Controversy As Oluwo Of Iwoland In Osun State, Oba Adbulrasheed Akanbi Drops Title, Becomes Emir

Date: 01-04-2018 1:21 pm (5 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 1-04-2018 01:21 PM (5 years ago)

The Oluwo of Iwoland in Osun state, Oba Adbulrasheed Akanbi, Saturday, made history when he dropped the the title of Oba and declared his resolve to adopt the Emir title popularly known with Northern traditional rulers.

Speaking at the installation and turbarning ceremony of an Islamic scholar, Sheikh Yahquub Abdul-Baaqi Mohammed as first Waziri of Yoruba land, Oba Akanbi said he decided to now bear “Emir of Iwoland” because he wants to emulate the attitudes of northern Emirs.

According to Oluwo, Northern traditional rulers are better behaved than his counterparts from the Southwest, saying Yoruba Obas are full of bickering, acrimony and enmities.

He said Yoruba traditional rulers lack cooperation and expected royal characters, saying the Yoruba Obas have been polarized owing to enmities.

Oba Akanbi said until Yoruba Obas come together, shun enmities and backbiting, Hausas would continue to rule Nigeria. “I have decided to officially adopt Emir title today because I want to emulate the attitudes of Northern Emirs.

They don’t begrudge themselves like Yoruba Obas. It will surprise you to discover that for the past two years, there has not been meeting of Yoruba traditional rulers just because of enmities. There is nothing strange in adopting Emir title.

I am the Emir of Yorubaland,” Oluwo said. Meanwhile, he also installed and turbarned an Islamic scholar, Sheikh Yahquub Abdul-Baaqi Mohammed, as the first Waziri of Yoruba land.

The installation of the Waziri was against warning served on him by the League of Imams and Alfas in Southwest Nigeria, Edo and Delta States, asking him to desist from installing Alhaji Mohammed as the Waziri of the Southwest.

Posted: at 1-04-2018 01:21 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 1-04-2018 01:36 PM (5 years ago)
HIM WAHALA.  NO CONCERNS ME.
Posted: at 1-04-2018 01:36 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 1-04-2018 01:54 PM (5 years ago)
Okooo heard
Posted: at 1-04-2018 01:54 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Mashbol at 1-04-2018 02:17 PM (5 years ago)
Religious bigot, slave to northern arab colonian masters...they all have one wish,,, to islamise Nigeria. THE COUNSEL WILL NOT STAND!
Posted: at 1-04-2018 02:17 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 1-04-2018 03:46 PM (5 years ago)
He wont be the first or the last stupid man

Posted: at 1-04-2018 03:46 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 1-04-2018 04:17 PM (5 years ago)
rubbish!! the people of that town should dethrone him asap!!  yoruba identity first!!! you mumu man
Posted: at 1-04-2018 04:17 PM (5 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajadiladele at 1-04-2018 07:53 PM (5 years ago)
I DONT BLAME YOU SIR ,WITH ALL DUE RESPECT BUT IF THE MALLAMS ARE GIVEN YOU POURAGE JUST FOR YOU TO SELL YOUR BIRTH RIGHT A TIME SHALL COME EVEN YOUR GRAND CHILDREN SHALL NEVER BE ABLE TO GET IT BACK..... Huh? Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-04-2018 07:53 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- EDDYPRINCE at 2-04-2018 12:02 AM (5 years ago)
Fly when wan die go follow shit enter hole same with dog when wan lost,,,  this man will soon die
Posted: at 2-04-2018 12:02 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- WhaleDog at 2-04-2018 02:32 AM (5 years ago)
Now I can understand why a bastard should not be enthroned , u must be dethroned.How do you solve s problem you stated if you are running away from it ! As a leading traditional ruler ,you could do better by trying to find solution to the lingering problems among Yoruba obas .But you withdrawal from the council shows your cowardice .

Posted: at 2-04-2018 02:32 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 3-04-2018 11:30 AM (5 years ago)
this is what you get..when these traditional leaders have no functions at all..waste of tax payers money
Posted: at 3-04-2018 11:30 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 13-04-2018 12:07 AM (5 years ago)
seen

Posted: at 13-04-2018 12:07 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

2. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

3. Nigerian Man Videos The Living Condition of Immigrants Who Were Not Granted Asylum in Portugal

4. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

5. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

6. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

7. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

8. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

9. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

10. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

11. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

12. Why I Eventually Became a Woman - Nigeria Crossdresser, Bobrisky Finally Opens up

13. CEO of TCN,Abdulaziz Sule Reportedly Bribes Min. of Power With N290m Lexus SUV to Retain Office

14. VIDEO: NNPC Fuel Station in Yola, Adamawa State Razed By Fire

15. 13 Persons Arrested and Charged to Court For Failing to Use Pedestrian Bridge in Lagos

16. 20yr Old Man Arrested For Kidnap, Murder Of Police Officer’s Son In Bauchi

17. Ex President, Buhari Celebrates President Tinubu on His 72nd Birthday

18. PHOTOS: Woman Caught With Over 50 Pellets Of Cocaine Hidden In Her Private Part At Airport

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)