It Is "As Hard As Hail" Not "As Hard As Hell" - Know Your Grammar!

Date: 15-05-2018 12:21 pm (5 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 15-05-2018 12:21 PM (5 years ago)

Yea, English is hard and grammar is very hard, most of us just judge correct grammar by "what sounds correct" to the ear, well - alot of us have heard alot of people SCREAM and SHOUT, it is as hard as HELL!!! - perhaps because most of us live in HELL in Nigeria we just like to use the word, well for your information, the correct use is: As hard as HAIL! Can you imagine that? My Naijapals friends, as you guilty of using the statement wrongly? Anyway, there is no problem with using it wrongly in the past, there is no one that has not made one or two grammatical blunders before, but go ahead and start using it correctly, anytime you want to tell someone about something as hard as hail!

Posted: at 15-05-2018 12:21 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 15-05-2018 12:23 PM (5 years ago)
I WILL CONSULT GOOGLE & GET BACK TO YOU....
Posted: at 15-05-2018 12:23 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- cypanyahucha at 15-05-2018 01:10 PM (5 years ago)
Na d only one wey you sabi? Many more exist
Posted: at 15-05-2018 01:10 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nature7888 at 15-05-2018 01:16 PM (5 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 15-05-2018 01:16 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 15-05-2018 01:24 PM (5 years ago)
I see
Posted: at 15-05-2018 01:24 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- anners136 at 15-05-2018 02:22 PM (5 years ago)
You lost all credibility with this post when you said, "alot." It's not one word. It's "a lot."
Posted: at 15-05-2018 02:22 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- angesco at 15-05-2018 02:32 PM (5 years ago)
And it’s “who will BELL the cat” and NOT “who will BAIL the cat!”
Posted: at 15-05-2018 02:32 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 15-05-2018 02:50 PM (5 years ago)
it's better to acknowledge we don't know English, and we aspire to use it correctly, not use what suits the ear.
Posted: at 15-05-2018 02:50 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 15-05-2018 02:53 PM (5 years ago)
I have used it wrongly, with that phrase, " As hard as hell'', now aware instead to use,  "its as hard as hail", thanks.
Posted: at 15-05-2018 02:53 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 15-05-2018 03:06 PM (5 years ago)
DUDE, WHAT'S YOUR TWITTER HANDLE? POSTER NAMETALKAM, NA YOU I DEY ASK....
Posted: at 15-05-2018 03:06 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 15-05-2018 03:37 PM (5 years ago)
Okooo
Posted: at 15-05-2018 03:37 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- nametalkam at 15-05-2018 04:45 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: anners136 on 15-05-2018 02:22 PM
You lost all credibility with this post when you said, "alot." It's not one word. It's "a lot."

Wow! Wow!, what a way to say thank you? Was i trying to proof a point or something? I just tried to chip something nice for all of us to learn from and all of a sudden I am losing my credibility? wow!! Easy young lady!

Posted: at 15-05-2018 04:45 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nametalkam at 15-05-2018 04:46 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 15-05-2018 02:32 PM
And it’s “who will BELL the cat” and NOT “who will BAIL the cat!”

OMG! Somebody pinch me! Just checked that out too! hahahahaha i feel so stupid! Please bell the cat! Maybe we should just turn this thread to grammatical error for the literates

Posted: at 15-05-2018 04:46 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Afriqueenn at 15-05-2018 04:53 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 15-05-2018 04:45 PM
Wow! Wow!, what a way to say thank you? Was i trying to proof* a point or something? I just tried to chip something nice for all of us to learn from and all of a sudden I am losing my credibility? wow!! Easy young lady!

Posted: at 15-05-2018 04:53 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- Afriqueenn at 15-05-2018 04:56 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 15-05-2018 04:45 PM
Wow! Wow!, what a way to say thank you? Was i trying to proof a point or something? I just tried to chip something nice for all of us to learn from and all of a sudden I am losing my credibility? wow!! Easy young lady!

prove... not proof hahaha
Posted: at 15-05-2018 04:56 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 15-05-2018 05:04 PM (5 years ago)
i don't care!!! English no be the language of heaven!! i can write or speak it the way i wanted .. come beat me
Posted: at 15-05-2018 05:04 PM (5 years ago) | Grande Master
- nametalkam at 15-05-2018 06:11 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: Afriqueenn on 15-05-2018 04:56 PM

Wow! Just shoot me already! I am more vulnerable than I thought, I have no point to prove again, you guys win!

Posted: at 15-05-2018 06:11 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nametalkam at 15-05-2018 06:12 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 15-05-2018 05:04 PM
i don't care!!! English no be the language of heaven!! i can write or speak it the way i wanted .. come beat me

Until the angels ask you to spell Czechoslovakia at the gate

Posted: at 15-05-2018 06:12 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 15-05-2018 06:49 PM (5 years ago)
I SAW IT TOO...MR CORRECTER OF ENGLISH NO SABI WRITE ENGLISH
Quote from: Afriqueenn on 15-05-2018 04:56 PM
Posted: at 15-05-2018 06:49 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- ruthie at 15-05-2018 06:52 PM (5 years ago)
NA U CAUSE AM...NEXT TIME, SHARE ON ANOTHER FORUM...MOST OF THESE GUYS HERE ARE DEBBIE DOWNERS.
Quote from: nametalkam on 15-05-2018 06:11 PM
Wow! Just shoot me already! I am more vulnerable than I thought, I have no point to prove again, you guys win!
Posted: at 15-05-2018 06:52 PM (5 years ago) | Hero

1. Disgraceful Videos Of Student Bullying In Nigeria's Boarding School, Lead British School Abuja

2. IK Ogbonna Writes Romantically To Alleged Lover, Ini Edo On Her Birthday, Shares Video

3. Kenyan Police Reportedly Arrest Binance Executive, Nadeem Anjarwalla Who Fled Nigeria

4. Kanye West Shocks Many As He Says He Wants To Have Threesome With Ex 1st Lady, Michelle Obama

5. BBN Star, Liquorose Sparks BBL Rumours In Recent Video With Actor, Deyemi Okanlawon

6. 500 Lawyers Storm Supreme Court Over Planned Arrest Of Ex-kogi Gov, Yahaya Bello On Fraud

7. PROUD MOTHER: Mercy Aigbe Gushes Over Daughter, Michelle As She Shares Photos Of Her

8. Singer, Fireboy Recounts How He Failed Trying To Copy Beyonce's Stage Presence

9. Naira Abuse: I’m Only Artist Who Stops Supporters From Spraying Me Says Seun Kuti

10. Many Dead As Two Navy Helicopters Crash After Colliding Mid-Air In Malaysia

11. Total Blackout Hits Three States As Vandals Destroy TCN Towers

12. SAD: Five Missing Children Found Suffocated To Death Inside Car In Niger State

13. Police, Ogun State Govt On Trail Of Killers Of Babcock University Lecturer

14. "Most Hit Songs In Nigeria Are Not Good Music" – Nigerian Singer Ric Hassani Claims

15. Mercy Chinwo Not Aware EeZee Tee Treated Me Unfairly – Producer Dr Roy Says After Calling Her

16. NSCDC Intercepts 10 'Potential' Human Trafficking Victims In FCT

17. How Strange Illness Claims 8 Lives In Sokoto, 208 Cases Identified

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo