Adeboye Bans Mini-Skirt, Trousers In Church

Date: 01-06-2010 7:43 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 1-06-2010 07:43 PM (13 years ago)
Pastors of the Redeemed Christian Church of God in Nigeria have started enforcing the dress code for all worshipers handed down by the General Overseer of the Church, Pastor Enoch Adeboye.

Pastor Enoch Adeboye

The GO, as Adeboye is called by the teeming worshipers, had announced recently that women must not wear gold trinkets, artificial hair and trousers and short skirts to church.

He also banned women and men from colouring or bleaching their hair when they are coming to church.

P.M.NEWS gathered that pastors in the various parishes of the church have started implementing the strict dress code, starting with the church workers.

A member of the church who is also a senior worker in one of the parishes confirmed that the pastors are enforcing the ban among the church workers.

The church worker, who pleaded for anonymity, said the pastors started with the church workers because they are directly supervising the workers.

He said the pastors cannot force the larger congregation to abide by the new dress code because worshippers, especially first timers, voluntarily went there to worship.

According to him, “new worshippers who unknowingly flout the dress code will definitely change by the time they listen to what the pastor preaches from the pulpit. Changing their mode of dressing is a gradual process.”

The strict dress code has been criticised in some quarters and described as too conservative, considering the fact that in some Pentecostal churches, female members are allowed to wear trousers and artificial hair to church. In those churches, women and even men bleach their hair while while some men also wear earing in one of thier ears.

In Kris Okotie’s Household of God, Chris Oyakhilome’s Christ Embassy, and in Paul Adefrasin’s House on The Rock Church, it is fashionable for women to wear trousers and short skirts to church. It is this freedom to wear anything that makes these churches the place to be for youths on Sundays.

Posted: at 1-06-2010 07:43 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ejibond at 1-06-2010 07:55 PM (13 years ago)
Good development! although it won't be acepted by d blinded one's but it's d best development...why must we bring in artificial stuff to church or practise silly fashion trend in d house of God?
Posted: at 1-06-2010 07:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mba5 at 1-06-2010 08:17 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ejibond at 1-06-2010 08:20 PM (13 years ago)
Dem glue ur mouth?
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bismack at 1-06-2010 08:33 PM (13 years ago)
I support dis new development
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:33 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ejibond at 1-06-2010 08:36 PM (13 years ago)
Thank u...make we hear frm d ogas(ladies)
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:36 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Skipo4u at 1-06-2010 08:41 PM (13 years ago)
dulling go enter church be dat
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:41 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eagleseyez at 1-06-2010 08:52 PM (13 years ago)
ok After church, whatever they want to wear
they can wear?... what difference does it make?
the congregation u see, is the church, i know a
lotta ppl will be against the word " the heart is what
we take to the church and not what u wear"
is it wrong for a mad man to walk into the church wth
shabby and torn dresses?

what difference does it make, if u wear decent dresses
in the house of God and u go out and dress the way u desire
Hypocriticism is one common disease in Nigeria, thats why
even witch doctors go to church.
Adebayo means well, but that certainly cant be called a development
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mibenne at 1-06-2010 08:54 PM (13 years ago)
dats cool no probs,church is the house of God not a party hall.pls oh marketers shld go to the street to market their products oh not in d church. pls tell  those new generation churchs oh.
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- moneyinbrakemi at 1-06-2010 08:58 PM (13 years ago)
Good Improvement__cos temptation too much
sote e don reach inside church
Posted: at 1-06-2010 08:58 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sabiti at 1-06-2010 09:08 PM (13 years ago)
9ice 1...tel dem
Posted: at 1-06-2010 09:08 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DOMZ at 1-06-2010 09:21 PM (13 years ago)
All these things are just stories bcos u'll find out dat some parishes'll not adhere to it...nd moreso, wats d use of makin ppl bcom hypocrites by making em wear onli these things outside the church???i believe if u knw ur morals, u shd knw wat 2 wear 2 d house of God..nobody shd b forced 2 do wat he/she doesnt wanna do.Just sayin ma mind.....dont nid critics..peace!!
Posted: at 1-06-2010 09:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- aliaaz at 1-06-2010 09:27 PM (13 years ago)
after church wetin them come wear nor concern us, wetin matter na wetin dem wear come hse of God cos nor b all of us wey dey dress well come hse of God dey come for God purpose.

Posted: at 1-06-2010 09:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- youngboss01 at 1-06-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago)
God help us all
Posted: at 1-06-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ejibond at 1-06-2010 09:56 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: DOMZ on  1-06-2010 09:21 PM
All these things are just stories bcos u'll find out dat some parishes'll not adhere to it...nd moreso, wats d use of makin ppl bcom hypocrites by making em wear onli these things outside the church???i believe if u knw ur morals, u shd knw wat 2 wear 2 d house of God..nobody shd b forced 2 do wat he/she doesnt wanna do.Just sayin ma mind.....dont nid critics..peace!!
U see why u we pray n pray n pray but still complaining about God not answering our prayers? d most simpliest thing we are ignorant of can be a hinderance 4 our prayers to be held.
Posted: at 1-06-2010 09:56 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Cmga at 1-06-2010 09:57 PM (13 years ago)
My own is dat u shld say d 1 dat is true. Am a worker in dis church, and there hasnt bin any barn. So mind wat u say.
Posted: at 1-06-2010 09:57 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ejibond at 1-06-2010 10:03 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Cmga on  1-06-2010 09:57 PM
My own is dat u shld say d 1 dat is true. Am a worker in dis church, and there hasnt bin any barn. So mind wat u say.
Anybody can claim to be a worker.
Posted: at 1-06-2010 10:03 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- anichoyo at 1-06-2010 11:21 PM (13 years ago)
God help us for everyone of us has neglected the blood shed for our sake... we have all gone astray, may God revive us again. Amen
Posted: at 1-06-2010 11:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ceejay58 at 1-06-2010 11:58 PM (13 years ago)
huh?
Posted: at 1-06-2010 11:58 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- orland at 2-06-2010 12:10 AM (13 years ago)
Make all of una go deeper life church o na d same thing abi?
Posted: at 2-06-2010 12:10 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. Netizens Knock Tinubu’s Aide, Onanuga Over Comment On Yahaya Bello Arrest

2. Isaac Fayose Reacts To Trending Video Of A Crossdresser In A Police Station

3. VID: Tiktoker Nickie DaBarbie Accuses Singer, Skiibi Of Attempting To Use Her For Ritual

4. Is It Normal For A Man To Wash His Partner's Pant? - Actor Adeniyi Johnson Asks

5. Check Out These Nollywood Actors Who Ventured Into Music

6. Controversial Singer, Portable Celebrates Wife, Bewaji On Her Birthday, Shares Lovely Photos

7. Nigeria Correctional Service Refutes Claims That Bobrisky Was Moved From Ikoyi Prison To Kiriki

8. "I’m Ready To Help Burna Boy If He Is Respectful" –Brymo Throws Shade

9. I Wish They'll Bring Back Those Days When Men Will Go To War And Never Return - Woman Blows Hot

10. Tragedy As Kenyan Defence Chief, 9 Other Senior Officers Perish In Helicopter Crash

11. Lagos Govt Arrests 25 Suspected Miscreants, Including Lebanese Squatting Under Bridges

12. A Man Who Marries A Woman Who Twerks Online For A Living Is A Fool Says Solomon Buchi

13. Grandmother Arrested For Locking Up Her Grandchildren In A House In Lagos

14. IGP Withdraws Policemen Attached To Wanted Ex Kogi Gov. Yahaya Bello

15. Actress Etinosa Rants About Irresponsible Parents

16. Mother Who Admitted Smothering Her 2month Old Baby To Death With Pillow While High On Meth

17. How Bandits Storm Kaduna Community In Fresh Attack, Killed 23 Persons

18. Banner Calling Out "Home Wrecker" With Her Face & Work Place Display On Plastered By A Roadside

1. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

2. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

3. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

4. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

5. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

6. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

7. "Why Zubby Michael Won’t Dare Mourn Junior Pope" - Actress Angela Okorie

8. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

9. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

10. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model