"I Don't Know Why I Didn't Award Penalty To Nigeria" – Turkish Referee Tells Mikel

Date: 27-06-2018 1:35 pm (5 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 27-06-2018 01:35 PM (5 years ago)

Turkish referee Cuneyt Cakin said he did not know why he did not award the penalty for the handball of Argentine defender, Marcus Rojo, for Nigeria on Tuesday evening, according to Super Eagles captain, John Mikel Obi.

Mikel said the referee admitted that the ball touched the hand of Marcos Rojo in the 82nd minute of Tuesday’s game but he put up a defense in not awarding the crucial spot-kick.
The penalty, if awarded and scored at a time the match was 1-1, could have wrapped up a second round ticket for the Eagles. Speaking at the post-match briefing in St Petersburg, Mikel said:
“I asked the referee if he thought the ball struck Rojo’s hand and he said ‘yes;. The referee told me that the ball came off Rojo’s head before it hit his hand.”

Mikel added:
”I then asked Cakur why he didn’t award the penalty to Nigeria, he said: ‘I don’t know.’ That was sad because we checked the match video in the dressing room and it was a clear penalty kick.
“When the ball touches your hand in the penalty box, it’s a penalty. No two ways about that. Maybe he didn’t want to give us the second penalty. It is sad we had to exit the competition this way.

Speaking about his future with the national team, Mikel said he would be most delighted to lead the boys going further into the future.
I’m happy playing with this bunch of players. I expect them to grow into a great side and I think this team would make a good impression in the next four years. They are good boys with bright future,” he said.

“Of course, we did everything we could; we pushed and pushed to get the goal but it was not to be.

“We want to thank all Nigerians for their support; we have to keep going.”

Posted: at 27-06-2018 01:35 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- negxy at 27-06-2018 01:48 PM (5 years ago)
Ball from head to hand is never a penalty. Because it was not intentional
Posted: at 27-06-2018 01:48 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- kaposky at 27-06-2018 01:56 PM (5 years ago)
MIKEL, ARE U TRYING TO SAY U NEVER KNEW FIFA NEW RULES, NOT EVERY HANDBALL WILL BE CONSIDERED FOUL. THERE ARE INTENTIONAL HANDBALLS AND UNINTENTIONAL HANDBALLS.
Posted: at 27-06-2018 01:56 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olowoinlionsden at 27-06-2018 02:42 PM (5 years ago)
It was an Act of God the Refree did not award the second penalty in favour of Nigeria. The first penalty was stage managed by that Oyinbo Nigerian Defender.  A handball must at all intents and purposes be intentional.  The header did not intend to head the ball to his own hand,  but to get it away from his 18 yard  compartment. 
Posted: at 27-06-2018 02:42 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Henrybobo at 27-06-2018 06:20 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: negxy on 27-06-2018 01:48 PM
Ball from head to hand is never a penalty. Because it was not intentional
  No mind mikel all e years of playing football he doesn't still know
Posted: at 27-06-2018 06:20 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenboro at 27-06-2018 07:03 PM (5 years ago)
It's even better to loose that game, many people were massacred in Jos and you guys don't even have a minute silence or even to tie black cloth
Posted: at 27-06-2018 07:03 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- kacylee at 27-06-2018 08:07 PM (5 years ago)
abeg make we hear jooorrrr. it haf passs

Posted: at 27-06-2018 08:07 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimber at 27-06-2018 09:04 PM (5 years ago)
Hmmm.mm is late no need
Posted: at 27-06-2018 09:04 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- mjyabah2 at 27-06-2018 10:23 PM (5 years ago)
It was a clear penalty. For the fact that he was the same player that headed the ball to his own hand, makes the purpose questionable. I would have agreed it was unintentional handball if another player headed the ball. Since nobody knows what his intent was, the referee should have whistled that as a penalty.   

In any case, Nigeria should not have been allowed to participate in the competition. All these killing of innocent people, throat slittings, molesting of women and minors, aborting and killing pregnant women etc. Peace, love, harmony, unity, and charity starts at home, and we lack all of these as a country. Good things only happen to good people. Nigeria is mourning, therefore, it is good the players get home to join all of us to mourn our loss. The World leaders and International communities have rejected and abandoned us to suffer on our own.

May the souls of the slaughtered people in Plateau State, Benue and Borne rest in peace.
Posted: at 27-06-2018 10:23 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SweetDaddy1 at 28-06-2018 08:46 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: kenboro on 27-06-2018 07:03 PM
It's even better to loose that game, many people were massacred in Jos and you guys don't even have a minute silence or even to tie black cloth
Nice Comment
Posted: at 28-06-2018 08:46 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac