Nigerian Professor - An Aero Bomber

Date: 08-08-2010 10:40 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Samuel Adejo
- at 8-08-2010 10:40 PM (13 years ago)
A Professor of Chemistry in the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, Professor Joseph Lori, is right now in prison custody in the United Kingdom after he was apprehended at the Manchester Airport with some chemicals which were later confirmed to be dangerous.the Chemistry Professor sneaked the flammable liquids in his baggage, without declaring it to check-in staff, on board a KLM plane before being apprehended at the Manchester Airport.

A potential disaster was said to have been averted when handlers of luggage noticed a strange smell coming from Professor Lori’s suitcase and the handlers alerted their bosses. After the report of the airport’s luggage-handlers, security staff at the airport immediately launched a major chemical alert. Because of the danger which the chemical posed, baggage handlers who came into contact with the substance were rushed to hospital in contamination suits.             when Professor Lori was identified as the owner of the bag, he was dragged off the KLM flight by policemen, as 150 passengers looked on.

Firemen wearing special protective suits were called in to search his luggage and discovered three bottles containing chemicals phosphorus oxychloride, ethylamine and ethyl acetoacetate with t-shirts around them.

It was learnt that Professor Lori was exposed because the seal around the bottle containing one of the chemicals, ethylamine, had broken in his bag and was giving off a red fluid, a puff of smoke and harmful vapours.

When quizzed by cops at Manchester Airport, the 49-year-old professor said: “I’m a chemist. I have chemicals, they are not dangerous.”

The father-of-three said he had bought the chemicals legally in the UK and was taking them back to his native Nigeria to give to his students.

When paraded at the Minshull Street Crown Court in Manchester for trial, the prosecuting police officer, Ms Wendy Logan, told the court that the chemicals would have posed “a significant risk of ignition” on the flight.

According to chemical experts and aviation regulations, ethylamine, one of the chemicals found in Professor Lori’s bag, is forbidden on aircraft as it is extremely flammable with the same qualities as petrol, while phosphorous oxychloride is both toxic and an irritant.

Professor Lori who resides in Cheetham Hill, Manchester, pleaded guilty to one count charge of recklessly endangering an aircraft. The Minshull Street Crown Court in Manchester under Judge Angela Nield handed the Professor a suspended six-month jail term.

While delivering the court verdict, Judge Nield said; “You are a professor of chemistry and clearly a man who is extremely knowledgeable in his own field.

“The potential consequences of your actions could have been catastrophic and you should have known that.”

Posted: at 8-08-2010 10:40 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Star4u at 8-08-2010 10:41 PM (13 years ago)
Naija 4 real
Posted: at 8-08-2010 10:41 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- maiyo at 8-08-2010 11:07 PM (13 years ago)
negligence + ignorance + too much book+wayo=jail term
Posted: at 8-08-2010 11:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- xter at 8-08-2010 11:30 PM (13 years ago)
Dont make it appear dat man is a terrorist o!

Posted: at 8-08-2010 11:30 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lewis123 at 9-08-2010 01:57 AM (13 years ago)
professorrrrrrrrrr  una nor go  change..u be real terrorist...professor of chermistry and u nor knw the effect of chemical ..chemistry my foot...
Posted: at 9-08-2010 01:57 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ndjoe at 9-08-2010 03:04 AM (13 years ago)
thank God say dem catch that terrorist in time he for go blow inocent people up just like that professor kor professor ni
Posted: at 9-08-2010 03:04 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xter at 9-08-2010 01:37 PM (13 years ago)
Hmmm

Posted: at 9-08-2010 01:37 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Star4u at 11-08-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: xter on  8-08-2010 11:30 PM

d guy no be terrorist na professor of terrorism him be if not tell me wetin he go dey teach his students.
Posted: at 11-08-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mat-James at 11-08-2010 07:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: xter on  8-08-2010 11:30 PM
i quite agree with you,
small sense of ignorance, even being a prof. in d field caused him all these probs.
Posted: at 11-08-2010 07:14 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ORAXGEORGE at 11-08-2010 09:33 PM (13 years ago)
@Cinder or what you call your name you would not see this. is he also an igbo man jsut as mutalab or what his name was
Posted: at 11-08-2010 09:33 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ndjoe at 12-08-2010 03:16 AM (13 years ago)
ok na
Posted: at 12-08-2010 03:16 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mykelly at 16-08-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago)
he was only trying to be a good teacher to his students..by acquiring practical elements
Posted: at 16-08-2010 12:32 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 28-04-2012 07:05 AM (11 years ago)
hmmmmmm
Posted: at 28-04-2012 07:05 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero