals are evil
Posted: at 19-03-2018 05:03 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- crocatum at 19-03-2018 05:12 PM (5 years ago)
this is sad cant believe  how our doctors conduct their service, some tend to be cold, rehearsed, and scared, the attitude of the doctors can also help the patient feel much better. Unfortunately his beloved is lost to a factory clinic.
Posted: at 19-03-2018 05:12 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mashbol at 19-03-2018 05:29 PM (5 years ago)
Welcome to Nigeria health facilities where death is no big deal! So sad!
Posted: at 19-03-2018 05:29 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 19-03-2018 05:34 PM (5 years ago)
na try and error doctor dey do for naija
Posted: at 19-03-2018 05:34 PM (5 years ago) | Grande Master
- blowout at 19-03-2018 06:04 PM (5 years ago)
All teaching hospitals and general hospitals in Nigeria are exactly the same. The doctors and consultants there all have private clinics and only care about patients in their private clinics.  The nurses are a different story entirely, totally without feelings. Imagine this young girl dying just like that.
Posted: at 19-03-2018 06:04 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fernande13 at 19-03-2018 06:22 PM (5 years ago)
What a lost, RIP girl and sorry for your loss brother. This is one of the reason that I will never come back to settle in Nigeria again. Please find your way out of that zoo. I lost my dad in the same way too. When the government is bad, every other thing is bad.
Posted: at 19-03-2018 06:22 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

9. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

10. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

11. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo