How my husband proposed to me

Date: 29-05-2010 2:02 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 29-05-2010 02:02 PM (13 years ago)
The joy of every woman is to see herself get married to a man of her dream one day. The marriage proposals come in different forms according to the man involved. Saturday Sun spoke to some women who revealed how their husbands proposed to them.

Mrs. Bisi Balogun
My husband used to disturb me by coming to our house every now and then to ask my mother about me . He was also bribing one of my younger sisters to serve as a go-between. One day he asked me if I could marry him and I replied that I don’t know.

Then he asked if would tell my father to accept my dowry from him whenever he is ready and wants to come and pay my dowry. Then I said he should come first, nine years later after I became a graduate, he came for me and I couldn’t resist him.

Mrs. Titilayo Odunayo
We went for a church programme when my husband proposed. After the programme, he called me and said he wanted a wife and that I am the one. I laughed because it was rather funny but later as a Christian I prayed about it and that was how it started.

Mrs. Adunola Adekinle
My husband is a very shy person so it took him a while before he made his proposal. We were first friends and he was always visiting. All along, I knew what he wanted and I had already prepared my mind that I was going to say yes whenever he proposed. But all the same as a lady you would want the man to say it first. On the day he proposed I was seeing him off to his place and I knew that there was something on his mind but he was just too shy to say it . He was almost bidding me farewell when he said “can you be my wife” ? He did not wait for a response and just took to his heels to tell you how shy he was (laughs). So I think after about three or four months, when he became impatient about it and that was it.

Mrs. Bola Olubodun
I met my husband nine years ago. He came to my house, right inside my father’s sitting room and said, “I love you and I want to marry you. Do you want to marry me or not” he said. I took my time and in about three to four months later I agreed. His family had been our friends so I think it was an arrangement with his family. His sister also used to be my very best friend. The very first time I met him I had compassion for men. I felt so unusual meeting him, so I could not resist him. The day I agreed to marry him was when we fixed our wedding date and venue and it didn’t change. We have been married for eight years and I don’t have any regret.

Mrs. Yemi Sotade
It is a very interesting question. He is a very shy person who likes to hide himself but I am a very outspoken and active person. So when he was going to do it, it was really boring as he was almost shivering. As a Christian , he had to first consult the marriage committee before coming to me. He was actually the eleventh or so man to be sent to me. So he finally summoned courage and said that he loves me and the way I sing and God is leading him to me, and I said okay do you expect me to say yes? I will have to go back to that God and confirm. So I really prayed about it and God confirmed it. But I was still a bit slugguish before I eventually accepted.

Mrs. Florence Kuye
I married seven years ago. It was through the marriage committee that my husband proposed. Although we have been casual friends he knew that he could not just come to me without first consulting the church committee. So he did that and they interrogated him and he passed the test and then they gave him a card to give to me. The card represents a proposal. So he gave it to me and I prayed, got convinced and accepted.

Mrs. Gladys Grimes
I have been married for seventeen years. My husband, Mr. Roberts Grimes took me out for a meal in a chinese restaurant on a very cold day in England and on the way back from the restaurant, there was a lamp post and he stopped under the lamp post and knelt down on the floor and asked me to marry him and then gave me a ring. It was very emotional and I burst into tears. So I got up and embraced him, kissed him and said yes. Although I expected it the way he did it made me burst into tears. We had dated for about six months before he proposed. He is very nice, emotional, protective and taking care of me.

Mrs. Awodiji
We are Christians. So the way he proposed is different from the usual. He caught in the rapport that we had as co-workers. He just told me that he has been praying concerning his marriage and the Lord said I am his woman. So since he said he has prayed about it I had to tell him that I would pray too, which I did.

Mrs. Vera Idienumah
I have been married for four years now. The question is a big one. I was at the bus stop, he saw me and walked up to me and asked for my phone number. Then he later called me and we met and there he proposed to me. I got angry and warned him not to ever call me again. But he persisted and after about 5 months I gave in. Ours was love at first sight. So he persisted and as God would have it we got married.

Mrs. Destiny Oranye
He saw me at Onitsha where I was selling provisions for my aunt. He came to buy something after which he left. The next day, he came to buy the same thing and instead of going, he stayed behind watching the environment. Later, he called me and asked where I came from, my name and last class I attended. I told him I came from Anambra State, my name and that I had finished my secondary school. He left and came back in the evening of that same day but I refused to answer him when he called me. My aunt shouted and ordered me to answer him and I went. Right there, he told me he was going to marry me.

He went to tell my aunt who said no problem that if I accept that she would not be a stumbling block. Like play, he went to tell my parents. This happened last year. By January this year, he told me that he was coming to lagos to live permantly. I said okay, but within me, I said if he did not come back, I was not losing anything. To my surprise he came back and married me. It was just love at first sight.

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:02 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:04 PM (13 years ago)
u get time

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:04 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 29-05-2010 02:09 PM (13 years ago)
I no wan read, becos no two proposals would ever be the same!

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:09 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:11 PM (13 years ago)
Huh??

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:11 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- blings_is_back at 29-05-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago)
she took me to the top of Mountain Kilmanjaro and asked me if  i will...................hmmmmmm
Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:20 PM (13 years ago)
huy una no fall down frm there?

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:20 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 29-05-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:23 PM (13 years ago)
dem mama

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:23 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 29-05-2010 02:26 PM (13 years ago)
My hubby proposed to me inside the bathtub...we both were taking a bath,when he said my dear will u be my wife...my enemy almost got drown,so I said ohhh baby yes I wil...ummm hisss.

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:26 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- wunzie at 29-05-2010 02:26 PM (13 years ago)
I wan make he take me go Harrods.......after spending 10 hours in there (shopping) make hin propose Shocked

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:26 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 29-05-2010 02:26 PM
My hubby proposed to me inside the bathtub...we both were taking a bath,when he said my dear will u be my wife...my enemy almost got drown,so I said ohhh baby yes I wil...ummm hisss.

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:39 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- qunodinga at 29-05-2010 02:40 PM (13 years ago)
make i pass
Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:43 PM (13 years ago)
see gutter for ur front

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:43 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- princedafe at 29-05-2010 05:58 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: wunzie on 29-05-2010 02:26 PM
I wan make he take me go Harrods.......after spending 10 hours in there (shopping) make hin propose Shocked

nawa
Posted: at 29-05-2010 05:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gfactor at 29-05-2010 06:26 PM (13 years ago)
Long talk

Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:26 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chyno at 29-05-2010 06:30 PM (13 years ago)
Romantic proposal
Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chyno at 29-05-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago)
Romantic proposal
Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chyno at 29-05-2010 06:32 PM (13 years ago)
Romantic proposal
Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:32 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Miss_precious at 29-05-2010 06:40 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: princedafe on 29-05-2010 05:58 PM
Quote from: wunzie on 29-05-2010 02:26 PM
nawa

abi ooo...wunzie and harrods

Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moneyinbrakemi at 29-05-2010 06:42 PM (13 years ago)
Can i pass cos i am sick and tired of lengthy proposal
Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:42 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7