Gifts for Inlaws-need ur help please!

Date: 24-04-2010 5:04 pm (14 years ago) | Author: K.P.O
- at 24-04-2010 05:04 PM (14 years ago)
Hi, i am going to Nigeria in may and am wondering what to bring for the family...
i already bought plenty of sweets for the kids, but i really don't know what shall i get mor my brother in law (never met him yet, only talked on the phone), sister and mother in law (i have met both of them) and of course my husbands dad, i haven't met him nor talked to him yet.
Is just something to show i was thinkin of them...does anyone have a good idea? thanks for ur help  Wink -Ifufe-

Posted: at 24-04-2010 05:04 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ksurrina at 25-04-2010 02:45 AM (14 years ago)
You brought sweets for the kids. What you leaving them with bad teeth lmao lmao. Why not purchase educational materials like books, etc. Give to the children and leave the in laws out of it. Anyway that is always my focus I look out for the children in my spouse life. I give the parents a pocket money. The sisters and brothers I took them to KFC when am about to leave them. That's what I do but the children are always my focus and I always give educational tools.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:45 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OB3ICE at 25-04-2010 04:29 AM (14 years ago)
You bought sweets for naija children? Sorry for you. Get them lots of clothes, even if they're fairly used, get some perfumes for your sister and mother inlaw, then get your father inlaw some shirts and a walking stick. Make sure the perfumes are well packaged, and buy them lots of irish spring soaps (if you're coming from the US) to give to other relations. You can also get handbags for the ladies. If you give those kids only sweets......

Posted: at 25-04-2010 04:29 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ifufe at 25-04-2010 07:51 AM (14 years ago)
here's what happened: last time i went, my husband went to the market the following day to buy chocolate, coz i didn't bring any.when i asked him why, he said its a normal thing for visitors to bring sweets, anything to share...so he did and said it was from me! i was very ashamed as i asked him what to bring and he said oh dnt worry nothing.so now i am really confused! pls what is spring soap? am from germany.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 07:51 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- OB3ICE at 25-04-2010 08:38 AM (14 years ago)
Just get them small gift items like towels, shaving sticks, small handbags, etc for the extended family, cos those ones dont really need much from you, except that they'll be bothering your husband for money. The sweets might also come in handy for them. You have a lot of work to do, cos in naija, the family consists of the nuclear, extended families and all the kindred.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 08:38 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xter at 25-04-2010 09:12 AM (14 years ago)
Buy tonnes of condom for ur father/mother in-law.as for d kids,drop the candies and get them some good clothes and some smartphones

Posted: at 25-04-2010 09:12 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OB3ICE at 25-04-2010 09:46 AM (14 years ago)
Cant you just give a reasonable suggestion?

Posted: at 25-04-2010 09:46 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brightossy at 25-04-2010 02:59 PM (14 years ago)
I dey 9ja, no 4get my own gift. Since na Germany, buy me a robot or german machine.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:59 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 25-04-2010 03:01 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ifufe on 24-04-2010 05:04 PM
Hi, i am going to Nigeria in may and am wondering what to bring for the family...
i already bought plenty of sweets for the kids, but i really don't know what shall i get mor my brother in law (never met him yet, only talked on the phone), sister and mother in law (i have met both of them) and of course my husbands dad, i haven't met him nor talked to him yet.
Is just something to show i was thinkin of them...does anyone have a good idea? thanks for ur help  Wink -Ifufe-

may a couple of liquor bottles for the elders.....and perhaps handbags for the women.....

Posted: at 25-04-2010 03:01 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 25-04-2010 03:02 PM (14 years ago)
Buy them nutting...just give them money.:.let them use it to buy what they want.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 03:02 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moneyinbrakemi at 25-04-2010 03:06 PM (14 years ago)
I think you will increase your conversation on the cell phone with them.
And try as much as possible to trick them into knowing what they would
like you to buy them.Provided you can afford anything within their demands.
Posted: at 25-04-2010 03:06 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ksurrina at 25-04-2010 09:27 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 25-04-2010 03:02 PM
Buy them nutting...just give them money.:.let them use it to buy what they want.

Agree with this too. Forget the hassle of carrying luggage and give money according to the age group. Well you already have the sweets for the kids. Just give the money according to the age group and concentrate only on the parents, sister and brothers. Forget about the grandparents, cousins etc leave that responsibility to your husband.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 09:27 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brightossy at 25-04-2010 09:33 PM (14 years ago)
How much money?
Posted: at 25-04-2010 09:33 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 25-04-2010 10:00 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: brightossy on 25-04-2010 09:33 PM
How much money?

Grin What you mean how much money?  Did they send her any where? My girl don't pressure yourself and go back home as a pauper because you want to look good in the eyes of the in laws. Put aside $1000 euro and split it amongst them. Those who want to be like the children of Israel and murmur then there will be no blessings because they are not murmuring against you but what God has provided for them. Sister just don't pressure yourself ok. Give what you can because you are only doing it out of your generosity of your heart. It is the responsibility of the man to look after his parents and siblings.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 10:00 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ifufe at 26-04-2010 12:18 PM (14 years ago)
thanks to all ur answers and advices Wink yea i think money is good! wow am so so excited am flying in 2 weeks!have a nice day all  Kiss
Posted: at 26-04-2010 12:18 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Miss_precious at 26-04-2010 12:32 PM (14 years ago)
hahahaha sweets?Huh???naija children?Huh??..you must be white

anyway buy ur sister inlaw and mother inlaw...shoes and handbag...brother inlaw..packet shirts or nice wristwatch...and for your father inlaw....dunno

Posted: at 26-04-2010 12:32 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ifufe at 26-04-2010 12:36 PM (14 years ago)
my husband told me so.and yes i am white!
Posted: at 26-04-2010 12:36 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Miss_precious at 26-04-2010 09:04 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ifufe on 26-04-2010 12:36 PM
my husband told me so.and yes i am white!

okay seen

Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:04 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brightossy at 26-04-2010 09:44 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Miss_precious on 26-04-2010 12:32 PM
hahahaha sweets?Huh???naija children?Huh??..you must be white

anyway buy ur sister inlaw and mother inlaw...shoes and handbag...brother inlaw..packet shirts or nice wristwatch...and for your father inlaw....dunno
walking stick
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:44 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Miss_precious at 26-04-2010 09:58 PM (14 years ago)
good idea my ex husband

Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:58 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

2. Igbo Billionaire, Arthur Eze Says Tinubu Will Change Nigeria After Eight Years In Office

3. Presidency Confirms Seyi Tinubu Joined The Board Of Directors Of CDK In 2018

4. VIDEO: Veteran Actor Kanayo O. Kanayo Officially Welcomes Son To Nollywood Industry

5. Kwankwaso, 13 Others Dragged To EFCC By NNPP Over Alleged Fraud

6. VIDEO: Lady Laments Over Small Portion Of Porridge Sold At N5,500 By Chef Hilda Baci

7. 40Yr Old Man, Abiola Arrested For Allegedly Defiling Minor Inside Mosque's Restroom In Ondo

8. Singer, Portable Excited As He Finally Gets His American Visa

9. 30Yr Old Husband, Fatai Abdullahi Stabs Wife To Death In Ondo

10. VID; 'I Must Draw Blood From You' - Ekiti Varsity Bully Says As She Brutalise Fellow Student

11. Actress, Etinosa Finally Reveals BBN Pere As Debtor Who Refuses To Refund Her Money, Slams Him

12. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

13. Singer, Harrysong Raises Speculations After Sharing Cryptic Post

14. PSG v Borussia Dortmund: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers And Stats

15. Nigerian Rapper, Dremo Issues Stern Warns To Those Calling Him Untalented

16. Nigeria Would’ve Been Better If Yar’Adua Completed His Tenure Says Yakubu Gowon

17. Odumodublvck Praises Olamide For His Generosity, Reveals How He Gift Him $20K & A Private Jet

18. Edo Assembly Speaker Suspends 3 Lawmakers Over Alleged Impeachment Plot

19. Many Arrested As Gov. Peter Mbah Launches Onslaught Against Insecurity In The State

20. Charly Boy Questions Pres. Tinubu’s Unannounced London Visit, Demands Transparency

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years