Hunger and anger : an emerging global crisis

Date: 13-09-2008 2:20 am (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
- at 13-09-2008 02:20 AM (15 years ago)
Today my heart bled when I saw people in Haiti,on CNN, struggling against brutal odds to get food.The level of  desperation they exercised is beyond anything I've seen.There is an emerging global crisis that the World is ignoring.As the saying goes,"an hungry man is an angry man".If necessary precautionary measures are not taking now to improve the lives of the world's hungry,there would be a revolution of the Hungry People of the Earth.This is based on the psychological "Frustration-Aggression Theory".This theory states that a high level of frustration lead people to aggressive behavioural patterns.

I think the rulers of this world(US-EU)should act now before things get out of hand.What do U think?
THANK YOU.

Posted: at 13-09-2008 02:20 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 28-09-2008 01:37 AM (15 years ago)
 This is sad Godsson....i think world leaders should act fast too...d situation is getting out of hand..
its not haiti but everywhere especially 3rd worlds.u quoted  ,"an hungry man is an angry man". well i was watching d same article and saw pple scrambling for pairs of slippers donated by philantropists from miami,one of the distributors actually said dat 'poverty has a way of making pple to be cunning' because of d way some pple were trying to cheat...dis also brings to the forefront the issue of global  warming cos if not bcause of it Haiti wouldnt have been in this situation

Posted: at 28-09-2008 01:37 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 29-09-2008 03:42 PM (15 years ago)
ZIE

U re right about the nexus between global warming and this current crisis.I was even hoping on posting a debate on that in the Fight park.There's nothing natural about natural disasters.They are caused by global warming,which is in turn cause these disasters.
Posted: at 29-09-2008 03:42 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 29-09-2008 11:51 PM (15 years ago)
Brothers!I agree with you.this is an emerging crisis that the world is overlooking at its own peril.As the number of hungry people increase,there is bound to be conflict.this is because everybody would want to secure a share of the loot.This will lead to a war of all against all.The army of the hungry will rise against the rich in all human societies.that revolt might lead to the end of human civilization.
Posted: at 29-09-2008 11:51 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 30-09-2008 12:52 PM (15 years ago)
i hope it doesnt come 2 dat anytime soon. i do not know how much food reserve the rich nations have rite now or how long it will last in crisis situations but i think the U.N. is doing something...(hopefully)

Posted: at 30-09-2008 12:52 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 30-09-2008 02:39 PM (15 years ago)
I hope so too.I also know that the U.N via it's Food Program is doing something about it.However,the weakness of the UN is not helping matters.This is because of States like the US refuse to pay their UN dues sometimes.We need a new,stronger & batter UN to effectively cater for common global concerns.Let's hope world rulers would respond to this need.
Posted: at 30-09-2008 02:39 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 30-09-2008 10:07 PM (15 years ago)
how come a state lyke the u.s. is owing...doesnt make sense

Posted: at 30-09-2008 10:07 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 30-09-2008 11:10 PM (15 years ago)
That's the problem with Neo-con philosophy.They think the US can "go it alone".Thus,they dont ve to 'waste' their moneys in paying UN dues.It's funny,but it's a surprising reality.WE NEED A NEW & TRULY UNITED NATIONS ORGANIZATION.Not this present war bounty,that gave WWII victors VETO to act as they deem fit.
Posted: at 30-09-2008 11:10 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- keveen at 1-10-2008 11:32 AM (15 years ago)
An hungry man is an angry man... the saying goes

Posted: at 1-10-2008 11:32 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zie85er at 2-10-2008 10:43 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 30-09-2008 11:10 PM
That's the problem with Neo-con philosophy.They think the US can "go it alone".Thus,they dont ve to 'waste' their moneys in paying UN dues.It's funny,but it's a surprising reality.WE NEED A NEW & TRULY UNITED NATIONS ORGANIZATION.Not this present war bounty,that gave WWII victors VETO to act as they deem fit.
lol....Godsson u dey craze no be small

Posted: at 2-10-2008 10:43 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 5-10-2008 12:57 PM (15 years ago)
ZIE

I know sey him(God'sson) dey craze.& I love him for that.lol
Posted: at 5-10-2008 12:57 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 8-10-2008 12:43 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 30-09-2008 02:39 PM
I hope so too.I also know that the U.N via it's Food Program is doing something about it.However,the weakness of the UN is not helping matters.This is because of States like the US refuse to pay their UN dues sometimes.We need a new,stronger & batter UN to effectively cater for common global concerns.Let's hope world rulers would respond to this need.

Big bros,I agree with you to a point.However,I must warn that you should not be naive to think that the UN would do anything serious to solve this problem.You are right about the need for a NEW U.N.O.However,I do not see anything phenomenal about such a body.As long as the international divition of labour persist,wealthy countries place barriers on primary products from less developed states,continue to set the price for the exports of the 3rd world,thereby affecting their(3rd world)balance of Trade adversely,etc,the problem will be there.If you like,creat the most perfect UN or another Global multipurpose organization,there wont be any appreciable change in the lives of the wretched of the earth.The crisis you talked about will only deepen.
What the poor & hungry people of the world needs is empowerment and not handouts.

Godsson,I hope you understand where am coming from.
Posted: at 8-10-2008 12:43 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 11-10-2008 10:17 PM (15 years ago)
The global credit crisis would only worsen this crisis.If nothing is done soon,they world would be heading for a disaster beyond anything we've seen before.
Posted: at 11-10-2008 10:17 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 12-10-2008 12:37 AM (15 years ago)
This food crises is not getting any better because nations are still to greedy.
Now that they are using corn to substitute petrol the crises will be even bigger. As there is already starting to be a shortage in corn.
Europe for instance is throwing millions of kilos of food away just to make the food prices higher.
And not only Europe it happens in many countries they just stop producing as a product loses its profit.
This hunger crises could be resolved but its just not profitable to do so.

I saw that program too people eating dirt while in the west food is thrown away.

Also with the upcoming of GM foods the crises will even get bigger. 
Posted: at 12-10-2008 12:37 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 12:38 AM (15 years ago)
so......
Posted: at 12-10-2008 12:38 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 12-10-2008 01:03 AM (15 years ago)
Helga
You are right about the use of food crops for energy.This is one other major source of the crisis.The use of corn and cassava that are staples in most of the 3rd world as alternative energy has not help the world.However,I cannot blame the West totally for this.They are only trying to protect their interest.The rulers of the 3rd world have over the years squander the huge human & material resources in investing in corruption.

They ve abandoned their agricultural sector that is supposed to help them achieve internal food security.That  is another major source of this crisis.
Posted: at 12-10-2008 01:03 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 01:07 AM (15 years ago)
i agree with the both of u
Posted: at 12-10-2008 01:07 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Helga at 12-10-2008 03:28 AM (15 years ago)
Godsson

Im in agreement with you on that one totally.

Its not a western problem only but a problem for every one.
Look at lots of African countries Mugabe we already did mention. How on earth could they have let there land go like that? Well you know what i mean when i say that.

There are many more who could provide there own food but warfare is more important then providing for there own people and they are waiting for handouts. And sadly those handouts often dont go to the right people but the powerful juntas who sell it on the black markets.

Look even at Nigeria how much food it could produce but still you have to import.
You got the climate water and the people nobody should have to go hungry in a land like that.

Well im sure you start to know me a bit by now as i just could go on and on about this.
Things like this are just my passion.

Posted: at 12-10-2008 03:28 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 10:35 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Helga on 12-10-2008 03:28 AM
Godsson

Im in agreement with you on that one totally.

Its not a western problem only but a problem for every one.
Look at lots of African countries Mugabe we already did mention. How on earth could they have let there land go like that? Well you know what i mean when i say that.

There are many more who could provide there own food but warfare is more important then providing for there own people and they are waiting for handouts. And sadly those handouts often dont go to the right people but the powerful juntas who sell it on the black markets.

Look even at Nigeria how much food it could produce but still you have to import.
You got the climate water and the people nobody should have to go hungry in a land like that.

Well im sure you start to know me a bit by now as i just could go on and on about this.
Things like this are just my passion.

agree agin
Posted: at 12-10-2008 10:35 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- zie85er at 15-10-2008 11:17 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 11-10-2008 10:17 PM
The global credit crisis would only worsen this crisis.If nothing is done soon,they world would be heading for a disaster beyond anything we've seen before.
i cast n bind.....dont worry....d credit crundh will soon be shaken off...

Posted: at 15-10-2008 11:17 PM (15 years ago) | Hero