France Honours Heroic Malian Migrant, Mamoudou With Paris' Highest Award (Photos)

Date: 06-06-2018 11:23 am (5 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 6-06-2018 11:23 AM (5 years ago)

The city of Paris has rewarded a Malian immigrant for his bravery in saving a child last month. But the accolades come as city police razed migrant camps just a few kilometers north, underscoring the broader, polarized question of immigration roiling France - and Europe.
22-year-old Mamadou Gassama, received Paris' highest award Monday as Mayor Anne Hidalgo praised him as the city's and the country's hero. She nicknamed the Malian immigrant "Spider-Man" for his daring rescue of a 4-year-old dangling from the balcony of a fourth-floor apartment.
That act of bravery has catapulted Gassama from illegal immigrant to French citizen with a budding career as a fireman.
Different fate elsewhere
But as Gassama is showered with praise, critics point to the very different fates facing other undocumented workers.
That includes Ayman Latrousse, a Tunisian immigrant, who saved a mother and her two children from a fire three years ago. Today he may face expulsion. His lawyer is protesting unequal treatment.
And hours before Gassama received his Paris award, hundreds of migrants were evicted from squatter camps a few kilometers away, under the watchful eye of French police.
Afghan Abdoul Kayem said he was glad to be leaving the tent camp. But another migrant cursed France and chose not to board a waiting bus.
Paris Prefect Francois Ravier says the migrants are guaranteed a place to stay thanks to newly built accommodation. They can apply for asylum. Those who do not qualify will be sent home.
Meanwhile, the French senate is debating immigration legislation passed by the lower house. French President Emmanuel Macron's government says it will streamline asylum claims among other plusses; migrant rights groups criticize it as overly tough and even dangerous.

Posted: at 6-06-2018 11:23 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chukkychukky at 6-06-2018 12:24 PM (5 years ago)
frm grass to grace

Posted: at 6-06-2018 12:24 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deprince3 at 6-06-2018 12:34 PM (5 years ago)
My eye dey for that woman that's presenting the award, please find out if she is married , i don't need her not the award.
Posted: at 6-06-2018 12:34 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- owieelov25 at 6-06-2018 01:38 PM (5 years ago)
good one
Posted: at 6-06-2018 01:38 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- favourita at 6-06-2018 01:41 PM (5 years ago)
Na now d news dey reached where una dey Huh?   Grin
Posted: at 6-06-2018 01:41 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 6-06-2018 03:44 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: Deprince3 on  6-06-2018 12:34 PM
My eye dey for that woman that's presenting the award, please find out if she is married , i don't need her not the award.
Parlez-vous français?
Posted: at 6-06-2018 03:44 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- slimber at 6-06-2018 03:45 PM (5 years ago)
Lucky boy any ways I trust my French people that 're good at that.
Posted: at 6-06-2018 03:45 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- awolana1 at 6-06-2018 10:17 PM (5 years ago)
 Have you heard about Dr AWOLANA OGUNJIMI ADIFALA Of Ijebu

land, He Is The Greatest Herbal Spiritual Psychologist

That Has Been Helping In Treating All Long Time Sicknesses
With Solving All Types Of Problems Failed To Be Healed By

Other Healers By Using Holy Spells With Herbal Mixtures

Which He Inherits By His Great Father. He Has Been To
India, China, And Brazil To Display The Power Of African.

Call Him To Visit You Any Where Worldwide.( +2348131931670

Have You Been Worrying About Your Marriage? Then, This Is

Your Time To Smile. Because, He Is  Among The World's Most

Male Award Winning Marriage
Consultant Who Has Fixed Many African's Troubled

Marriages. With His Miraculous Powers, He Can Solve Many

Complications In Human
Lives Spiritually.( +2348131931670 -08131931670)

Do You Need A Life Time Partner?
Do You Want Your Lover Back?
Are You Stuck With Financial / Or Debts Troubles?
Are You Suffering Because Of Bad Luck? Has Your Neighbor

Been Laughing At You That You Will Die Fruitless?
Are You Being Forced Into A Divorce?
Do you need to clean your house from
Evils & witch-crafts? Or You Want To Know What Future?

Have
Ahead Of You?
Contact Our Father Dr AWOLANA OGUNJIMI ADIFALA Of Ijebu

land Today. If You Need Any Spiritual Help On Any of The

Following -
Promotion At Work
Commanding Tone
Protection Ring
Marriage Success
Love Ring
Favour Ring
Recover Lost Glory
Help For Guys That Works Online
Traditional Bullet Prove
Spiritual Power For Men Of God
Travel Success Ring
Job Success
Lotto/Pool Win
Barreness
Business Boom
Financial Breakthrough
Get Rich Without Ritual
Do As I Say
Examination Success
Spend And Get Back
Good Luck
Natural Health
Hypertension
Stroke
Impotency
joystick Elongation
Early ********
Win Court Case
And Many More.

Contact Dr AWOLANA OGUNJIMI ADIFALA Of Ijebu On (

+2348131931670 -08131931670) For Divine Consultation.

Notice-
Baba Is Always Available To Help You Out Of your

Situation, He Is A Very Kind Hearted Man That Loves
Assisting And Counselling People Over Their Situation. He

Is Not After What You Have But Your Success And He Will
Help You Out Of Your Challenge And Expect You To Come And

Say Thank You.
Call Him Today, ( +2348131931670 -08131931670) I promise

You Will Smile Again.
Posted: at 6-06-2018 10:17 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- fineboy77 at 7-06-2018 12:50 PM (5 years ago)
good

Posted: at 7-06-2018 12:50 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero