Ondo Youths Protest Bitterly Over 10-Year-Long Erratic Power Supply, Block Lagos-Benin Expressway

Date: 02-08-2018 7:35 am (5 years ago) | Author: Dammy Olutayo
- at 2-08-2018 07:35 AM (5 years ago)

Angry youths in the Ondo South Senatorial District of Ondo State on Wednesday have taken their protests to the Lagos-Benin Expressway over poor power supply to the communities in the district for the past 10 years.

It was gathered that over 1,000 communities in the  six local government areas of the senatorial district had been without electricity for over 10 years after they were allegedly cut off from the national grid following their alleged indebtedness to the then Power Holding Company of Nigeria, Punch reports.

The protesters, including members of all the youth associations in the area, alleged that Ondo State and the Federal Government failed to find a lasting solution to the economic problem of the affected communities which, according to them, was caused by unavailability of electricity in the area.

The youths displayed placards with inscriptions such as, ‘Revoke the licence of BEDC,’ ‘Is this democracy of kleptocracy?’ ‘Ten years of darkness, wetin we do,’ ‘Blackout has crumbled our economic activities,’ ‘This darkness is enough,’ and ‘Bring back our light,’ among others.

As a result of the protest, there was a traffic logjam on the highway for hours and it took the intervention of the state police command and other security agencies to clear the road for stranded travellers.

The leader of the protesters, Kunle Ajayi, said they decided to shut the busy expressway in order to draw the attention of the government and compel it to find a permanent solution to their power problem.

He explained that some members of the community had met with the government and other stakeholders, adding that there was no positive response.

He said:

“For over 10 years, our people have been living in darkness and this government has kept mute over our plight despite our pleas.

“The current Governor of Ondo State, Rotimi Akeredolu, used this problem of power supply to campaign. He told us that he would resolve it, but nothing has been done till today.

“So, our demand is that we want the licence of the Benin Electricity Distribution Company, the new firm managing power in this area, to be immediately revoked by the Federal Government. We want Governor Rotimi Akeredolu and his deputy, Agboola Ajayi, to step down because they have failed us completely.

“We are also asking the government to immediately restore electricity to the affected local government areas because this suffering is enough.

The protesters gave the government 14 days to address the issue, saying failure to do so would bring them back to the street.

In its response, the  Ondo State Government said it was resolving the matter, adding that it had approved the fast-track off-grid electricity project in the area to end the blackout.

Posted: at 2-08-2018 07:35 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- crocatum at 2-08-2018 09:06 AM (5 years ago)
it is not normal to be in darkness, energy is unlimited, with all knowledge, why darkness and uselessness.
Posted: at 2-08-2018 09:06 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 2-08-2018 09:41 AM (5 years ago)
At the end of the day noting will be done
Posted: at 2-08-2018 09:41 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- ALAKIJAOGUN at 4-08-2018 12:54 AM (5 years ago)

HELLO HAVE YOU HEAR ABOUT BABA ALAKIJAOGUN TRADITIONAL.MEDICINE Herbal Home & Native Doctor. Office Address Ijebu Ogun state.
Do You Need A Powerful Africa Native Doctor? I Mean A Spiritual Herbalist With Great Spirit Connected To Ancestors. Call +2349033435952...09033435952. BABA AJEWOLE Is A High Voodoo Priest Master. He is a Spell Caster, Native Doctor, Spiritual Herbalist, Powerful Sickle cell Healer, Spiritual Astrologer, Psychic Reader, Multi Guru, Witch Doctor, Priest Of Africa Money Ritual.WhatApp +2349033435952...09033435952
Have You Been To Native Doctor to Native Doctor Without Any Solution To Your Problems Or Rather Add To it? Have You Been To Place To Place In View Of A Powerful Native Doctor That Can Solve All Your Predicament, You Must Understand That There Is A Native Doctor That Supersede All Native Doctor Amongst All Native Doctor, If You Are In Search Of A Powerful Native Doctor With Great Spiritual Powers, Then You Must Be In Search Of A Native Doctor That Derives Power From The Marine World. That Is The Spirituality Of The Greatest Africa Native Doctor BABA ALAKIJAOGUN.+2349033435952...09033435952 call or WhatApp
BABA ALAKIJAOGUN Is Recognised All Over The World Of Marine Kingdom, As One Of The Top Fortunate And Most Powerful Native Doctor Of Charms Casts From The Beginning Of His Ancestors ship Until Now Baba ALAKIJAOGUN lives Strong Among All Other Native Doctors, There Have Never Been Any Form Of Impossibility Beyond The Control Of BABA ALAKIJAOGUN. It Doesn't Matter The Distance Of The Person With The Problems Or Situation, All You Have To Do Is Believe In The +2349033435952...09033435952 If you want to win Bet9ja...
Native Doctor BABA ALAKIJAOGUN charms Casts That Works, He Always Warns Never To Get His Charms Casts If You Do Not Believe Or Unable To Follow His Instruction.
It Is The Assignment Of The Native Doctor BABA ALAKIJAOGUN To Offer Services To Those In Need Of Spiritual Assistance Not Minding The Gravity Of Your Situations Or Distance As Long As Water, Sea, Ocean, Lake, River, Sand etc. Are Near You, Then Your Problems Of Life Would Be Controlled Under Your Foot.+2349033435952...09033435952
If You Need Any Spiritual Help On Any of These: whatsApp +2349033435952...09033435952
Get Your Lover Back
Fruit Of The Womb
Fibroid
Business Boom
Financial Breakthrough
Get Rich Without Ritual
Do As I Say
Bad Dream
Promise And Fail
Epilepsy
Spiritual Attack
Land/Court Case
Mental Disorder
Political Appointment
Visa Approval
Cancer
Examination Success
Spend And Get Back
Good Luck
Natural Health
Hypertension
Diabesity (Diabetic+Obesity)
Stroke
Sickle Cell
Impotency
Win Court Case
Promotion At Work
Commanding Tone
Protection Ring
Marriage Success
Love Ring
Favour Ring
Recover Lost Glory
Spiritual Power For Men Of God
Travel Success Ring
Job Success
Lotto/Pool Win And Many More.
If you want to win Bet9ja...

Make Haste To Call or whatApp +2349033435952...09033435952 For Spiritual Problem Today And You Will Surely Get Solution To All Your Predicament.
Posted: at 4-08-2018 12:54 AM (5 years ago) | Newbie