Girl stabs man to death over attempted rape

Date: 16-07-2010 1:19 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 16-07-2010 01:19 PM (13 years ago)

A 23-year-old lady, Rachael Gbadamosi, is in police custody for allegedly stabbing a man, 30-year-old Christian Egwuchukwu, to death over the victim's alleged attempt to rape her.

The incident happened at No. 20, Kareem Babatunde Street, Papa Asafe, Agege, on July 11. While many Lagosians were watching the FIFA World Cup final match between Spain and Holland, the alleged suspect and the victim were fighting each other in their one-room apartment. In the process, Miss Gbadamosi allegedly stabbed Mr. Egwuchukwu in the neck.

According to the police, Mr. Egwuchukwu lost a lot of blood and was confirmed dead at a private hospital the following day.

Miss Gbadamosi and the late Mr. Egwuchukwu were living with Miss Gbadamosi's cousin in the one-room apartment. She said the victim had attempted to rape her on several occasions, but her stiff resistance made him even angrier. On that fateful day, he was determined to carry out his threat of molesting her, before he died from the stab wound on his neck. She said she acted in self defence.

Self defence

"I live with my cousin at Agege in a room and in May, my cousin brought his friend, Christian, to come and stay with us. My cousin, Abel, works at Victoria Island, and he is hardly around. Since Christian moved in, he had tried to sleep with me, but I always refused him. Last Saturday was the fourth time he attempted to do it, but I told him he will not succeed and he became very angry. There was a day I was sleeping but my brother (cousin) was not around, and Christians tried to rape me."

Miss Gbadamosi said she informed her cousin and her mother about the victim's threats, but he did not change. "When his pressure became too much, I told my mother, who live in Edo State, and also my cousin; my cousin even sent him away, but Christian begged him that he will not try me again. After a while, he stopped and I thought he had truly changed. But that Saturday, he came home and started making trouble. I just ignored him, but he was bent on quarrelling with me.

"He threw my clothes and my brother's clothes, which I kept on the bed, onto the floor, dragged me to the bed, and tore my night gown. He was holding tight to my neck, as if he wanted to strangle me. I tried to resist him, and quickly ran to the door, but there was no light. I thought of what to do to protect myself and that was how I took the table knife on the shelve and stabbed him on the hand. He took the knife, and stabbed me in the hand, but unknowingly I stabbed him on the neck. God knows, I did not intend to kill him," she narrated. The police spokesperson, Frank Mba, said Mr. Egwuchukwu bled to death as a result of the injury on his neck.

"He was rushed to the hospital, but he had already lost a lot of blood, because nobody was around to take him to the hospital. People should be careful how they expose their female children to strangers. If first aid was given to this victim, probably he would not have died. People should not take the laws into their hands, as they can report all cases of assault and harassment to the police, and the necessary action will be taken. The case has been transferred to the Homicide Department at Panti for a discreet investigation," Mr. Mba said.

A similar incident happened in May when a 26-year-old lady, Ifunnaya Marcus, allegedly stabbed her boy friend, Princewill, to death over a minor quarrel.

Miss Marcus, who also used a knife on her boyfriend, said the victim had battered and beaten her on several occasions. A group of female lawyers from Project Alert, a non-profit organisation in Lagos, rose in defence of Miss Marcus, saying that her action was triggered by the man she loved, who unfortunately turned her into a punching bag.

Posted: at 16-07-2010 01:19 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 16-07-2010 02:31 PM (13 years ago)
at least other rapists will learn from this

Posted: at 16-07-2010 02:31 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 16-07-2010 02:42 PM (13 years ago)
These gurl tight...................... Na dis kind of gurls wey get mind I dey like. Oh correct gurl.................... you too much.................. Oya take five..............

Posted: at 16-07-2010 02:42 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mykelly at 16-07-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 16-07-2010 02:42 PM
These gurl tight...................... Na dis kind of gurls wey get mind I dey like. Oh correct gurl.................... you too much.................. Oya take five..............

na dis kind gal yu dey lyk..person wey take anoda man's life..but d guy no try @ all..if 2 say d bobo sabi God all dis things 4 no happen
Posted: at 16-07-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blings_is_back at 16-07-2010 04:00 PM (13 years ago)
she did it in self defence na..... so she's not guilty
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:00 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- chukzyhx at 16-07-2010 04:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: esonu on 16-07-2010 02:31 PM
HOW I WISH MY BRODA
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:10 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- prince775 at 16-07-2010 04:16 PM (13 years ago)
If truly the victim had been trying to rape her as she stated here then they should get her a good lawyer who will defend her base on self defence. But who knows if this is 100% truth??
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:16 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- prince775 at 16-07-2010 04:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 16-07-2010 02:42 PM
These gurl tight...................... Na dis kind of gurls wey get mind I dey like. Oh correct gurl.................... you too much.................. Oya take five...........

If the victim happen to be your relative, will you sincerely post this comment here?? I only ask you a question??
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- queclove at 16-07-2010 04:18 PM (13 years ago)
Na only God fit know the truth for this case. B'cos wetin some girls dey do these days in the name say na rape. make all man be carefull ooo
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:18 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 16-07-2010 04:21 PM (13 years ago)
If it is true, then dat serves him right........becos am tried of hearing rape cases, it seems on the increase.......other would-be rapists should take note, girls are angry!..........

Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:21 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Eucharia at 16-07-2010 04:40 PM (13 years ago)
that's very good, she is not gulty oooo and she is not a killer, na self defence  this is good for all rapist
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- waco at 16-07-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago)
thats good. others dey watch FINAL match the mumu
dey final underground runs. that serves him right

Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:46 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Bettychy at 16-07-2010 04:58 PM (13 years ago)
It is by universal misunderstanding that all agree. For if, by ill luck, people understood each other, they would never agree. Those who agree with us may not be right, but we admire their astuteness
Civilization is a method of living, an attitude of equal respect for all. I`ts built on a number of ultimate principles...respect for human life, the punishment of crimes against property and persons, the equality of all good citizens before the law...or, in a word justice.
We`v get to grow!
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 16-07-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 16-07-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- enc4life at 16-07-2010 05:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: esonu on 16-07-2010 02:31 PM
Posted: at 16-07-2010 05:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eucharia at 16-07-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago)
when all men are busy watching final match this He goat is busy digging his grave, i dont  even know whether his soul will rest in peace if i should wish him rest in perfect peace  ,anyway RIP anyhow sha
Posted: at 16-07-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- D_U1 at 16-07-2010 05:32 PM (13 years ago)
If that was what actually happened, it's not justified to brandish the lady's pix in our faces. Just my 2 cents.  Undecided

Posted: at 16-07-2010 05:32 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- windos4ever at 16-07-2010 05:36 PM (13 years ago)
atleast this will teach the rapist a problem ! imagine they shud have reported the case to the police this would have made the girl free from the trial without too much probs but anyway it is for sef defene !  Sad
Posted: at 16-07-2010 05:36 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ndjoe at 16-07-2010 06:32 PM (13 years ago)
lol the mumu no know say the girl be kun fu mastress
Posted: at 16-07-2010 06:32 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fireman at 16-07-2010 06:37 PM (13 years ago)
Mehnn no be small thing

Posted: at 16-07-2010 06:37 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. VIDEO: My Child Trying To Mess Up My Career - Mimi Orjiekwe Embarrassed As Daughter Exposes Her

9. Man Who Renounced Nigerian Citizenship Says He Has No Regrets

10. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

11. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

12. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

13. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

14. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

15. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

16. Businessman Tunde Ayeni Bars Ex-Mistress Ms Alagwu And Daughter From Using His Name

17. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

18. "Why Actresses Might Command Higher Salaries In Nollywood" - Veteran Actor, Norbert Young

19. Court Sentences Five Persons To Death For Killing Rivers Vigilante Commander

20. 6 Suspected Yahoo Boy Jailed In Ilorin

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo