Lagos Parents May Go To Jail For Flogging Their Children (Page 2)

Date: 08-07-2010 2:00 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 [2] 3 4
- Skipo4u at 8-07-2010 05:55 PM (13 years ago)
i wonder wetin Lagos pikin go turn to.....even with all the beating they are something else...not to talk off no punishment for them
Posted: at 8-07-2010 05:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eyevee at 8-07-2010 06:59 PM (13 years ago)
no mind those law makers.
They live in Lekki, A.C houses, cars, offices, have salaries of millions. their kids no dey school 4 here. even if they do, na ABTI or U Know now. summer hols In Dubai, Yankee, Hawaii blah, blah, blah. d tin 4 no pain me plenty if dem no dey touch govt money
wetin dey pain me pass be say e don enter thier head sotey DEM NO DEY KNOW WEDA NA JAND DEM DEY OR WEDA DEM DEY NAIJA!
All this laws no get naija origin @ all! NONSENCE!
i no know why I comment sef mmsssssssssttteeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
Posted: at 8-07-2010 06:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- silviabells at 8-07-2010 08:50 PM (13 years ago)
hissssssssssssssssssssssss. rubbish
Posted: at 8-07-2010 08:50 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Laaw at 8-07-2010 08:53 PM (13 years ago)
Spare the rod, spoil the child. I can see not flogging, but no spankings is not an option. If a child who is related to me comes to my home and acts out, I will whip their behind.
Posted: at 8-07-2010 08:53 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- XxSkyGurlXx at 8-07-2010 08:59 PM (13 years ago)
hearddd

Posted: at 8-07-2010 08:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- jerryonye at 8-07-2010 09:06 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on  8-07-2010 02:00 PM
If  the Criminal Law Bill currently being deliberated by the Lagos State House of Assembly sails through, then many parents in the state would face various prison terms for beating up their kids.
The bill has prescribed prison terms for various offences including the beating or flogging of children by their parents.
The bill also sees the maltreatment of animals as a criminal offence while the culprits are liable to imprisonment.
It also seeks to legalise abortion but this is limited to incidents of rape and incest.
This was made known at a public hearing on the bill for a law to enact rules on criminal conduct, regulate public order and for other connected purposes with the title: “The Criminal Law of Lagos State 2010”.
The bill, if passed into law, would also promote an orderly society, foster collective obligation and duty towards the preservation and protection of life and property.
It would also discourage and deal with conducts that unjustifiably and inexcusably inflict or threaten substantial harm to individual or public interests.
The bill also seeks to look at persons whose conducts indicate that they are disposed to commit offences.
The bill which is divided into nine parts, 48 chapters and 414 sections, classifies offences into three types namely: felony, misdemeanours and simple offences.
Section eight of the bill defines felony as “any offence which is declared by law to be a felony, or is punishable, without proof of previous conviction with death or with imprisonment for three years or more.
“All offences, other than felonies and misdemeanours are simple offences.”
However, some Lagosians who attended the public hearing advocated for the abolishment of capital punishment, life imprisonment, and called for the legalisation of abortion in cases of incest, rape, HIV/AIDS and other unusual circumstances.
According to them, the maximum prison sentence for offenders should be put at 20 years since criminals could be reformed and make meaningful contribution to the society after serving their prison terms.
Professor Adedokun Adeyemi of the University of Lagos, while commenting on the issue said, “death penalty does not affect the rate of criminality and Lagos in the 21st century should not adopt it.”

then the parents will not train their kids, but jail house will train them, uan want turn Naija to Western World, No wa oooo

Posted: at 8-07-2010 09:06 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chukswantslove at 8-07-2010 09:31 PM (13 years ago)
Na yeye dem be dem no see wetin dem go disucss for house again so make he no b like say dem no dey work.atleast each meeting dem go read d mins of last meeting so pple so say dem dey work.mumu dem very soon d next tin na make dem legalise gun afterall wetin remain abortion n no beating wit gun d economy go complet.mutulas
Posted: at 8-07-2010 09:31 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- missKalu at 8-07-2010 09:54 PM (13 years ago)
lol let's wait and see how it gose
Posted: at 8-07-2010 09:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ceejay58 at 8-07-2010 10:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on  8-07-2010 02:00 PM
If  the Criminal Law Bill currently being deliberated by the Lagos State House of Assembly sails through, then many parents in the state would face various prison terms for beating up their kids.
The bill has prescribed prison terms for various offences including the beating or flogging of children by their parents.
The bill also sees the maltreatment of animals as a criminal offence while the culprits are liable to imprisonment.
It also seeks to legalise abortion but this is limited to incidents of rape and incest.
This was made known at a public hearing on the bill for a law to enact rules on criminal conduct, regulate public order and for other connected purposes with the title: “The Criminal Law of Lagos State 2010”.
The bill, if passed into law, would also promote an orderly society, foster collective obligation and duty towards the preservation and protection of life and property.
It would also discourage and deal with conducts that unjustifiably and inexcusably inflict or threaten substantial harm to individual or public interests.
The bill also seeks to look at persons whose conducts indicate that they are disposed to commit offences.
The bill which is divided into nine parts, 48 chapters and 414 sections, classifies offences into three types namely: felony, misdemeanours and simple offences.
Section eight of the bill defines felony as “any offence which is declared by law to be a felony, or is punishable, without proof of previous conviction with death or with imprisonment for three years or more.
“All offences, other than felonies and misdemeanours are simple offences.”
However, some Lagosians who attended the public hearing advocated for the abolishment of capital punishment, life imprisonment, and called for the legalisation of abortion in cases of incest, rape, HIV/AIDS and other unusual circumstances.
According to them, the maximum prison sentence for offenders should be put at 20 years since criminals could be reformed and make meaningful contribution to the society after serving their prison terms.
Professor Adedokun Adeyemi of the University of Lagos, while commenting on the issue said, “death penalty does not affect the rate of criminality and Lagos in the 21st century should not adopt it.”

stori.
Posted: at 8-07-2010 10:05 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- lilnaijashawty at 8-07-2010 11:04 PM (13 years ago)
oh dear......thats going to fill up the jail cells...thye better start making more jails for this...Lagos seriously lmaoooo.....oh mehnn
Posted: at 8-07-2010 11:04 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Skipo4u at 8-07-2010 11:42 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 8-07-2010 11:42 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ammyjane at 9-07-2010 12:00 AM (13 years ago)
is that suppose to be the work they should be doing? I think they do not have anything serious to delibrate on again and that is why they are coming up with this rubbish. As for me sha, if my child does anything silly, i will flogg him/her very very well. I am not punishing my child but i am trying to correct him/her.
Posted: at 9-07-2010 12:00 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Skipo4u at 9-07-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago)
hmmm, na jail be dat ooo, nobody go hear that say u dey correct
Posted: at 9-07-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wunzie at 9-07-2010 12:26 AM (13 years ago)
The law on flogging children is a welcome development especially in a country like Nigeria where there has been gross violation of children's rights. While noone is suggesting that kids should not be reprimanded when they are wrong, flogging them as if they are animals is not only inhuman but has the potential of leaving a lasting  psychological scar on them.

The truth is, there are better ways of correcting a child which cannot be equated to brutality. These methods are proven to be effective in achieving the desired results while not presenting the problem of alienation which the former (Flogging) may likely engender  in the future.

My parents never once flogged us, yet we were alway careful not to offend them because there were consequences for bad behaviour and we cherished so much the love which they provided. So, the fact is, even without deploying this outdated method of flogging we have all turned out well in my opinion. Perhaps am a little stubborn but this is not in anyway negative- indeed it is positive, as this stubborness has reflected in the resolute way in which i have pursued many of my aspirations.

Posted: at 9-07-2010 12:26 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 9-07-2010 12:30 AM (13 years ago)

Nawa

who ever made that law is Senseless'

why black african are trying to copy white ppl, I hv no idea

Senseless law
Posted: at 9-07-2010 12:30 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kingpost at 9-07-2010 03:12 AM (13 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 9-07-2010 03:12 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- silviabells at 9-07-2010 03:18 AM (13 years ago)
Lagos kids are stubborn now it will be worst 
Posted: at 9-07-2010 03:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- litlesaintz at 9-07-2010 05:07 AM (13 years ago)
This is one of the best things that is about to happen to the people of Lagos, but for a country like Nigeria where children can be terribly stubborn and difficult to understand I thing things would go wild when they get the knowledge of this law, nevertheless, a trial will convince us.
Posted: at 9-07-2010 05:07 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tyabo at 9-07-2010 05:33 AM (13 years ago)
dz ol crap full of cowshit nt even bullshit..wodda4k is dz.. don't dey c d way doz white children r being spoilt. imagine a son telling is Dad tins like sharap Dad, i hate u Dad, Dad u stink.. menhh dz guyz r bunch of fools bt dey shuldn't worry its ol gonna start on deir own head. and 4 doz siding dz aspect i reserve my comment if nt i wuld av open can full worms.. fowlshit !!!
Posted: at 9-07-2010 05:33 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ammyjane at 9-07-2010 07:33 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lilnaijashawty on  8-07-2010 11:04 PM
oh dear......thats going to fill up the jail cells...thye better start making more jails for this...Lagos seriously lmaoooo.....oh mehnn

Thank you my sister, make u begin tell those fake foolish pple!!!!!!!
Posted: at 9-07-2010 07:33 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
1 [2] 3 4

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria