Choosing a mate with peace of mind

Date: 26-04-2010 2:54 am (14 years ago) | Author: Sheenor
- at 26-04-2010 02:54 AM (14 years ago)
BOSE is persistently cursing the day she met Akin and blames her pastor for the ill-fortune that has befallen her. "He told me Akin was ordained to be my husband and my other suitors did not mean well," says Bose.

According to her, she had her sight set on Bankole, one of her numerous suitors and had even accepted his proposal. But she decided otherwise when her pastor predicted that he (Bankole) would die a premature death. Bose says, "He told me I and Akin were destined for each other and I believed his judgement. Who would not when the Akin I knew then was loving to a fault and could not hurt a fly, or so I thought? I will never forget the tears Bankole shed when I returned the engagement ring he had earlier presented to me."

Even when she announced to her friends she was getting married to Akin, they did not fail to let her know they were uncomfortable with her choice of a husband, principally because Bankole was considered to be of a more interesting pedigree. Not even their entreaties that she should give it a little more thought swayed her as she stuck to her gun. This is because her pastor warned that the consequences of not heeding "the word of God" will be catastrophic.

Ngozi is at a crossroads. Her dilemma stems from the fact that her parents have refused to approve of her engagement to Tolu. "I thought they registered their disapproval because he is a Yoruba man, but I remembered my sister-in-law hails from one of the western states and my mother simply adores her," says Ngozi. "It was an aunt who I engaged to plead on our behalf that informed me that my father said a prophet predicted that my fiancé will outlive me. I am 30 already; where do I go from here? These prophets of doom want to ruin me."

Ayo holds a different view and credits his escape from the devil's fangs to divine intervention. He explains, "My mum attends one of the white garment churches. A firm believer in their doctrines, she holds several consultations with the prophets and prophetesses before taking any decision. When I informed her of my desire to engage Bunmi, she advised I exercise patience while she did her usual consultations.

"Initially I frowned on her fanaticism but I knew she meant well. One look at her face when she returned, I knew all was not well. According to her, a prophet went into a trance and saw that my Bunmi possesses destructive powers.

"I did not believe but when I confronted her, she broke down in tears and confirmed my fears. She said her grandmother initiated her into a cult at a young age and bestowed her with the strange spirit she said is capable of ruining any man that marries her. I ran for my dear life."

Ochuwa, a lower cadre staff in the civil service is utterly confused. "I am in a relationship with two men - Abdul and Tanko - but I love the former more because I have known him longer. But the marabout I consulted says he will not make a good husband. Do I now settle for Tanko who is richer but I do not love?" she asks.

Posted: at 26-04-2010 02:54 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 26-04-2010 03:16 AM (13 years ago)
Poster u are crazy...why do u ave to group 8 or 6storys together?

Posted: at 26-04-2010 03:16 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OB3ICE at 26-04-2010 04:42 AM (13 years ago)
Boring

Posted: at 26-04-2010 04:42 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chyno at 26-04-2010 06:18 AM (13 years ago)
Tot it ll be beta, piss out.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 06:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chyno at 26-04-2010 06:18 AM (13 years ago)
Tot it ll be beta, piss out.
Posted: at 26-04-2010 06:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ade_su_wa at 26-04-2010 06:42 AM (13 years ago)
interesting
Posted: at 26-04-2010 06:42 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- irule at 26-04-2010 08:01 AM (13 years ago)
sufforcating

Posted: at 26-04-2010 08:01 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- docreala at 26-04-2010 03:25 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 26-04-2010 03:16 AM
Poster u are crazy...why do u ave to group 8 or 6storys together?

hahaha...i no fit shout
Posted: at 26-04-2010 03:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 26-04-2010 09:19 PM (13 years ago)
This story is not boring it is reality. Time and time I see persons listening to their Pastors instead of seeking God's face themselves. They claimed to believe that God is talking through these pastors and so they should believe them but if they were truly a christian then they would go in their heart and talk to the God themselves.

An incident happen to me at church three Sundays ago. The bishop there embarrassed me say he is praying for healing and the way he did it was so disgraceful for me. So I tell his wife when she called me on a different matter. I went to church and the bishop was upset saying that the devil is trying to pulled his church apart. lmao

So I prayed on the matter. The Pastor who help me out my depression I told her what happen in devotion and she told me the scripture that I should read as a prayer so that I can know if persons coming to me are actually from God. Eph. 1 vs 16-23. Since then I have been praying it. So I went to church and apologies to the Bishop telling him that am sorry for the way I took it. Since then I am sick. Don't know what this is all about and so am continuing to seek God's face. One thing I know He has never fails me.

Jesus Christ told us that His sheep shall know His voice. Christians need to start knowing their Shepherd voice. Am glad that it was me who reach out to God in time of my depression and since then I stick to this. I see too much false prophets for me to trust flesh plus what Norris did to me. God is whose face am seeking in everything.

Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- solkings at 26-04-2010 10:42 PM (13 years ago)
story
Posted: at 26-04-2010 10:42 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bazemaster at 27-04-2010 12:52 AM (13 years ago)
Who get time for prophets and pastors?!   I am a catholic for life................

Posted: at 27-04-2010 12:52 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cayico at 27-04-2010 01:11 AM (13 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 27-04-2010 01:11 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DupeK at 27-04-2010 02:14 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Bazemaster on 27-04-2010 12:52 AM
Who get time for prophets and pastors?!   I am a catholic for life................
nice ta meet you. the peace of the Lord be with you bro, whether when at mass, choosing a spouse or strolling through naija pals.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 02:14 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ejibond at 27-04-2010 02:22 AM (13 years ago)
What type of thing is this?
Am out ta here.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 02:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 27-04-2010 10:13 AM (13 years ago)
Seen.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 10:13 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sabiti at 27-04-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago)
e don b 4 dem b dat
Posted: at 27-04-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rasky47 at 27-04-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago)
abegiiiiiiiiiii
Posted: at 27-04-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming