Abuja Federal High Court Sentence Pension Thief Who Stole N32.8billion To 6 Years In Prison

Date: 22-03-2018 2:53 pm (5 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 22-03-2018 02:53 PM (5 years ago)

A federal civil servant who alongside others stole N32.8 billion has been sentenced by a court in Abuja. Five year after his conviction and sentence to an aggregate fine of N750, 000 by a Federal Capital Territory High Court presided over by Justice Abubakar Talba, sparked national and international outrage, John Yusuf, one of six federal civil servants facing prosecution for allegedly stealing N32.8 billion of police pension fund today got a respectable punishment for his offence. The Court of Appeal, Abuja Division, today sentenced him to 6 years imprisonment and a fine of N22.9billion.

The ruling by the appellate court is the climax of the appeal by the prosecuting agency, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission which, dissatisfied with the decision of the trial court in a plea bargain agreement, on April 26, 2013 approached the appellate court to set aside the judgment of the lower court.

The five grounds of the appeal, bordered on the exercise of discretion of the Judge in imposing sentence on the respondent who pleaded guilty to the three count charge ( Counts 17, 18 and 19 of the charge), in which he admitted converting an aggregate sum of over N24 billion of Police Pension fund into his personal use.

The appellant in its brief of argument dated and filed on the 17th September, 2013, formulated one issue, for determination by the Appeal Court, which is: “whether the trial judge exercised his discretion judicially and judiciously when having convicted the respondent of a three count charge of conversion of over N3billion contrary to section 309 of the Penal Code, His Lordship imposed two years imprisonment with an option of fine of N250, 000 on each of the three counts”.

The respondent on the 10th June, 2015 raised a preliminary objection on the competence of the appeal for which they argued that the notice of appeal was filed outside the mandatory 90 days and therefore in contravention of s. 24(2)(b) of the Court of Appeal Act, 2010 (as Amended) and therefore urged the Court to dismiss the appeal.

The Justices of the Court of Appeal, dismissed the preliminary objection on the grounds that; “Having considered the computation of time volunteered by both parties, the question to be answered was whether the day the Judgment of the trial court was delivered was to be inclusive in the computation of the mandatory 90 days for which a notice of appeal was to be filed?

“That the day the Judgment of the trial court was delivered being the 28th January, 2013, was not to be included in the computation of the 90 days.

“That since the day of the Judgment is not included, the 90 days starts running from the 29th January, 2013 and the 90th day will fall on a Sunday.

“That by virtue of s. 15(2) of the Interpretation Act CAP 123, where the last day is a holiday, the counting shall continue until the end of the next following day which is not a holiday.
“That since the 90th day was a Sunday and by virtue of s. 15 (5) of Interpretation Act, a Sunday is a holiday, the next day which the notice of appeal was filed is within time, hence the appeal is competent and is therefore allowed”.

Ruling on the substantive matter, the Justices of the Court of Appeal held unanimously that the three counts involving the respondent (Counts 17, 18 and 19) clearly stated the amounts for which the appellant alleged that the respondent converted for his personal use. That the respondent pleaded guilty to the three counts and thereby admitted to the conversion of an aggregate sum of about N24billion to his personal use.

That the sentence of the trial court, does not serve as deterrence to both the convict and others. Consequently, they ruled that the sentence is “hereby quashed and deserves to be reviewed as follows: on Counts 17, the Respondent is hereby sentenced to two years imprisonment with an addition of fine of N20billion Naira; on Counts 18, the Respondent is hereby sentenced to two years imprisonment with an addition of fine of 1.4billion Naira; on counts 19, the Respondent is hereby sentenced to two years imprisonment with an addition of fine of 1.5billion Naira”.

The sentence of imprisonment is to run consecutively and the fine is to be cumulative. In a related development, the Supreme Court on March 9 dismissed the appeal by Onyia Ifeanyi, seeking to upturn his conviction and sentence to 7 years imprisonment on November 28, 2013 by the Federal High Court Enugu presided over by Justice M.L. Shuaibu ( as he then was) for the offence of obtaining by false pretence and being in possession of documents containing false pretence.

Dissatisfied with his conviction, the appellant had lodged an appeal against it at the Enugu Division of the Court of Appeal, which affirmed the decision of the trial court.

Still not satisfied with the decision of the appellate court, the convict proceeded to the Supreme Court. The apex court in a unanimous judment on March 9, affirmed the decision of the Court of Appeal.

Posted: at 22-03-2018 02:53 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Olandetujaa at 22-03-2018 03:32 PM (5 years ago)
just six years? nawa ooo
Posted: at 22-03-2018 03:32 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 22-03-2018 04:07 PM (5 years ago)
we have seen that crime pas...what type of stupid sentencing is this? failed judicial system
Posted: at 22-03-2018 04:07 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Mashbol at 22-03-2018 04:13 PM (5 years ago)
Injustices
Posted: at 22-03-2018 04:13 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 22-03-2018 04:51 PM (5 years ago)
the Zoo is finished, may GOD bless mazi nnamdi kanu
Posted: at 22-03-2018 04:51 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nature7888 at 22-03-2018 05:18 PM (5 years ago)
Just 6 yrs that he will happily serve and come back to spend our money. this country has been raked dry
Posted: at 22-03-2018 05:18 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 22-03-2018 06:06 PM (5 years ago)
Make that man divide that money into 2 give me 18 Billion make i go dat six years for am

Posted: at 22-03-2018 06:06 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimber at 22-03-2018 06:49 PM (5 years ago)
Why not 50years
Posted: at 22-03-2018 06:49 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Awoteawodamilola at 22-03-2018 11:19 PM (5 years ago)
Chief doctor awote ifagbamila TRADITIONAL HERBALIST AND NATIVE DOCTOR NO 10 ODENUSI STREET AGO IWOYE OGUN STATE Contact For any problem call this number 08100444629 Donot hide your sickness ` Some want you to be alive,but not all want you happy and successful.You have to find a solution to every spiritual or financial problems in your life by yourself, they wouldnt help you,some will take advantage of this whhile some will just overlook it. There are different ways to be successful,its doesnt just come and meet you in your bed our speciality is as follows... ...Performing sex on dream ...Financial problems ...Spiritual husband ...Job promotion ...Court cases ...Bad luck ...Diabetes ...Business development ...Stroke ...Bring back stolen properties ...Delaying of visa ...protection of properties and business ...Playing lottery ...Be- witched people problem ...Bring back lost lover ...Pregnant problems ...Woman with menstrual problem ...Body and chest pains ...Star reading ...Painful womb ...Infections ...Manpower ...Aliment of penis ...Epilepsy ...Sti and Std ...Low Sperm count...Fibroid ...Hypertension.t.c You don't have to look further,you don't have to wait until you are....informed,seek help form the elders.The use of herbs in supported in every holy book.God has shown us the importance of herbs,Even the bible said"And by the river upon the bank there of on their side grow all trees for meat and the leaf there of for medicine"-Ezekiel47v12 (1)Arobi ( back to sender )+2348100444629 (2)Atude ( release from bondage ) (3) Agadagodo (Padlock ) (4) Aseta ( kill enemy ) (5)owo moto ( escape from car accident) (6)Atude Ewon ( release from prison ) (7)Awure Ola ( Good wealth) (8)Ero Asasi (9)Iferan ( love ) (10)isoye ( memory recall ) (11)Atosi ( STD ) (12)Awarida ( menstrual un-stop ) (13)Turari Eyonu (14)Isora ( body secure ) (15)Asiri Bibo (16)Oju didun ( eye pain ) (17)Afunje loju orun (18)warapa ( Epilepsy ) (19)Amubo oko (20)Amubo iyawo (21)Amubo ise (22)ogun abiku (23)Afose to daju (24)ise gbigba ( winning contract job ) (25)Idani lare Ejo (court winning Case) (26)Etutu awom Awon Agba (27)oye jije (wining of post) (28)Ropa rose ( stroke ) (29)Afose to daju (30)agbega lenu ise (post in work) (31)Airi omo bi. It shall be well with you...... contact us today for help and rest assured,free treatment also available....you will never regret your action and you will be glad you did.Location isn't a barrier,we ship and send herbal medication to anyWhere
Posted: at 22-03-2018 11:19 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie

1. "Daddy Loves You" – Comedian, AY Makun Celebrates His Son, Denzel's 17th Birthday

2. Young Nigerian Man Washes Father’s Hand With Expensive Alcohol As He Gifts Him An SUV

3. Primate Ayodele Releases Prophecies, Warns Presidents of Russia, France, Croatia, Turkey, Other

4. This Video Of Man Who Looks Like Singer, Asake Has Got Nigerians Talking

5. Aliko Dangote Gives Out One Million Bags Of Rice Worth More Than N13b To People In Nigeria

6. 'Odumodublvck Has Been In The Industry Since 2019, He Started As A Manager' – Oxlade Reveals

7. Again, Court Refuses Nnamdi Kanu Bail In Terrorisms Charges

8. Court Remands Man, Tijjani Bal Over Alleged Sodomy

9. "Fuel Price Will Reduce When Port Harcourt Refinery Begins Operations" – IPMAN Confirms

10. VID: “No Matter My Wealth, Once I’m In A Relationship I Become Broke” -Activist, Saida Boj

11. VIDEO: "Dreams Do Come True" – Aunty Ramota Rejoices As She Departs Nigeria

12. Popular Nollywood Producer, Andy Best Is Dead

13. 2027: 'You’ll Struggle to Get 2% Votes In FCT' – APC Tells Tinubu

14. 23Yr Old Secondary School Leaver, Rukevwe George Arrested With Two Guns In Benin

15. Peter Obi Opens Up On Why He Visited Abuja Mosque To Break Fast With Muslims

16. Fans React As Soma Takes To His Instagram To Edit His Birthday Post For Angel

17. I Want To Be One of The Leaders of Afrobeats Says 21Yr Old Singer, Ayra Starr

18. Thank You For Loving Me The Way I Am, Together Forever – Chioma Akpotha Celebrates Chidi Mokeme

19. Ayra Star Commends Chris Brown For Been Supportive Of Afrobeats

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. How Lack of S3x Contributed to My Failed Marriage Says Shade Ladipo

10. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)