Fabregas pictured wearing a Barcelona shirt

Date: 13-07-2010 11:47 am (13 years ago) | Author: Mohammed Abdulahi
- at 13-07-2010 11:47 AM (13 years ago)
[/img]jpg[/img]Arsenal fans were subjected to an unwelcome sight during Spain's World Cup celebrations as Carles Puyol and Gerard Pique ambushed Cesc Fabregas, pulling a Barcelona shirt over the head of the Gunners captain.As Spain paraded the World Cup trophy in front of a reported 200,000 supporters on Monday night, goalkeeper Jose Reina - the master of ceremonies for the occasion - called Fabregas to the front of the stage.

Puyol and Pique, both of whom play for Barcelona and have been vocal in their desire to see Fabregas move to Camp Nou, then crept up behind the midfielder and draped him in the colours of his childhood club. Reina then pronounced Fabregas "the future of Barcelona", before the midfielder took the shirt off.

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has maintained he has no wish to sell Fabregas, despite the player informing the club he wishes to return to Catalunya, and Barcelona failed with a €35 million offer prior to the start of the World Cup.

Fabregas dedicated Spain's World Cup victory to the Gunners and said "I am an Arsenal player and proud." However, his use of the past tense was noticeable when, in a separate statement, he said, "I am really proud to have been an Arsenal player."

Pique and Puyol's stunt came towards the conclusion of Spain's day of celebration following their success in South Africa.

Around a million supporters cheered the squad during an open-top bus parade through the streets of Barcelona after the players had met King Juan Carlos and President Jose Luiz Rodriguez Zapatero.

When the squad reached their final destination, captain Iker Casillas said: "I don't know what to say, only that I'm delighted to be here with you. We (the players) have achieved the dream that we've all had since we were small."

Coach Vicente del Bosque added: "It's not only winning but how you win, and that's what these players have done, they are an example to all. Thanks for all the support you've sent to us in South Africa, you are also world champions."

The man who scored the winning goal in the final, Andres Iniesta, was spotted holding a toy octopus in tribute to Paul, who famously predicted all of Germany's results correctly, as well as Spain's triumph over Netherlands.

He said: "Thanks to the octopus we are champions. I only want to say that you should be proud of this group. They're the best. I'm very proud to be part of them."

Posted: at 13-07-2010 11:47 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sammyleecuc at 14-07-2010 06:59 PM (13 years ago)
And so wat,he already said it was a joke,Broda abeg since i saw dat pics it has been giving me sleepless night,believe me how can Barcelona be so cruel wanting the Fantastic Fab,i think they murdered sleep,every minute of d day it keep crossing my mind dat Fabregas is about to live to Greatest Club in d world,and its so sad,
Posted: at 14-07-2010 06:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 21-07-2012 01:14 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 21-07-2012 01:14 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 21-07-2012 01:14 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 21-07-2012 01:14 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Watch Moment Students Arrive For Prom In Helicopter And Expensive Cars

2. Toyin Lawani Writes Open Letter To Asake Over New Hairstyle

3. VIDEO: Skitmaker, Erekere Shows Off His Newly Acquired Benz GLE

4. How British Charity Employed Nigerian Man, Peter Omoruy Convicted For Sex Trafficking In France

5. Nigerian Govt Cuts Electricity Supplies To Benin Republic, Togo, Niger To Boost Domestic Supply

6. Gunmen Kill One, Abduct Seven Along Sagamu-Ijebu-Ode Expressway

7. BREAKING: Vice President Shettima Cancels Summit Trip To US Over Faulty Aircraft

8. ‘I Appreciate Wike But I Can’t Worship Him’ – Rivers Gov, Fubara Opens Up

9. Suspected One-Chance Armed Robber Arrested With Pistol In Suleja

10. 'You Can Be Poor And Still Be Happier Than The So Called Rich' - World Bank Staff Says

11. Actress, Etinosa Idemudia Calls Out BBNaija Star Over Unpaid Debt, Name Still Withheld

12. Ekiti Court Sentences 3 Persons To Death By Hanging For Robbery

13. Suspected Ritualists Kidnap 4 Month Old Boy In Akwa Ibom

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

10. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria