Dangote Donates $2m to Pakistan’s Flood Victims

Date: 09-09-2010 8:27 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 9-09-2010 08:27 PM (13 years ago)

Nigerian billionaire businessman, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, has donated $2 million to the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) to help the survivors of the devastating floods in Pakistan.

The aid was made through the Dangote Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Dangote Industries Limited, West Africa's leading manufacturing conglomerate.

“The Dangote Foundation and the entire management and staff of Dangote Industries Limited feel a real need to make a modest contribution to help make life a little more bearable for the survivors in Pakistan,” said Dangote, President of the Dangote Foundation.

“The hearts of all Africans go out to the people of Pakistan as they go through this ordeal. Africa is not only a recipient of humanitarian aid, but is also able to help her brothers and sisters in Pakistan and elsewhere where there is suffering. Helping our family, in this case our global family is part of Africa’s traditional values,” he added.

The donations are expected to provide life-saving food relief to the millions of Pakistanis whose lives have been turned upside down by this disaster as well as help with the logistics of the entire humanitarian community working to supply urgent food and other supplies to the estimated six million Pakistanis WFP is serving who have lost their homes and livelihoods due to the heavy monsoon rains that have hit the country.

Commenting on the donation made by Dangote Foundation, Sandy Westlake of the WFP Private Sector Partnerships said: “We are completely humbled by the Dangote Foundation’s generous donation on behalf of WFP and the people of Pakistan. Your contribution will make a life-saving difference and allow WFP to continue its important work on the ground. The funds for Pakistan are absolutely critical and will do a lot to further WFP’s focus on saving lives in the flood zone.”

Westlake, who also described the donation as a testament to the Dangote Foundation’s commitment to broadening its philanthropic reach globally, said support at this level was crucial towards providing immediate food relief to those most affected by the flood.

High Commissioner for Pakistan, Rtd. Major General Asif Duraiz Akhatar, expressed profound appreciation to the Dangote Foundation, saying: “the people and government of Pakistan will forever remain grateful to the Dangote Foundation for this big sacrifice that will greatly address the needs of the people.”

The foundation also last week donated 50 trucks of different food items, with a total value of over N100 million, to the government of Niger Republic. The move, according to the foundation, was also meant to assist the government in addressing the acute famine, currently plaguing the country.

Niger faces the worst hunger crisis in its history, with almost half the population in desperate need of food.
For 2010, the foundation has provided food items to the victims of Jos and Bauchi crisis to the tune of over N70 million; provided dialysis machine to Lagos Island General Hospital and also sunk boreholes in various communities in the country, totalling over N100 million.

In making this donation, the Dangote Group, whose activities include cement, sugar, salt, flour and pasta, said it is staying true to its statement goals.

“Our mission at the Dangote Group has always been to touch the lives of people by providing their basic needs. Our vision is to be a world-class enterprise that is passionate about the quality of life of the general populace and high returns to stakeholders,” Dangote said.

One of Dangote Foundation's guiding principles is to provide humanitarian relief to victims of natural and man-made disasters.
In the past, the Dangote Foundation had provided relief materials and food to victims of civil strife in Nigeria. Since its establishment in 1993, it has worked to provide drinking water and health facilities in partnership with various Nigerian state governments and through grants to individuals and groups for health, education and economic development projects.

The Group’s core business focus is to provide local, value added products and services that meet the “basic needs” of the Nigerian population. Through the construction and operation of large scale manufacturing facilities in Nigeria and across Africa, the group is focused on building local manufacturing capacity to generate employment, prevent capital flight and provide locally produced goods for local people. The Dangote Group has a workforce of over 14,000 employees.

Posted: at 9-09-2010 08:27 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mydicksweet at 9-09-2010 08:51 PM (13 years ago)
Ok oh i dont hear
Posted: at 9-09-2010 08:51 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ikennaya at 9-09-2010 09:18 PM (13 years ago)
men am startled...God wil continue 2 bless u...no dout u are 1 of one nigerias's most succesful if only we had 20percent of u d cantry wud have bin a better place..kip it up.
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:18 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoney at 9-09-2010 09:26 PM (13 years ago)
robbish when ur people are dying here in nigeria anyway no comment for now
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:26 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayceegenesis at 9-09-2010 09:27 PM (13 years ago)
and so...................(how is that a problem) after all it's his money. Roll Eyes
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:27 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- johndan at 9-09-2010 09:29 PM (13 years ago)
na so, but hungry dey kill ur peopel in naija..,,,,,, make una dey take our monye de do good to other peopel,,,,
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:29 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- negalways2001 at 9-09-2010 09:31 PM (13 years ago)
OMO... NA SO... LET IT SPREAD ACROSS.
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:31 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayceegenesis at 9-09-2010 09:34 PM (13 years ago)
the money other firms and big time companies like shell , mobil, mtn have being giving out were are the substantial effects and results? am asking u? (if not that it goes into the pockets of very few greed people).
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:34 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- igbonnanna at 9-09-2010 09:37 PM (13 years ago)
Is it because most Pakistans are moslems like Dangote? Nigerians are reeling under poverty line. Anyway, to help is good
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:37 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lovegod at 9-09-2010 09:39 PM (13 years ago)
SEE AS ALL OF THEM BE,THIS MAN JUST THE MAKE NAME,WE NO GET LIGHT AND WATER FOR NIGERIA BUT UNA THE GIVE MONEY TO PEOPLE WAY THIER COUNTRY GOOD PASS UNA OWN.MAY GOD PUNISH OF OF UNA FOR THAT NIGERIA.
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Teejay2 at 9-09-2010 09:43 PM (13 years ago)
ok ooo na u get ur money sha,spend am as u like
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayceegenesis at 9-09-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago)
the money other firms and big time companies like shell , mobil, mtn have being giving out were are the substantial effects and results? am asking u? (if not that it goes into the pockets of very few greed people).
Posted: at 9-09-2010 09:59 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kayceegenesis at 9-09-2010 10:01 PM (13 years ago)
and so...................(how is that a problem) after all it's his money Wink
Posted: at 9-09-2010 10:01 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- free2hime at 9-09-2010 10:27 PM (13 years ago)
IF EM GIVE 9JA 1 KOBO NON OF YOU GO SEE?? MAKE UNA TALK SENSE AND LETS BE REALISTIC, 9JA PPL TOO DAY GREEDY
Posted: at 9-09-2010 10:27 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- dumosky2010 at 9-09-2010 10:28 PM (13 years ago)
Good Job Sir...but please kindly donate some to the poor regions in your country, at least some little infrastructural development will help the communities.
Posted: at 9-09-2010 10:28 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- free2hime at 9-09-2010 10:30 PM (13 years ago)
IF EM GIVE 9JA 1 KOBO NON OF YOU GO SEE?? MAKE UNA TALK SENSE AND LETS BE REALISTIC, 9JA PPL TOO DAY GREEDY
Posted: at 9-09-2010 10:30 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ugbest19 at 9-09-2010 10:50 PM (13 years ago)
JEJE PEOPLE   Good to people outside and devil to your people     CEMENT IS COST IN NIGERIA THEN IN EUROPE    (GOOD MAN)   EVIL NA THEM BE
Posted: at 9-09-2010 10:50 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayfem at 9-09-2010 11:02 PM (13 years ago)
thank you say you tell me
Posted: at 9-09-2010 11:02 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ksurrina at 10-09-2010 01:33 AM (13 years ago)
When I first saw this, the first thing that came to mind was "there are Nigerians who need this money". Then I was reminded of the devastation of the Pakistan people and so I humbled myself. That money is needed on the Pakistan drive, so let us pray that he will look outside of the business level inside of his country. May our Heavenly Father give him unlimited blessings through His son Jesus Christ.

Posted: at 10-09-2010 01:33 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ofenja at 10-09-2010 03:36 AM (13 years ago)
Nigeria leaders are stupid cos there re seeing all these things and kept quiet, please all these money there re fly out call it a help why wouldn't there re use it 4 another thing in Nigeria , look at person sent money 4 another country almost all there ppl are a beggar in Nigeria , wouldn't you render that help 4 ur ppl, rubbish helpers. nwanne onye ulo ya na agbaoku onachuoke
Posted: at 10-09-2010 03:36 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

2. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

3. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

4. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

5. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

6. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

7. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office