Is marriage in the 21st century toxic to women?

Date: 05-07-2010 12:55 pm (13 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10
- at 5-07-2010 12:55 PM (13 years ago)
 Yes, say many. My friends (especially women) from around the world are constantly SAYING "marriage is dying," and that living together is "so much better." Sure it's true that around the world more people are living together than are married. Is IT  also true that married women are less successful, more depressed, less healthy and more likely to die a violent death than single women.

HOW TRUE IS THIS?

Posted: at 5-07-2010 12:55 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onyiis at 5-07-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago)
it all depends on what you bring into the relationship

Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bhl72 at 5-07-2010 01:05 PM (13 years ago)
it is a subjective... not dependent really on you efforts alone... remember there are others involved, not just you.
Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyiis at 5-07-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago)
......... and your determination to make it work for you

Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 5-07-2010 01:15 PM (13 years ago)
Actually we are having more single people now than before.......but that doesnt mean that women and woman prefer to stay single..........or to be live-in lovers!

Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:15 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onyiis at 5-07-2010 01:19 PM (13 years ago)
There is soo much fears in relationships now than before

Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:19 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 5-07-2010 01:49 PM (13 years ago)
yea........things are really turning on their heads now.........

I fear that it is becos women are becoming more aware of their rights in marriages......the zombie era is phasing out gradually and the men arent taking it lying low........are they hitting back?

Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:49 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- qunodinga at 5-07-2010 01:58 PM (13 years ago)
Peeps gets into marriage with little or no idea of what it involve.
its high time we let go fear and lust ..we need kw that marriage
is a bond and sacrifice of two foe..

Some enter marriage as a weekend trip (vocation),,,,,,i may
stay its depends,,,,,,,,i may walkout...huh!!!!!!! 2 bad....

Posted: at 5-07-2010 01:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 5-07-2010 02:01 PM (13 years ago)
no idea

Posted: at 5-07-2010 02:01 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- eagleseyez at 5-07-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on  5-07-2010 12:55 PM
Yes, say many. My friends (especially women) from around the world are constantly SAYING "marriage is dying," and that living together is "so much better." Sure it's true that around the world more people are living together than are married. Is IT  also true that married women are less successful, more depressed, less healthy and more likely to die a violent death than single women.

HOW TRUE IS THIS?

None of this is true

Marriage is a Virtue and a legal institution
which everyone looks forward to
Its a reminder of one's obligation and indebtedness
to ur spouse, there's more to the vows involved
than just a mere mouth say
To this effect, i assume that anyone who sees
marriage as "dieing" like U said, must have
some fears attached to this reason

Go ask ur friends, they might be nursing some fears too
Probably, undecided abt her partner
Posted: at 5-07-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Skipo4u at 5-07-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago)
Marriage is sweet, where there is undestanding.........though am not married but i have seen some of my friends that are married, they are really having nice time.....i envy them at times....
Posted: at 5-07-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 5-07-2010 02:20 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: esonu on  5-07-2010 02:01 PM
no idea

u just dey sidan dia u no dey talk.

Posted: at 5-07-2010 02:20 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- omorewa at 5-07-2010 04:15 PM (13 years ago)
single ladies are scared of marriage because they cant handle their man cheating or constant arguements
infant some ladies dont want to be in serious relationship talkless of marriage!

Posted: at 5-07-2010 04:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 5-07-2010 04:21 PM (13 years ago)
single life is kinda sweet but not too sweet.

Posted: at 5-07-2010 04:21 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- oyindabty at 5-07-2010 04:45 PM (13 years ago)
many ladies prefer to be singles not becos they dont want to get married but with d bitter experience of some marriage which they hav seen and heard.some marriage are made frm heaven, if u seen those one u will want to get married instantly but some are hell and when u come across those one's, u will swear neva to try marriage.we just have to pray tht God should should help us in our marriage as we go in to it.but to be frank marriage is sweet.
Posted: at 5-07-2010 04:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 5-07-2010 05:23 PM (13 years ago)
Well,in most of the marriages, men are waiting to be pleased all the time, too many compromises which women
must do, all kind of blackmails ,financial and also emotional!It's like Stockholm syndrome!
Do women really want  to depend on someone's decisions and trade their  freedom and peace for a social status?

Posted: at 5-07-2010 05:23 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- blings_is_back at 5-07-2010 05:46 PM (13 years ago)
sophie u never talk true.... wetin u and marriage dey go today eh?
Posted: at 5-07-2010 05:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Skipo4u at 5-07-2010 07:20 PM (13 years ago)
leave sophie if she no wan talk na
Posted: at 5-07-2010 07:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- adaogbo at 5-07-2010 07:57 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Skipo4u on  5-07-2010 07:20 PM
leave sophie if she no wan talk na

my brother tell him
Posted: at 5-07-2010 07:57 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- wunzie at 5-07-2010 08:12 PM (13 years ago)
Passing and looking inside my bag for some chocolate.

Posted: at 5-07-2010 08:12 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

3. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

4. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

5. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

6. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

7. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

8. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

9. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

12. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

13. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

14. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor