Another Case Of Copyright Theft? "Korede Bello Didn’t Get Permission To Use My ‘Sote’ Song" – Dubie

Date: 11-05-2018 1:40 pm (5 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 11-05-2018 01:40 PM (5 years ago)

In yet another case of alleged copyright infringement, Dubie, the former band leader of the Star Quest winning band, The Pulse, has confirmed to NET that Mavin Record's singer Korede Bello, didn't reach out to him nor sought permission before recording his latest song 'SOTE' which shares the same title, and melody his own.
In yet another case of alleged copyright infringement, Dubie, the former band leader of the Star Quest winning band, The Pulse has confirmed to NET that Mavin Record’s singer Korede Bello, didn’t reach out to him or sought permission before recording his latest song, ‘SOTE’, which shares the same title, and melody as his own.
Going Down Memory Lane
In April 2009, Dubie, the band leader of the now defunct music group, The Pulse won the then popular music TV reality show star quest after they performed the song ‘Sote’, which ultimately helped them to win the competition.
The song, written by Dubie the band leader, became an instant national hit after the competition and even caught the attention of American rapper, Busta Rhymes who was visiting the country for a concert. Busta Rhymes eventually recorded a remix of the song with the band which also received great reviews.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxzYQ0Lxv6I" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxzYQ0Lxv6I</a>

Back To The Present
Just 3 days ago (May 7, 2018), Mavin records recording artiste, Korede Bello, released his own version of the song also titled ‘Sote’. While The Pulse version’s of the song was a conscious message of hope, Korede’s version is a love song where he promises his lover many good things. While both songs may not have the same message, what cannot be ignored are the obvious similarities in both tracks.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMD2smkaqlc" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMD2smkaqlc</a>

In the last few days, the Nigerian music industry has been awash with various accusations of copyright infringement. Ajegunle music duo, Danfo Drivers had accused Tekno of sampling their hit single ‘Kpolongo’ to make his latest single ‘Jogodo’ without informing the artistes. Just as we were Nigerians were still digesting the scandal, another artiste, Henry Knight also called out Peter Okoye, AKA Mr P of the defunct Psquare group for jacking his 2015 song ‘Ebeano’. Knight also claims efforts to reach out to Peter Okoye have proven difficult.
NET reached out to Dubie to know his thoughts on the controversy and ascertain if indeed he the Mavin singer reached out to him. According to the Dubie, Korede’s version does have elements from his own original recording but confirmed that Korede didn’t reach out to him. He Said: ‘Someone drew my attention to it, she called me to say I should listen to Korede Bello’s new song ‘Sote’, that it sounds just like my own. I did and it did sound like my own, especially the hook…’
NET also reached out to TegaMavin, a rep at Mavin to get reactions from Korede Bello or an official response from the label but it didn’t yield any tangible result as he promised to get back to us but hasn’t done that as at the time of this publication.

Posted: at 11-05-2018 01:40 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nature7888 at 11-05-2018 02:08 PM (5 years ago)
This guy still dey??
Posted: at 11-05-2018 02:08 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 11-05-2018 02:42 PM (5 years ago)
here we go again....
Posted: at 11-05-2018 02:42 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 11-05-2018 05:46 PM (5 years ago)
New trend
Posted: at 11-05-2018 05:46 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 11-05-2018 06:42 PM (5 years ago)
korede oya help him ministry asap

Posted: at 11-05-2018 06:42 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 11-05-2018 07:50 PM (5 years ago)
what makes it his own, all this veteran artiste sef, just doing attache to be relevant

Posted: at 11-05-2018 07:50 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimber at 11-05-2018 10:06 PM (5 years ago)
You guys have problem which one be dis
Posted: at 11-05-2018 10:06 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 13-05-2018 05:50 AM (5 years ago)
which rubbish be dis now

Posted: at 13-05-2018 05:50 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

5. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

6. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

7. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

8. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

9. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

10. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

15. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

16. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

17. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

18. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo