Ex-NNPC Staff, Godwin Elewana Sentenced To Death For Killing His Daughter’s Boyfriend

Date: 22-03-2018 7:29 am (6 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 22-03-2018 07:29 AM (6 years ago)

Godwin Elewana, the man who shot and killed 22-year-old Douglas Ojugbo whom he suspected was having an affair with his daughter, Mercy, on March 10, 2015, has been sentenced to death by hanging.

The judgement was passed on Wenesday 21st March, 2018 in the federal High Court 8 located at Moore road, Calabar, Cross Rivers. Elewana was accused of killing Douglas on March 10, 2015.

After killing him, Elewana contacted the Federal Housing Police Station in Calabar who in turn brought in Health officials from Calabar Urban Development Authority (CUDA) and buried the remains of Douglas, who was preparing to write his 2015 JAMB-UTME examination, in a shallow grave on the orders of the Divisional Police Officer (DPO) in the area without identifying him.

The DPO claimed that the killer informed the FH police that Douglas was an armed robber who came to rob him in his house.

Justice Ukpa Ebitam listed the several confessional statements, hospital reports and other exhibits presented in the course of trial as reasons the accused was convicted.

The mother of the deceased, Maria Ojugbo, said, “I thank God for doing what should be done. It is stated in the Bible that anyone who kills by the sword, will die by the sword. Elewana had no reason whatsoever to kill my son in such a manner and conceal the act by burying him. It was Almighty God that gave approval for this judgement.”

Posted: at 22-03-2018 07:29 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 22-03-2018 08:12 AM (6 years ago)
Good decision right there. Others that wanna do the same coz of they're wealth will think otherwise.
Posted: at 22-03-2018 08:12 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 22-03-2018 08:28 AM (6 years ago)
i dont know why convictions take so long....
Posted: at 22-03-2018 08:28 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Mashbol at 22-03-2018 09:15 AM (6 years ago)
That's what you get when you think you're above the law.
Posted: at 22-03-2018 09:15 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- favourita at 22-03-2018 09:23 AM (6 years ago)
If he is really guilty, den who kill by sword also shall  die by sword Tongue and if naija is always like dis, it would have be a beta country Tongue idiot fellows Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-03-2018 09:23 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 22-03-2018 09:55 AM (6 years ago)
Serves him right. You want to play God because you think that you are well to do.

Posted: at 22-03-2018 09:55 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cypanyahucha at 22-03-2018 11:12 AM (6 years ago)
He thinks he's above the law. This is a warning to all those moneybags who think they could take laws into their hands and misbehave.
Posted: at 22-03-2018 11:12 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 22-03-2018 12:01 PM (6 years ago)
I PITY HIS DAUGHTER LOOSING AT BOTH ENDS LOST HER BF AND HER FATHER
Posted: at 22-03-2018 12:01 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 22-03-2018 12:25 PM (6 years ago)
Wicked man and the bible also said that those who kills by sword will surely die by sword so warning to all those money miss road father's thinking that they 're above the law.let me see how he will be shooting people's children again.
Posted: at 22-03-2018 12:25 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- nature7888 at 22-03-2018 03:29 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: ruthie on 22-03-2018 08:28 AM
i dont know why convictions take so long....
So long my dear. that's y so many don't trust the judicial system of this country
Posted: at 22-03-2018 03:29 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nature7888 at 22-03-2018 03:31 PM (6 years ago)
So sad,
Posted: at 22-03-2018 03:31 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Olandetujaa at 22-03-2018 03:41 PM (6 years ago)
He's a wicked man!!!
Posted: at 22-03-2018 03:41 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 23-03-2018 01:35 AM (6 years ago)
u go die and that your daughter go phyuk well well ,, yeye man
Posted: at 23-03-2018 01:35 AM (6 years ago) | Grande Master